This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs J from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful trip to South Africa

South Africa between 8 Apr 2018 and 19 Apr 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another fabulous holiday organised by Expert Africa! Everything was well organised and just right- a great mix of places and accommodation. We are already planning the next trip, and will spend longer on the Port Elizabeth end of the garden route where the scenery is truly spectacular."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Beautiful hotel in a great location"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2018
"This is a really wonderful hotel with the best breakfasts I have ever had - sitting outside with a great view of Table Mountain.The hotel is slightly out of Cape Town but there is a regular shuttle or the hotel will send a taxi for you (about 20 minutes). The room was extremely comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. A relaxing place to stay away from the bustle of the waterfront but with easy access to the centre."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Gable Manor

"Quiet guest hose"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2018
"Gable Manor was a quiet guesthouse on the outskirts of the town- we needed a taxi back at night. The rooms were spotlessly clean and ours had a great view of the mountains. Breakfast was very good. A convenient place to stay while touring the vineyards."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Fraai Uitzicht 1798

"Outstanding"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2018
"First impressions and the welcome were amazing, and everything about our stay here was fabulous- one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The owners and staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and even showed us the wine being made one evening. The room was beautiful, set in lovely gardens. We were joined on a walk through the hills and vineyards by the resident black Labradors. Lunch is not available but they booked us lunch and a picnic on a boat on a nearby river - another amazing experience. We wished we were staying longer and hope to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"Amazing stay at de Hoop"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2018
"A wonderful, peaceful place set in a pristine environment. It is well worth the long drive over unmade roads to get there. Our room was not luxurious but had a fantastic view over the lagoon- one morning we had a flypast by a flock of flamingos. Both the early morning bird walk and the boat trip were wonderful, with knowledgeable and friendly guides. Breakfast and dinner were very good, and walking back to the cottage under the stars with a few animals and birds around a magical experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Activities
Excellent
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Lovely stay at Hog Hollow"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2018
"A very beautiful lodge in a great position. Our room was enormous, with a large wooden terrace (great for stargazing) and everything you could need including a wood burning stove. Food was great - I could get used to sparkling wine at breakfast! There is a nice walk down through the valley.One evening it was cold and we went to bed to find hot water bottles. Can't wait to go back when the weather is better!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2016 trip

Namibia between 10 Oct 2016 and 27 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful visit to a fascinating country. It was good to deal with someone who knew the camps, and I know Tracy made a particular effort to get us into Sossus Dune lodge which was much appreciated. The website is very appealing and I particularly like the use of google maps to show more about the locations. I was surprised by the lack of people everywhere and missed having any real interaction with local people. Overall the trip was excellent.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

It would be very helpful to have average driving times between lodges or mileage at and early stage - we probably woudn't have gone so far every other day if we had known how long it would take. It might be worth advising people who eat fish but not meat that it's better to stick to vegetarian - when we were given fish it wasn't great."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"A very clean, comfortable and stylish small hotel. Food was good and the staff friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a quiet area to the north of the city and convenient for the airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"A beautiful location and well worth it for the chance to get up early and be at dead Vlei/ the dunes for the sunrise.

As we didn't have a 4 wheel drive we went on a trip organised by the lodge- it's an hours' drive to the dune so it was lot less stressful. The guide Semmy was knowledgeable and friendly and really took trouble to make the experience good for us.

There is no air conditioning in the rooms and it was extremely hot - no shade on the terrace and the metal doors were so hot you couldn't touch them.... The pool is lovely. Building work was being undertaken while we were there which was quite noisy until 2pm (two large diggers right outside the room). But worthy it for the location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"Sam was extremely helpful when we had car problems.

The location is not great - a long walk or a taxi drive to restaurants/sea. the staff were very nice and the garden is lovely, but overall the place seems rather old fashioned and cold. We had one really nice meal and one not so good - not great for the price."
Excellent
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"A very beautiful camp in a stunning location.

We didn't have time to do any activities but the marked walks were great.

The 'family' meals are a great experience and the women staff were outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2016
"A very atmospheric lodge in a spectacular setting. Rooms are fairly basic but with amazing views.

The staff are extremely nice and helpful, and put on a great show of singing and dancing after the evening meal. We had hoped to do a walk but this was not advised because of recent lion activity.

The drive up is quite difficult; a four wheel drive would be helpful, even though they pick you up at the car park area. Overall a delightful stay in spite of very windy weather."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"The high point of Okaukuejo camp is the waterhole, which is easily accessible from the rooms. We saw a large number of different animals including lions and it was wonderful to be able to go there at any time and just sit for a bit, particularly as it grew dark.

The camp is large and the restaurant and other facilities are a bit chaotic and slow because of this. The room was very large and comfortable and only minutes from the waterhole."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"Halili camp is smaller than other camps in the park and seemed well organised, although game drives were booked up before we got there which was disappointing - it would be worth booking in advance.

The waterhole is a 15 minute walk from the rooms (hot!) but very atmospheric; we saw lions and rhino and a host of other animals. The camp is well placed for waterholes in the park.

Great swimming pool and very nice service in the restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"A beautiful camp; the tented chalets are huge with wonderful indoor/outdoor showers, air conditioning and wooden verandas.

There are dik dik and lovely birds everywhere. Food was lovely and we were given some very nice vegetarian options.

Tea and cake in the afternoon was particularly welcome."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"A wonderful camp in a spectacular setting.

The tents are beautifully furnished; ours (no 10) had e large wooden veranda and views down the valley. We had a very warm welcome from everyone and the atmosphere is great. We did the sundowner walk (gin and tonic on top of the mountains) and the early morning nature walk, both of which were spectacular with knowledgeable and friendly guides.

We thought this was the best camp we had stayed in in Namibia and can't wait to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team