This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S & Mr P from Suffolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Expert Africa

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was too short! We loved La Digue, the pace of life there suited us."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Le Chateau de Feuilles, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Beautiful location"

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2010
"The Chateau de Feuilles has an excellent location although lacking a little in atmosphere. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable, the Nespresso coffee machine in the room was a real bonus. The staff were all very pleasant.

Our one gripe (and at the time real disappointment) is that the taxi, organised by the hotel, was not there to pick us up from the airport. We had to wait 20 minutes. After 24 hours travelling this was not appreciated. The taxi driver did apologise saying that the previous flight had been late so consequently he was running late. The hotel staff did not mention the taxi until we did and said, as we knew, he was running late because of previous flights. Surely if they knew the situation they could have organised another taxi to be there on time. We were actually 15 minutes late so had we arrived on time then there would have been more than half an hour to wait.

We had a lovely view from our room (10) If we went back to the hotel we would want to be in this room again. Some of the rooms do not have such great views as their view is blocked by other bungalows."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Hotel L'Ocean, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Hotel L'Ocean review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"We really enjoyed our few days at the Hotel l'Ocean. The location is quiet and if you stay in this hotel you need to ask for Room 7 or 8. These rooms are at the top and have great views. Staff are very pleasant and the pace of life is slow. Good food, lunch and dinner."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Overall

South Africa between 22 Oct 2009 and 3 Nov 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Brilliant"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Gorah Elephant Camp

Gorah Elephant Camp

"Gorah Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2009
"We had a wonderful stay. Our tent was in a superb location with a view over the plain and water hole.

Renate and team were excellent hosts."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2009
"We had a great time and I have no doubt that we will return again!

Bathrobes would make the rooms perfect."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Kwande"

4 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2009
"This is a beautiful place run by beautiful people.

Our thanks to Claire for recommending it. We would love to return"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Overall

South Africa between 23 Oct 2008 and 3 Nov 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall a great holiday, we did have one problem - the hire car. It didnt arrive when expected which meant we were hanging around on the first day. After several calls itt arrived the next day."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Bishops' Court, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Bishops' Court review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"Bishops Court is an excellent Guest House although a little off the beaten track. I hadnt realised it would be quite so far from restaurants etc.

Room was beautiful as was view. Staff were excellent and could not have done more for us partcularly when we had a problem with the hire car."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Rusthof Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"Excellent location, comfy room although it would have been nice to have had a double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together.

Ruth was an excellent hostess and booked restaurant tables for us. She was of great help when I needed to use her computer/email/phone as my father died when we were away."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Ocean Eleven review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"Great room, great view. Good restaurant recommendations"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"A great place in all ways, we will go back"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gorah Elephant Camp

Gorah Elephant Camp

"Gorah"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"Another great place.

It would be even better if they had a no smoking policy in the public rooms!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team