This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari

Reviews of Camp Kalahari

Wildlife sightings and reviews

43 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kalahari and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kalahari.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Meerkat

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

83% success

Oryx

50% success

Aardvark

17% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 43
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W
Altrincham

"A wonderful surprise "

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Great place. Wonderful people. Nice camp. Every drive/ outing - a unique experience.
One only glitch - my wife and another guest who was with us got food poisoning on the last day" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Southwest USA

"Best by far - highlight of the trip"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2017
"I cannot say enough about Camp Kalahari. Accommodations, staff, food, wildlife, guide, activities were all top notch. Our guide not only was one of the best I've ever had, but had an obvious rapport with other guides in the area. Sightings were never shared and there was seamless cooperation - which didn't involve the guests - at interesting spots. Walking with the meerkats was a bucket list item, and can be done no where else. Guides worked very hard, and listened to our interests.

Camp staff was wonderful - managers here are great. Food was very good as well.

This camp should be selectively booked - people (Americans) only interested in seeing lots and lots of animals should perhaps not come here. This is about the culture of the people and seeing some unique species in a very beautiful landscape, not about quantity - at least not in June. " See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bertie
UK

"Disappointing "

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2017
"This camp was so disappointing. We knew it was going to be 'rustic' but the tents were quite tatty with the zips broken along the bottom. This made securing the tent against creepy crawlies and snakes quite tricky.

Rather than a safari experience this felt much more like a tourist trip. Not much flexibility in itinerary. We were told each day what were doing rather than ask what we wanted to do. We were reeled round the tourist sights; meerkats, brown hyena, bushmen, Chapmans tree. The result was that each drive felt like we were on a mission to get to the next destination.

The camp was cold at night, we asked for fleeces to put over our knees during dinner but this was declined. The forgot to put hot water bottles in our beds the first night. The lodge was not busy when we were there (4 guests) so there was really no excuse.

Our overall impression was that the staff, although very nice indeed, were just doing their job. There seemed to be no passion. This has to come from the top, the owners of the concession. I would avoid any other concession owned by these people. We came away disappointed.

On a more positive note, our first sundowner was set up in advance by the staff. A full bar set up by a water hole complete with fire. This was truly amazing. If only they had kept up that level of service, this camp could be fantastic. " See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Darius
Paris

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"It's enclosed and thus is rather limited in terms of contact with animals. The food is great (best we had in Botswana), people are very helpfull.

It lacks the 'safari view' and makes Jack's Camp all the more desirable.

The horses stabled there are under used and could use more of a promotion. The cost seems expensive (it's an add-on) but it is on a subcontract with an outside firm." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr A
Australia

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"One of the many highlights of our trip.

Camp Kalahari is basic but very nice. The tented rooms are large and comfortable. The camp staff were great and made sure you were very well looked after.

The food was excellent and beautifully presented.

Our guide Jonah was excellent, I think he enjoyed taking on the game drives nearly more than we did.

We were lucky to see the very private Brown Hyena and the absolute highlight was spending time with the Meerkats on two occasions.

We had a great excursion with the Bushmen which was a lot of fun and very informative." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bracknell

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"Nice contrast to the delta. Very knowledgeable guiding, Servicer a little "clunky"when camp was full." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
XX
London

"Fabulous"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"One of the high points of the trip. We had a wonderful, varied and fascinating time at Camp Kalahari.

The accommodation was luxurious, the food was excellent and the guides (particularly the highly knowledgeable Bart) were impressive. We experienced exciting game drives, enjoyed learning about San (Bushman) life and had a truly magical time in the salt pans with the contrast of quad bikes and absolute peace.

The "surprises" provided throughout the stay made this a truly unforgettable three days." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J & Family
Dunmow

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"What an amazing place. When we flew in we thought we were in the middle of nowhere. We were made to feel extremely welcome. The horse riding, meekhat visit, quad bikes, san visit, salt pans and camp out were all real highlights of our trip..

Our guide, Micheal, was a great personality and made us all feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble.

Although there was not the extent of game as in Chobe we did really enjoy this experience and would definitely recommend it.
It was also very nice to have a lunchtime siesta and rest in the middle of the day - only mad dogs and Englishmen...........

The food was exceptional" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Saratoga Springs

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2016
"Mr. Bones - our guide, the MC and overall host was truly amazing. Although the camp was a bit worn, Bones made this stay memorable.

Staff were very attentive and ensured we were extremely well treated. Our activities - ATV drives in the salt pan, guided tours, the Bushmen Walk, meerkat bonding - each held surprises that were amazing.

Overall an experience we would not have wanted to miss." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs D
Worcester Park

"MY BOTSWANA: CAMP KALAHARI"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2016
"Camp Kalahari reminded me of Hemingway's Botswana and I was very pleased that I decided to stay there. The food was to my liking and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The herds of zebra and wildebeste outnumbered all other animals but on our evening drive in the moonlight we saw spring hares, cape hares, black backed jackals, an owl, an aardvark and a steenbok which everyone found very satisfying. On one daytime drive we saw a couple of ostriches in the distance but this was the only time I saw them during the whole time I was in Botswana. During the night there was a huge outcry as a lion tried to get into the horses' enclosure....who can blame him for thinking it would be a quick and easy meal.

The early morning visit to the meerkat burrows was charming and I believe I am right in saying everyone enjoyed it. We arrived as they began emerging from their burrows and when one sat on my knee I decided it smelt of marmite! A staff member has been appointed to stay around the meerkats' territory all day and every day so that they are used to 'us humans' and do not consider us a threat.

I did not join the Bush Walk but was surprised at the number of Bush people that arrived for the walk which included men, women, children and babies. I also did not participate in the quad bike drive because I had no time left, however afterwards I wished that I had." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 43
93%
43 reviews of Camp Kalahari by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

Offering good summer game viewing and visits to Baines Baobabs, the comfortable Nxai Pan Camp is currently the only permanent camp in Nxai Pan National Park.


91% (30 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


90% (21 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (14 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


85% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa