This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dale & Sue from Sleaford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Kgalagadi to Etosha roadtrip

Namibia and 1 other country between 27 May 2016 and 12 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall this was a great trip.

Kgalagadi is a magical park which generates a feeling of camaraderie among the visitors. Drivers still wave to each other like they are sharing some closely guarded secret. It would be possible to spend two weeks there, with at least three days at each camp. This would make the trip more relaxed and give more time to appreciate each area. Put in the hours in this park and you will get some fantastic sightings. There's no elephant, buffalo or rhino but it's great for birds, predators and the smaller critters. Tiny creatures can get in the chalets, although gratefully for us these were mainly the friendly, cuter end of the spectrum. Shouldn't bother most but might not be for everyone.

If you can book into a Kgalagadi widerness camp you can leave the modern world behind. Forget smartphones and the internet, at present there is no network coverage, apart from in Twee Rivieren.

If possible hire a 4x4. You don't have to but it will enhance the trip enormously. The road can be rough and the elevated driving position is great for spotting. If you can, get a double cab so you can easily stow your drinks, cool box, camera etc. For photography it's doubtful you can can beat Kgalagadi and Etosha.

The weather in late May to early June was fantastic for us, warm in the day and cool at night. It getting dry at this time of year so the waterholes in both parks are populated with small and large herds of animals. In Etosha the numbers seem astounding at times.

The timing was tricky and when our heathrow flight was delayed we could easily have missed our connection from Joburg to Upington. Luckily we traveled with hand luggage only and made it with a half hour to spare. Likewise, you probably need to stop over in Upington as we did, especially if you need to stock up before heading to Kgalagadi.

No fault of Expert Africa but it may have included just a bit too much driving. It was our choice to include Kgalagadi and Etosha. Not particularly the driving in the parks but between the two. However, this is a balancing act between time and resources and we don't regret it all."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2016
"Great location on the Orange River and an interesting building architecturally."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

"Great setting on Kalahari dune"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2016
"Kieliekrankie is set in the heart of the Kalahari atop of one of the highest dunes. It's a great setting, with wide vistas of the rippling Kalahari dunefield and overlooking a waterhole.

The chalets are well designed and sit unobtrusively as possible in the local environment. Each has a raised deck out front which is great for watching the incredible skies in the evening and the sunrise in the morning. Probably the best view of the milky way we have ever seen.

The waterhole didn't attract a huge amount of large animals during our three night stay, but the local pair of Steenbok put in regular appearances. However, the surrounding bushes and shrubs teem with birds, many of which populated the bush adjacent to our deck and seemed unconcerned about our presence. Great for photography.

Jacque, The camp warden was very friendly and helpful kept the camp absolutely spotless."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

"Places you into the heart of the bush"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2016
"Grootkolk is situated in the remote north of the Kgalagadi and certainly generates a feeling of wilderness. On our way into the camp on the first evening of our two night stay we probably had the best sighting of our trip when we encountered a small pride of lions walking along the side of the road. It's not often that you encounter lions not at rest and it was great to see them on the move with the young ones playing together as they progressed.

The chalets are of the sandbag base, canvass upper variety and are clean and well appointed with all you need for self catering. Wildlife seems abundant in the area with plenty of visitors to the waterhole, which is quite close to the chalets. Unfortunately we missed a visiting brown hyena as were in bed very early after a long days drive.

We did have a fair bit of wildlife in the chalet, with visitors including a very cute tree mouse and a large gecko. It did get us thinking about what other, less friendly, creatures could gain access to our abode and you could see various attempts at blocking entrance routes around the chalet. Perhaps the infrastructure of the camp is showing its age a bit."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"A fantastic camp on the Aub river"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2016
"The largest of the three camps we stayed at but this doesn't detract from the wilderness atmosphere at all. The camp is sited on top of the south bank of Aub river with spectacular views across the dry valley. The two river valleys, the Aub and Nossob, really do define the Kgalagadi and this camp really is in a classic location.

The chalets\tents are modern, spacious and kept scrupulously clean and tidy by the camp staff. Kitchen facilities are in their own separate unit adjacent to the chalet.

In contrast to the other wilderness camps we stayed at it is possible participate in game drives as the camp is very close to Mata Mata. We went on a very good night drive and the vehicle called at our chalet to pick us up. You see a very different set of animals at night and we encountered bat eared foxes, cape foxes, owls and even a porcupine. On our first night we awoke to the roars of the local pride of lions and the jackals regularly supply their own rather eery howls and yelps."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

"Great place to rest up near Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2016
"Located in a mountainous area not far to the east of Windhoek, the resort is set in a the small but attractive Daan Viljoen National Park. We stayed in the chalets which are of an unusual but attractive style, built in stone with domed roofs. The chalet was in good condition, well maintained and very clean. We tried out the restaurant and were very surprised that we were able to get a very good vegetarian meal. Unfortunately for us catering for vegetarians was not high of the list of priorities of many of establishments were stayed at on our trip.

The park seems surprisingly rich in wildlife with a large troop of baboons in residence close to the resort. However, these baboons seem wild enough and are not seen near to people or carrying out raids for food from cars or buildings. We also saw kudu and warthogs.

There are walking trials around the park but we only had time to try the shortest, which is just 1.5km long starting close to the reception. There are no dangerous animals in the park but it made a pleasant change to be able to walk around freely in the bush. As we only stopped over for the night it wasn't possible to check out fully the facilities of the resort and park but it did make a very pleasant place to rest up after a long drive"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Spectacular waterhole at Okaukujo"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"Although the main camp in Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo still manages to generate a quiet, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The chalets are spacious, well maintained and clean.

From here you explore the park, which in Etosha mainly involves driving between the waterholes. If you are there in the dry season this is really all you need to do as the animals are forced to congregate at the few available water sources and the scenes are almost biblical, with lines of animals seemingly stretching for miles. Photographic opportunities abound.

Make sure you visit the camp waterhole at dusk. Its surprisingly close and a hushed crowd waits in expectation like an audience at a play, but one which may or may not happen. But it did and all at once a group of giraffe emerge from the bushes like ghosts in the failing light and the are soon joined by two black rhino.

Our main gripe with the camp was with the food, served buffet style and plentiful but will not win any prizes. Meat eaters would probably feel adequately catered for but a vegetarian will struggle. We realise that Namibia Wildlife Resorts cater for perceived demand but surely adding a bit more quality and variety might be beneficial.

However, this didn't spoil our appreciation of the surrounding park which in some areas seems like another world; a parched, hostile dustbowl but which supports wildlife in amazing abundance and variety."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"A secluded camp set in the Mopani"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"Set among some of the few hills in Etosha and in Mopane woodland this seems like the most secluded of the ENP camps. The chalets are more dispersed than Okakuejo and are spacious, well maintained and kept clean and tidy.

The waterhole is spectacular, set away from the camp so there's little noise to disturb the peace. An outcrop of rock has been cleverly used to create a natural amphitheatre with the waterhole just a few dozen metres distant. A herd of elephants visit in the early evening and surely there can't be too many better places in Africa to watch these animals at close range and not in a vehicle. Black rhino are also in regular attendance and the two species certainly don't appreciate each others company.

The nearby Goas waterhole must be one of the best in the park. An early morning visit revealed saw the place deserted but closer inspection revealed a small pride of lions on what little remained of a zebra, explaining the lack of the usual impala, kudu and zebra. The rest of the morning saw hyena, jackals and vultures awaiting their turn, warily keeping an eye out for returning lions.

The quizzine in the camp restaurant could do with improving but we've commented on this for Okaukaejo and Halali is identical. All in all though, a very pleasant stay. A smell in the chalet could be due to over zealous use of insecticide."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Just a great lodge close to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"The best lodge of our trip. Located just 15 minutes from the east gate of Etosha this is a private lodge set in in bush/woodland which could easily pass as a nature reserve. The main reception\dining area is set under a architecturally striking timber built thatched roof. This covers an open fronted building which houses the dining area, bar, reception area and a small curio shop which sells some quality items at a reasonable price.

The tents\chalets are set in the bush at a little distance from the main reception area. These are well designed private, spacious and modern with integral showers and toilets. There are charging points and a kettle and tea making facilities. There is a safe and even an air horn in case of an emergency, which include insects you don't like apparently!

The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and you can even get a decent vegetarian option. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful and the whole place is kept spic and span. After dinner we were entertained by the staff choir which was was of an incredibly high standard.

Unfortunately we did not have chance to go on one of the morning walks due to illness and the lack of a guide. There is nothing to fault here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"OK for a last stop before flying out"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2016
"Set in the hills to the west of Windhoek the lodge does offer some great views of the capital city. It was fine for a last stop before flying out and the chalets were adequate, clean and sound.

The main reception, bar and dining area is pleasant enough, although possibly a bit lacking in character. All the staff were friendly and efficient and helpful. However, the vegetarian option for the evening meal was not pleasant.

There is wildlife around and we were told of a troop of resident baboons which we did not see. However, they certainly are common in the area and line the road on the way to the airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team