This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms J & Ms B from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

0

My Apr 2014 trip

South Africa and 1 other country between 13 Apr 2014 and 17 May 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall, a fantastic trip.

Expert Africa did an excellent job in their seamless arrangements."

Arranged By Megan Green


Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Fabulous camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2014
"We had a fabulous experience at this camp.

Loved the remoteness of this place, The guide and tracker were excellent and very knowledgeable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"Wonderful camp, beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2014
"We loved this place. Wished we had booked for 3 nights rather than two. Disappointed we didn't see the Pel's fishing owl but the guides gave it a good try. This is a great place for bird sightings.

The manager was very personable and the guide extremely good, esp with bird ID. Sunsets and sunrises on the lagoon were spectacular."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Great animal encounters at Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2014
"Great camp, great encounters with animals.

The guide and tracker were excellent and always tried to accommodate us re bird and photography interests."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Beautiful setting"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2014
"This camp is located in a beautiful setting. The camp staff were very efficient and accommodating.

The guide and tracker were very knowledgeable and gave us a good safari experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Very convenient for a one night stay in Joburg."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Letaba Restcamp

"Letaba Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2014
"Comfortable camp."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Shingwedzi Restcamp

"Shingwedzi Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2014
"We were booked by error into a rondavel that had no cooking facilities and had to rent extra equipment. However, the booking agency more than made up for the error by reimbursing us and paying for a couple of meals in Upington.

I was surprised there was so much damage especially to the bridges and causeways near the camp, from the floods of 2 years ago. This did restrict our visiting some of our favorite birding areas."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Poor
Image alt

Oliphants Restcamp

"One of the best in Kruger"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2014
"This camp was the best one we visited for its location and well cared for buildings. Wished we had booked for longer here.

There were some problems here too with damage to causeways-a key birding location. Hope they get repaired soon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Satara Restcamp

"Satara Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2014
"Our rondavel at this camp was in disrepair and quite dirty. It was like the people here did not care.

Again we were booked with no cooking facilities which was an inconvenience."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Image alt

Skukuza Restcamp

"Skukuza Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2014
"We had a comfortable rondavel here away from the crowds, so that was great. However, there was a real problem with baboon raids. Our fridge was raided twice in spite of turning it to the wall whenever we left camp. We lost a lot of food! All the other camps either had locked grates over their fridges or put the fridges inside the huts. Why does Skukuza not do this?? They know they have a big problem and they need to better protect both the guests and the baboons."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Average
Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Fabulous place"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2014
"Well managed, extremely comfortable and convenient. The manager went out of her way to be helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2014
"Comfortable, basic accommodations.

The gas station was not able to adjust our tires here due to broken equipment. This meant an uncomfortable ride to Matamata."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 May 2014
"After one night in a 2 bedroom chalet we were moved to a more comfortable and spacious river view chalet.

This was excellent except the floors and surfaces could have been cleaner."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2014
"As before. [Ed: See below] The tire pressure pump had been fixed."
Good
Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2014
"As before. [Ed: See below]"
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

4 nights Arrived 13 May 2014
"No problems"
Good

General comments

Tanzania between 11 Sep 2011 and 24 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic. Well organized. There were no logistical problems.

Kevin, our guide and driver for the first 6 days was excellent in his knowledge of the country, the parks and the wild creatures and expert in bird identification. Overall, he was well organized, courteous and looked after us well. He was attentive to our requests in relation to photography opportunities and positioning of the vehicle. On occasion he seemed to get a bit "fed up" with our requests to stop and our asking for information on, for e.g., the names of birds. We also detected at times he was catering to his own interests and was bored with what we wanted to do and see. We did ask him if he was "bored" with our agenda but he denied this. On a couple of occasions he returned us to camp sooner than we needed to be.

The washrooms in the Crater itself were in a terribly filthy state. With this much traffic and money going into the area surely some more resources can be put aside for better ongoing cleaning/maintenance of the toilets.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None. Enjoyed working with Claire (again!). Very efficient."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Managers helpful and friendly.

Great birdwatching at the main camp area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Staff very friendly and helpful.

The shower in our room did not drain well."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"Rhino Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"The food was especially good. Comfortable cozy lounge area. Friendly helpful manager.
Really appreciated the wee wood stove in the room. Basic rooms but all one needs.

Enjoyed all the animals that visited on the gounds every evening.
Alex tried to be very helpful with the bird identifications."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Dunia Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Thompson the guide was excellent-personable and took care of our every need. Extremely knowledgeable about bird names/info. Very flexible when we wanted a change of plans.

Peter the manager was very personable.
Helen really appreciated the hot water bottle in the bed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Olakira Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"Jeremea the guide was very knowledgeable about the animals. He could have responded better to our requests to stop and see/photograph the birds-second guessing that all we wanted to see were cats. While we appreciated getting to see the crossing on short notice, he was somewhat cavalier in his driving and took what seemed to be unnecessary risks re speed and rough terrain-throwing us about in the jeep.

The food here was exceptionally good-compliments to the chef.

Pascal the manager and Future, the tent manager, were well organized and most attentive to our every need."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team