This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari

Reviews of Camp Kalahari

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kalahari and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kalahari.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

30% success

Wild dog

0% success

Meerkat

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

90% success

Elephant

80% success

Giraffe

33% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

20% success

Brown Hyena

20% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Sleeping under the stars at Camp Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"At Camp Kalahari the staff was again very friendly like at other places we travelled. Be aware it can be really hot, our max was 47 degrees C. At night it cools of. We were there beginning of November so almost the rain season so the heat was building up. Last night we did have lots of wind ending in a sand storm during the game drive.

We mentioned that we preferred a double bed and although it cannot be guaranteed (which we understand) we were surprised to get at tent appointed while the camp was not full with two beds and next to a building area as some weeks before another tent was destroyed because of a sandstorm. This is not really a good guest experience/feeling. That first evening we stayed in the dessert. When arriving back the next morning I asked if we could change from tent due to the fact there was only one other couple in camp so there were more tents with double beds (and it was our anniversary) plus I don't want to be in a surrounding seeing the place where a tent was destroyed (last I did not mentioned). It was no problem at all to change tents so the staff solved it very well, but I would not have done this in the first place.

In the final tent appointed our fan was broken, first they came to fix it provisionally with the promises they will fix it once we were on game drive. They never did. I would suggest just take the whole fan out directly, put another in (there were no guests in camp besides us and another couple) and fix it somewhere else.

The swimming pool could not be used due to the elephants that came in camp the whole day and made one mess and dirt pool of it. Too bad and disappointed guests esp as it was so hot during the 3 days we were there where between the activities you have lots of time to relax.

A special memory is the meet & great with the San people. They really taught us what is important to survive and more about their habits and culture.

Last but not least the Meerkat encounter was nice.

What we experienced as maybe too much is the games during the quads drive. It is good to explain that your mind can play tricks on you once blindfolded but not the whole group has to do it. We are on safari and not on a teambuilding event. Two or three persons to show what is happening once you lost eye sight or your coordination is enough to get the message." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Meerkat

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"We arrived here at about 4pm, dropped our bags in our room, got into the 4WDs and then were told that we were going for a quad bike ride. Very rushed.

When we got to the bikes, we had minimal briefing on them before we set off without helmets. This was quite frightening for me. Firstly, I know that there are many accidents involving quad bikes in Australia and am wary of them as a mode of transport. The rods we went on were very rutted and I was actually quite scared during the riding. There seemed to be a pressure to continue with the activity and I felt very inadequately prepared. By the time it got dark, as a passenger I just closed my eyes but I was still far from relaxed.

The surprise dinner on the Pan and the sleeping out, was indeed a surprise. By the time we got back to our room the next morning, we had not showered for well over 24 hours. All in all, a good experience, but could be improved.

The next morning, there was no water in the Camp apparently due to human error.

The meercat experience, which I had been sceptical about, was fantastic." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr H
Germany

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2018
"We visited Camp Kalahari, Tau Pan Camp, Sable Alley, Chief´s Camp within 9 days during raining season. The trip as a whole was great and most impressive. Our Group consist of 3 men and 3 women from 56 to 80 years old. The air transport was excellent and even so the Chance to store additional luggage in Maun.

The sequence of different locations was a symbol for rising attraction, comfort, number and variety of animals. In Camp Kalahari we met a family of native bushmen (about 25 people, young and old) who introduced us for more than 2 hours into their way of life. Now we can make fire without matches and lighters, we can hunt with bow and arrow, we will find plants with water in their roots and so on. It was a fundamental experience and we are still deeply impressed.

Then we saw many Lions with their cubs, we saw many Leopards, Cheetahs and impressive big Elephants not only at the horizon but often in almost touching distance,

We will never forget excellent Food and Red wine and last but not least we remember the friendliness of all people. Before landing at home we started already collecting money for our next visit in Botswana.

Thanks a lot, it was a great time." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms S
Roswell

"Surprising amount of animal life"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2017
"I didn't know for sure what to expect at Camp Kalahari in terms of wildlife. I expected meerkats, but didn't know if we would see anything else. I was pleasantly surprised by both the amount and the variety of life we saw. Three male lions sleeping, then again in the morning on a kill, surrounded by 27 jackals and innumerable vultures. A huge mixed herd of wildebeest and zebra at a waterhole. Ostrich and secretary birds and black korhaan. Most surprising were several bachelor herds of elephants.

Our guide, Bones, was great! At the beginning of the trip, I told he we would like to see some of the rarer, more nocturnal animals, such as brown hyenas, aardwolves, aardvark, and also gemsbok. Though we saw no gemsbok, he was able to give us a sighting of the aardwolf, a great view of a brown hyena (in daytime) and even a short nighttime glimpse of the aardvark and springhares. Bones even spotted a pair of cheetahs, recognizing them just by their eyeshine.

The tents were not as luxurious as some of the other tented camps - smaller and a little less fancy. Access to the bathroom area required passing through two sets of zippered openings, which was tiresome but not really a big deal.

Food was excellent. We enjoyed the bushmen visit, although we had to cut it short due to a flight out." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Chris
Calgary

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"Spectacular - had no idea there would be so much to see in such a sparsely vegetated area. Staff was awesome. My only complaint is the furniture in the common area was uncomfortable" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"A fabulous experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2017
"Standard 'classic camp' tent layout, but great attention to detail to give the feel of a Victorian explorer in terms of the furnishings and fittings.(even down to the morning tea tray complete with tea cosy and plate of biscuits).
The camp does have electricity now, with adequate lighting in the tents and charging facilities for batteries etc in the main area.
The highlight of this camp is, of course, the meerkat colonies. It was an unforgettable experience to spend time so close to these enchanting animals. We were also lucky enough to see two brown hyaena here.
In addition, good, late, rains in this area, meant that there was still water in some of the pans. As a result there were still large herds of wildebeest, zebra etc and a huge flock of flamingos. Normally these would all have migrated away from the pans by this time of the year.
We had a really excellent guide here, Bart, who was a highly knowledgeable about the history and geology of the area as well as the wildlife, and therefore added significantly to our enjoyment.
We had an amazing sundowner where we came across a bar, chairs and camp fire all laid out ready for us on a rocky outcrop." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr W
Altrincham

"A wonderful surprise "

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Great place. Wonderful people. Nice camp. Every drive/ outing - a unique experience.
One only glitch - my wife and another guest who was with us got food poisoning on the last day" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Southwest USA

"Best by far - highlight of the trip"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2017
"I cannot say enough about Camp Kalahari. Accommodations, staff, food, wildlife, guide, activities were all top notch. Our guide not only was one of the best I've ever had, but had an obvious rapport with other guides in the area. Sightings were never shared and there was seamless cooperation - which didn't involve the guests - at interesting spots. Walking with the meerkats was a bucket list item, and can be done no where else. Guides worked very hard, and listened to our interests.

Camp staff was wonderful - managers here are great. Food was very good as well.

This camp should be selectively booked - people (Americans) only interested in seeing lots and lots of animals should perhaps not come here. This is about the culture of the people and seeing some unique species in a very beautiful landscape, not about quantity - at least not in June." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bertie
UK

"Disappointing "

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2017
"This camp was so disappointing. We knew it was going to be 'rustic' but the tents were quite tatty with the zips broken along the bottom. This made securing the tent against creepy crawlies and snakes quite tricky.

Rather than a safari experience this felt much more like a tourist trip. Not much flexibility in itinerary. We were told each day what were doing rather than ask what we wanted to do. We were reeled round the tourist sights; meerkats, brown hyena, bushmen, Chapmans tree. The result was that each drive felt like we were on a mission to get to the next destination.

The camp was cold at night, we asked for fleeces to put over our knees during dinner but this was declined. The forgot to put hot water bottles in our beds the first night. The lodge was not busy when we were there (4 guests) so there was really no excuse.

Our overall impression was that the staff, although very nice indeed, were just doing their job. There seemed to be no passion. This has to come from the top, the owners of the concession. I would avoid any other concession owned by these people. We came away disappointed.

On a more positive note, our first sundowner was set up in advance by the staff. A full bar set up by a water hole complete with fire. This was truly amazing. If only they had kept up that level of service, this camp could be fantastic." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Darius
Paris

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"It's enclosed and thus is rather limited in terms of contact with animals. The food is great (best we had in Botswana), people are very helpfull.

It lacks the 'safari view' and makes Jack's Camp all the more desirable.

The horses stabled there are under used and could use more of a promotion. The cost seems expensive (it's an add-on) but it is on a subcontract with an outside firm." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 49
94%
49 reviews of Camp Kalahari by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

Offering good summer game viewing and visits to Baines Baobabs, the comfortable Nxai Pan Camp is currently the only permanent camp in Nxai Pan National Park.


91% (32 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


89% (23 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (15 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


84% (14 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa