This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Mrs S from Cheshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

8

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

27

Excursions taken

0

Our Zambian safari September 2017

Zambia between 9 Sep 2017 and 23 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent service from Expert Africa. It's why we keep coming back.

Not mentioned above, but the "meet and greet" at Lusaka on arrival is always welcome and reassuring"

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Another excellent stay"

6 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"This is our fourth stay there, and everything was up to the usual standard.

Slight disappointment that the Chifungulu channel was closed for canoeing, but that's down to low water levels and nothing the camp could do."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Our favourite lodge"

8 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"We've travelled across much of southern and eastern Africa, and Tafika remains our favourite destination with just the right combination of professional excellence and family friendliness.

Thanks (again) for the birthday cake and serenade."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Our trip in early March

South Africa between 27 Feb 2016 and 12 Mar 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was very well organised, as we have come to expect from Expert Africa, and all the accommodation was of an exceptionally high standard.

It was hard to believe how inexpensive South Africa is, compared with other "winter sun" destinations"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel review"

6 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2016
"Good hotel and location for a few days to start our holiday"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Leeu House

"Leeu House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2016
"Leeu House is a new venture, and is beautifully appointed, with excellent and attentive staff. The breakfasts were excellent, though the evening meal we had on our arrival was rather ordinary.

There are many steps throughout the property, and it is certainly not wheelchair friendly, and could be a problem for someone with limited mobility."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Ood="

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2016
"Schoone Oordt is a Victorian House, and is beautifully furbished with vintage furniture.

The breakfasts are very good!

There are many steps throughout the property, and it is certainly not wheelchair friendly, and could be a problem for someone with limited mobility."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2016
"Excellent location overlooking open countryside.

We very much enjoyed the communal evening dining. It was very nice to meet and talk with other guests.

Service was particularly good, even by South African standards

There are many steps throughout the property, and it is certainly not wheelchair friendly, and could be a problem for someone with limited mobility."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

A very enjoyable trip

Zambia between 1 Sep 2015 and 15 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is familiar territory for us, and so we knew what to expect and were not disappointed.

The usual excellent service from Expert Africa.

The "meet and greet" at Lusaka is also very welcome: departure tax pre-paid, and being ushered into the VIP channel saves any anxiety.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No - keep up the good work!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"A very well run camp"

6 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Sausage Tree is a very professionally run camp. Knowledgable guides, and attentive staff. The owner, Jason, has made a few changes since out last visit two years ago, all for the good so far as I can tell.

The guaranteed private guiding (i.e. just you and your guide in each vehicle) is new, and works well (of course, you need to decide if that is what you want).

One suggestion to the camp. There are a number of places which have fairly steep concrete steps: from the main area of each tent to the bathroom, and around the main communal area. For guests who are a little unsteady on their feet, like me, simple hand rails would improve safety and security."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Our favourite camp!"

7 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"We have stayed several times at Tafika (and at many other safari camps through Africa), and it is top of our list.

One of the few owner managed camps still in the Valley, John, Carol and Bryan generate a warm and professional atmosphere, ably assisted by Heather and Rhona, and all the other camp staff.

The aircraft operated by Tafika and which took us from Lower Zambezi is strongly recommended. It may cost a bit more than ProFlight, but it cuts almost a day's travel down to an hour and a half.

We particularly appreciate that all the guides are local, often from the nearby village, and having often started in the kitchen or as tea bearers, have developed and passed their guiding exams.

Thank for a great stay - especially the hippos at Hippo Bend, and the mating leopards (not guaranteed!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Northern Tanzania July/August 2014

Tanzania between 20 Jul 2014 and 3 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Good
"The good parts of the trip were the lodges (with the exception of Lemala) and the logistics which all worked extremely well.

We found the game viewing rather disappointing compared with Zambia and Botswana, with which we are more familiar, in that the wildlife was often very distant from the roads and made photography and observing behaviours less satisfactory.

Although we had to actually book the flights ourselves, the suggested routing of Manchester/Amsterdam/Kilimanjaro worked very well."

Feedback response

This traveller has also written a detailed report with some excellent photos online : http://safaritalk.net/topic/13161-northern-tanzania-july-august-2014/

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Onsea House

Onsea House

"Overnight / day room"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"Used at the beginning and end of trip. Located mid-way between Kilimanjaro and Arusha airports"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Excellent base for Tarangire"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Well managed camp, as were all the Asilia camps we stayed in. Good location, with views of game from the rooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Disappointing stay in excellent location"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Lemala is in an excellent location, right on the crater rim. However, everything else was below standard from what we have come to expect in African lodges.

It is worth staying there for the location alone and early morning access to the crater. However, go with modest expectations."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Dunia camp"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"Dunia camp is well run, with excellent and friendly staff.

A particular gold star for fixing the bucket showers for us. We are both rather short, and couldn't reach the shower to turn it on and off. We were given a crate to stand on - but that was a bit hazardous. We mentioned this to the camp manager the next morning, and by the time we returned from the game drive they had rigged up a couple of chains that worked perfectly! I call that customer focus."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Rubondo Island Camp

Rubondo Island Camp

"Rubondo Island - a camp with a difference."

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"This is a camp with a difference! Rubondo island is a national park on an island in Lake Victoria. Other than some park rangers, you are the only people on the island. It is essentially a piece of rain forest, and radically different from places such as the Serengeti.

The owners (Asilia) have obviously made a major investment here. The cabins and public areas are all new and excellent, and the location on a small sandy bay facing the sunrise is also great.

However, this is not a safari camp. There is wildlife on the island, but you are most likely to see bushbuck and sitatunga, and some birds. There is also walking, and some good fun fishing to be had for Nile perch. The history of the Park is unusual - Google it to find out more.

We think it made a good final stop for the holiday, for two or maybe three days. Given a choice between Rubondo and Zanzibar I would choose Rubondo every time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

My Sep 2013 trip

Zambia between 15 Sep 2013 and 29 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was very enjoyable (as expected, since we've been to these camps before). Once again, having assistance through immigration and with ground transport was very helpful and time saving."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Good comfortable stopover for one night"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"Good relaxing stay in a very well managed camp. Variety of activities welcome, and the closeness of the river a definite plus in hot September weather.

Having expressed an interest in birding, we were allocated a guide (Prisley) with excellent birding skills."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

8 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Another most enjoyable stay at Tafika. Very welcoming, good guiding and excellent food.

Thanks again to the Coppingers (all three of you!), Bryan, Heather, Rhona and all the staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Another very enjoyable trip

Zambia between 13 Sep 2012 and 26 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are quite experienced Africa travelers, and so we know pretty much what we are to expect. It is important that we have an agent who understands Africa as well, and we always find that with Expert Africa. Another well organised and most enjoyable safari holiday"

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Good place for a relaxed one-night stay"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Stayed for one night after arriving on the Emirates flight in the afternoon. Good option."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"Enjoyable stay"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Busanga Bush Camp is a small, friendly and well managed camp, with excellent guiding from Isaac.

There is certainly good game viewing on the Busanga Plains, but it is more widely spread than in some other reserves. We very much enjoyed our stay, but would probably not recommend BBC for a first time safari.

The helicopter transfer in was fun. We didn't know that, when staying for three nights or more, a complimentary balloon ride is included. Too bad we couldn't go because of the wind, but it would have been a selling point."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"(Another) great stay at Tafika"

8 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Just a great place to stay: the location, guiding, food and above all the welcoming atmosphere makes this a great place to spend a few days. Many thanks to John, Carol, Brian, Heather, Rhona and all the staff for an excellent time (and for teh surprise birthday cake!)

It's fantastic to be in the Nsefu sector, and see great game and hardly ever another vehicle. Microlighting another highlight (five lions on one side and two leopards on the other - doesn't get much better than that (not guaranteed of course!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My May 2012 trip

Zambia between 19 May 2012 and 28 May 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was around our seventh trip to the valley, and everything was managed the way it should be. A very enjoyable holiday.

The ground agents made our progress through immigration on the way out and check-in on the way home, quick and easy"

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

4 nights Arrived 19 May 2012
"We could not fault the organisation and the facilities at Nkwali. However, compared to the days when Jo and Robin were hands on, and there were only Nkwali, Tena Tena and the mobiles, the lodge seems somehow souless.

The relatively long drive either to the main gate or to the pontoon seemed more of a drawback than in the past - in part becasue there seemed to be less activity on the drive than in the past (though this could of course be chance)"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 23 May 2012
"Simply a lovely lodge. John and Carol (together with Heather and Rhona, and the other staff) create just the right combination of professionalism and relaxation. (Compare our comments on Nkwali)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2012
"On the plus side, the reception was extremely professional and friendly, and the room was large and comfortable.

Less positively, the food was poor and given the location and time of arrival there is little alternative. We seemed to be left entirely to our own devices in the morning"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

Most enjoyable

Zambia between 21 Sep 2007 and 6 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We've been to Afirica times. THis was a first rate trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:"

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Excellent walking safari"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Isaac (Zulu) an absolutely first rate guide. Support staff all very good, too."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Excellent safari at Chikoko"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2007
"Isaac (Zulu) an absolutely first rate guide. Support staff all very good, too.

But tented rooms, even with "double skin" roofs, very hot"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Excellent - very friendly camp"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"Very impressed with what the Coppingers offer at Remote Africa. Tafika is a lovely camp, relaxed but also serious about what they are doing. Microlight flights offer a different dimension dimension - highly recommended.

At Tafika, best food we've had in the Valley - and that is saying something!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"OK - but not perfect"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"Mixed experience.

The "Albida Suite" is very good. Excellent accommodation, and a good concept. But - they do need to keep to that concept, and not invite others in the camp to dine, as happened on our second night.

We were not very impressed with our guide ("Leve" ?): he didn't see a lot and ended by dropping us at Sausage tree at 9.00am, which caused some consternation.

Logistics leave a bit to be desired (plerase call if you want more details)

We asked for a walk, and were told that "ZAWA don't allow walks because the elephants are beoming too skittish". But no problems at Sausage Tree - over to you."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Absolutely first rate"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"We have known about Sausage Tree for quite a while (this is our sixth time in Zambia).

Our first visit, and honestly couldn't fault it

Very highly recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team