This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C from Harvest

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

May-June Kenya, Tsavo trip was great

Kenya between 28 May 2017 and 9 Jun 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"There were no significant problems and I got to do or see everything on my must do list. Richard went out of his way to satisfy my odd interests."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Perfect airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2017
"This is all down to location. I arrived at the airport late at night, and this hotel is only a few kilometers away. This is the world class hotel you expect -- clean, hot water, comfortable, and good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"Surpisingly Good"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2017
"I didn't expect much here. Emakoko is inside (or practically so) the Nairobi National Park -- but the park is surprisingly good. You are on the edge of the big city, but in the bush with all the expected African wildlife. Some of my best Eland, Lion, Rhino, and Serval Cat video footage was taken here. My room was shared with a family of Hyrax, which came into the room to eat the roses that the management left for me, so I got good video there too. And, the management, especially Anthony Childs was delightful to talk with (although I was quite jet lagged at the time)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Severin Safari Camp

Severin Safari Camp

"The Best in West Tsavo"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2017
"Before I went, I researched this camp and concluded it was the best for West Tsavo, and it did not disappoint. My room faced a watering hole that was alive each morning. You don't have to go on a game drive to see game. The room was clean and well furnished. There was plenty of hot water and electricity. The food was especially good. Some of the best food I have had in my life was on safari, and the food at Severin was in that class. The operator is a German, who I believe probably has a hotel or chef background. (There is no clean like German clean.)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lions Bluff Lodge

Lions Bluff Lodge

"Less than expected"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2017
"I had really high expectations for Lions Bluff, but the electricity and hot water were spotty. Also, one night I heard something on the roof of my tent, that sounded like a monkey walking around. Then, while I was asleep, it sounded like it was in my tent. Then the insect spray can was knocked on the floor and I turned on the light to see what was in my tent, and saw a flash a brown. It was a bush baby. The camp feeds them at the bar, which I think is wonderful. It allows me to get good video. But, I'd rather not have one in my tent while I am trying to sleep."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Satao Camp

Satao Camp

"You don't have to leave the camp"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2017
"There is plenty of game in camp. I think the herbivores must think they are safe there. The food is great. The tents are as expected, with reliable hot water and electricity. I researched this place before I went there and found it appeared to be the best place in East Tsavo -- and it lived up to the promise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kulalu Camp

"You can do more here"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2017
"Classic permanent tent camp. Hot water requires advance coordination, and electrical plugs in the tents are fewer than some camps, but you can always charge something at the bar. The food is great, and because you are outside the park, you can do night game drives or walk around more during the day. This makes snake and scorpion hunting more possible -- and I did both of those here. This is right on the river, so you have hippo in your front yard."
Good
Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports

"Just too nice for safari"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2017
"I cannot tell my wife about this stay, or she'd think I wasn't roughing it. It is on the beach. Ocean waves are visible very near the dining facility. The place is more keyed to fishing than safari. The food is great, and if you need anything (like breakfast at 0500) you just talk to the French manager, Flo. It is of course, clean, well run, with plenty of hot water and electricity."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Exactly what I planned

Zambia between 31 Oct 2016 and 12 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"I saw what I came to see (except for the aardvark and pangolin). Everything was very smooth, and there was minimal wasted time."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"I love this place"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"More animals wander through here than most bush camps. I had an elephant come to breakfast one morning.

However, the rooms are permanent tents, that they leave open. (For some reason the Baboons don't go inside and destroy the place.) I find this somewhat disturbing, but there was no problem with any wildlife.

The canoe trip on a channel of the Zambezi is especially memorable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"This place came highly recommended"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"And, it lived up to its promise. This is number one for this area for a reason -- value.

For one thing, you can order just about any food you like. This is important to me because I am diabetic. Watch out for the Baboons -- they are destructive and will get into your tent, if they can. Hippos and elephants also wander about. The name flat dogs is a south African euphemism for a crocodile.

The original location for the camp (it has moved a bit) was originally a crocodile farm."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

"Visit of a lifetime"

4 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"Each year elephants visit the lodge to get to a great old mango tree. When the mango is in fruit (usually late October through December) the elephants may walk through the lobby to get to the fruit. They did that the first and last day of my 4 night stay, and I videoed them both times.

My room was a two story (sort of a tree house) overlooking a stream. The crocodile (the name of the room) has a loft, balcony, two toilets, four sinks, a tube and shower, as well as a porch. I counted as many as 13 elephants in my back yard at one time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Jan 2016 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 1 Jan 2016 and 14 Jan 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Good enough"

1 night Arrived 1 Jan 2016
"Suited my needs."
Good
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau was wonderful"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2016
"I am so happy you suggested Tau.

The bushman walk was great -- I did it twice"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Just what I wanted"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2016
"I did several habituated Meerkat Mobs, some night viewing, and brown Hyena cubs."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Really excellant"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2016
"The Baobab trees were my reason to go, but the elephants at the waterhole were something else."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

"Better than I expected"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2016
"You really can not beat the view of the Boteti river.

The staff was very accommodating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team