This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr K from California

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

2

My Apr 2022 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 27 Apr 2022 and 14 May 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We could not be happier with our trip. The planning process went very smoothly. We received prompt and helpful replies to our email questions. Maruska was very informative and in addition to arranging most of out trip, she kindly and helpfully advised us on aspects of our trip that weren't booked by Expert Africa.

The camps all exceeded our expectations in every way, accommodations, food, activities. The transitions from one activity to another were flawless; there was always someone expecting us at the appropriate time and escorting us to the next flight or camp or activity.

We have travelled extensively in developing countries and this was the most stress free trip we have ever taken. It was pleasant, relaxing, and simply wonderful.

Though masks are not often used in Botswana, we never felt threatened by COVID. During our entire trip, we were almost never indoors with other people. During the one exception, our flights, the pilots wore masks and we were instructed do the same. Game drives were in open vehicles and all meals were served outdoors with the option of being nowhere near other diners.

We are confident that our risk was less on the trip than it would have been had we stayed home.

After a couple of days, we just stopped thinking about it."

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2022
"Our stay here was wonderful.

The lodge is easy walking distance from the Zimbabwe side of Victoria Falls. The room was comfortable, luxurious, and well equipped.

There were often interesting animals to see on the property. The restaurant had excellent food, service, and wine.

The staff was consistently pleasant and helpful."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

30 Apr 2022 • All-day excursion

The staff was very nice and the sunset was beautiful.

We were nowhere near the falls and there wasn't a lot of wildlife.
Rhino Walk

Rhino Walk

"Rhino Walk review"

1 May 2022 • Morning excursion

This 2 or so hour walk was enjoyable. Most of our other experiences were on a vehicle and it was great to walk through the bush.

We saw mostly birds initially but later saw elephants and rhino. Being close to the white Rhino was a wonderful highlight. Our very knowledgable guide pointed out plants and different animal droppings.

After the walk we went on a brief game drive and saw elephant, impala, zebras.
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Chobe Princesses review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2022
"This was a relaxing and pleasant experience. Being on the houseboat was a nice alternative to the "African massage" we experienced at other times on our trip.

The room was comfortable and well equipped. The crew was helpful, knowledgable, and kind. We were surprised at how wonderful the food was with excellent service.

Most of the game viewing was excellent though sometimes the animals were somewhat far from the smaller boats. Birding was a highlight."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Khwai Leadwood

"Khwai Leadwood review"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2022
"This was a true highlight of our Botswana trip. One of my goals for the trip was to get great photos and our guide, Banda, a serous and accomplished photographer, was always trying to position us to get some great pics.

We saw many lions, often very close, including a mother and cub, lots of birds, including taking the time to catch some in flight, many other animals. A lens hood fell out of the vehicle, and when I realized it some time later, Banda went out after dinner driving perhaps 40 minutes to retrieve it.

The facilities were beyond excellent and the staff consistently helpful and pleasant. A young hippo often spent evenings right outside our chalet.

At times, I felt they were preparing too many courses and options for the meals so they weren't always consistently of the quality we experienced at other camps where we had fewer choices."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2022
"This area of Botswana is very interesting a contrast to the more densely wooded areas to the north. The pans are awesome to see. The camp was close to perfect. Our chalet had everything we needed. There were just 2 small light bulbs, since they are off the grid. Bringing a head lamp will be helpful.

The staff was excellent, friendly, helpful, the food wonderful. We had dinner with some of the staff and guides and were able to chat with them over our meals, something we didn't experience elsewhere on our trip. Our guide was somewhat new on the job and appeared unsure at times but overall she was excellent.

There were quite a few mosquitos during our stay early in the dry season but with repellant we were able to avoid bites effectively. We could not stop smiling during our visit to the meerkats who climbed on our heads! Other wildlife was quite plentiful including large herds of wildebeest and zebras, an aardwolf, honey badger, many birds."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2022
"Rooms, service, grounds were great. Staff was kind and helpful."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team