This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp


26°28’21.1"S 20°36’43.8"E

Reviews of Twee Rivieren

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Twee Rivieren and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Twee Rivieren.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Meerkat

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
Dorset

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2010
"The facilities at Twee Rivieren are good, everything was clean - but basic. The shop was adequate (we stocked up in Upington before heading to Twee Rivieren - which we would definitely recommend as the stock at the shop is limited) - and dinner at the Restaurant that night was very good.

We didn't spend much time in the camp, as we headed straight out to explore the Kgalagadi as soon as we arrived - but it is a useful stopping point (especially at the start or finish of a trip to the Kgalagadi). Top Tip - pack resealable freezer bags (large ones) to "double bag" frozen meat into to stop it leaking in the care as it defrosts!" See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2010
"Very comfortable chalet accommodation.

Sitting out in the evening this year was eerily quiet. There was no hum of activity as people prepared their barbecues and I missed that. However there is a shop, restaurant and fuel station." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Chertsey

"Perfectly good stopover at entry to the Park"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2010
"The process of obtaining the pass to the Park was rather painful but will hopefully improve once the new information centre is fully open. Our room was good, At the last moment we decided not to use the restaurant but to make a braai. The shop was very well stocked for this. A theme throughout the camps was that the level of equipment provided was excellent. Nothing was missing! The shop here was far better stocked than those at Mata Mata and especially Nossob, so if you can stock up here, do.

The lodge is functional and there is no game watching apart from the organised evening drive. The journey here was a very easy 3 hours from Upington. Staying awake after the flight will be the main challenge! Stock up with all the essentials at Pick and Pay in the centre of Upington. You can't miss it!

Obviously you need to fuel up at Twee Rivieren. Also you need to reduce tyre pressures for the sandy roads in the Park. The petrol station staff were very helpful with this operation. Our Nissan double cab had a spare petrol tank fitted. Very useful but the design means that putting 50 litres in takes a full half hour, due to continual air-locks." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2009
"We were surprised at just how much we enjoyed Twee Rivieren.

We had expected something far more basic, and yet everything we needed was provided, it was good to be cooking our own food and the AC was so powerful, we were really warm at night.

The next morning we discovered that we had a puncture, and several adept men who were waiting for their parties to take them into the Kgalagadi stepped forward to help." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs B,
Portugal

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2009
"Fine for an overnight stop and the accommodation was good for government camp." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2008
"TOO COMMERSIALISED FOR ME BUT USEFUL STOP OFF POINT" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Mr G
Torquay

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2008
"The chalets are of a good standard, but the location is poor - mostly overlooking the main park entrance road. Therefore it only serves as a base to explore the park." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Mr JH
Switzerland

"Well organised camp as base"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2007
"Spacious clean, reasonably equipped self catering chaletss, well set out camp, friendly staff.

Good shop and Restaurant.

As Kagalgadi Transfrontier Park is essentially a self drive experience, which is what we wanted, the activities are not extensive but adequate." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
M & M Oxford
UK

"Back to Twee Rivieren Rest Camp "

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"This time we were better versed in the rules.

Meals in the restaurant were again excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
M & M Oxford
UK

"Uppington to Twee Rivieren Rest Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2007
"It was good to have so much space to spread out. Meals in the restaurant were very good, especially the Orange River wines - pity we can't get them here.
When we arrived there was some confusion among the staff about our accomodation but this was quite quickly sorted out. We were rather later in arriving as the plane from Jo'burg to Uppington was late leaving Jo'burg (the driver of the shuttle bus on the tarmac didn't know which was our plane as a smaller one was substituted at the last minute) which didn't give much time to get to the rest camp having gone into Uppington to pick up supplies at the supermarket. Also we took some time looking over the car as there was some damage to it when it came in from Kimberley. The road into the rest camp was quite badly churned up by the big plant being used to tarmac the drive. The drive in therefore took us longer than expected.
The camp rules weren't terribly obvious and nothing was spelled out to us. Perhaps a one page flyer could be prepared and given to visitors. I cannot comment on the activities as we were not aware that there were any. The shop was also not very well stocked but as I said, we had stocked up in town before leaving for the camp. No English-language guides were available." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 30
82%
30 reviews of Twee Rivieren by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
16
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp, with self-catering accommodation, is an unusual and well positioned base for exploration of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


91% (29 reviews)
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

On the western border of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Mata Mata Restcamp offers camping and simple self-catering chalets, great for adventurous travellers on self-drive explorations of this park.


83% (14 reviews)
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp is located in a remote corner of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, which is wonderful if you like wilderness areas. However, access takes time - so it's not the best base for exploring the park.


89% (14 reviews)
Ta Shebube Rooiputs

Ta Shebube Rooiputs

One of just three private lodges in the Kgalagadi, Ta Shebube Rooiputs offers a well-appointed base from where you can explore this delightful National Park.


91% (13 reviews)
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

A basic but very well positioned rest camp within the heart of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Simple self-catering accommodation is available as well as camping options


80% (12 reviews)
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge mixes guided wildlife safaris with very good community interactions, suiting those who prefer not to drive and cater for themselves.


98% (11 reviews)
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Camp

Bitterpan is a basic self-catering camp in the Kgalagadi's central dune-field; it suits experienced self-drivers comfortable with remote travel.


82% (11 reviews)
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp has quirky sand-bag self-catering accommodation and simple amenities, offering a comfortable place to stay while exploring the north western Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.


94% (10 reviews)
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

Although accessed via South Africa, Ta Shebube Polentswa is situated just across the border, in a private concession on the Botswana side of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park


94% (10 reviews)
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Camp

Urikaruus is one of the most popular wilderness camps in the Kgalagadi National Park with lovely riverside cabins set high up on stilts overlooking the Auob riverbed.


96% (9 reviews)
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Camp

Perched high atop a huge red sand dune, the small Kielie Krankie wilderness camp it is well positioned for accessing both east and west sides of the Kgalagadi National Park.


93% (8 reviews)
Molopo Kalahari Lodge

Molopo Lodge

Less than an hours' drive from the Kgalagadi, this makes a good base near to the park if you're arriving late in the afternoon.


60% (3 reviews)
The Motse at Tswalu

The Motse at Tswalu

Tswalu Motse is a smart lodge located in the Tswalu Game Reserve, the largest private reserve in South Africa.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa