This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari
Camp Kalahari

Reviews of Camp Kalahari

Wildlife sightings and reviews

43 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kalahari and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kalahari.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Meerkat

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

83% success

Oryx

50% success

Aardvark

17% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 43
Duration
Arrival date
Lovers of Africa
UK

"Excellent start to our safari"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2016
"We loved this camp and found the staff all very friendly, efficient, caring and knowledgeable. Ossy, our young guide, was excellent and we learnt a great deal from him about the animals and birds in the area. Highlights included seeing brown hyena, walking with the meerkats and visiting the National Park, where we saw part of the second largest migration of zebra and wildebeest, and a lioness with her cub and a freshly killed zebra. Particularly magical was sitting far out into the salt pan watching the sunset, before returning to Ossy and our vehicle, where he told his about the evolution of the delta and the pan. We also enjoyed the opportunity to meet the bushmen, and to learn something about their traditional way of life

Food was excellent, service was impeccable and we enjoyed the singing and dancing of the staff, in which we participated enthusiastically if not necessarily proficiently! The rooms were well appointed and comfortable.

We enjoyed the opportunity to see some animals with which we were not familiar, e.g. springhares, porcupine and to start our extensive list of bird sightings. The night drives with the spotlight showed us that nocturnal animals were plentiful in this area" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Harvest

"Just what I wanted"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2016
"I did several habituated Meerkat Mobs, some night viewing, and brown Hyena cubs." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"I was a little concerned about the quad biking. Why would I want to quad bike I asked myself? My fears were completely unfounded. It is the only way to get into the centre of the salt pans. Without this you wouldn't for example see the pans themselves or have the opportunity to look for arrowheads used by ancient man. There are literally dozens of these lying barely covered in the pans. There has been reference to the lack of helmets. Helmets are provided for all guests.
The guide was a specialist zoologist with extraordinary knowledge. Nothing was too much trouble for him to explain. he was simply one of the best guides I have come across anywhere in the world.
Our encounter with bushmen was a fabulous experience. It was all so natural and not a "Disney type" staged outing
The Lodge was very well managed and hosted" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr p
Southend On Sea

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2015
"Visiting the Meerkats was fascinating, all that I had hoped for.

Visiting the group of Bushmen was just an ok experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs L & Mr H
USA

"Like coming home - 2nd visit for us"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2015
"Love this camp. The new tented camps on stilts were awesome. However was the best of all the locations.

All the activities are fun and Bart was a superb guide.

Loved our visits with he meerkats again and Bart's knowledge of the area." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Arizona

"Meerkats Rule!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"The staff at the camp was great, especially our guide Bones. The food was very good. Enjoyed the ATV quad ride and Bones made an effort to heighten the experience with our "flying on the Pans." We especially enjoyed the Meerkats which were a wonderful experience.

While we had been warned in advance about the "surprise" night on the Pans by Expert Africa, I still think the camp should tell people in advance. I wear contact lenses and because there was no advisement on which night this surprise would occur, I could not plan. Same holds true as I, and others we were traveling with, take medication and we had no time to prepare to take it with us. For us these reasons and the cold, we opted not to participate. For others who don't have these issues, I think it would be a great experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Family K
London

"Camp Kalahari - at your own risk"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"We spent two nights at Camp Kalahari as part of a self drive holiday. We were met at Plant Baobab and driven to camp. Initially everything was fine.

The camp itself is spacious, with reasonably well equipped family tents and a nicely laid out central area where everyone eats together. The location is fabulous, some distance from the main road or any other habitation. The surrounding area has a varied desert landscape, vegetation and wildlife, creating plenty of opportunities for interesting and informative walks or drives.

The daily format is simple, groups of up to eight or nine per vehicle with a guide undertake activities together. We asked about the itinerary on arrival and were pleased enough to be told that we would do a few drives and go-karting on the second day. Before the karting our enquiry about crash helmets was deflected with a request to bring a cloth to wrap around our heads to help keep our hair clean! Safety goggles to keep the dust out of our eyes? No luck there either. If we wanted to go karting it was clearly at our own risk.

We were given a time to meet, but left 30 minutes late. The guide stopped repeatedly, dismissed requests to get us to the karts and we eventually started karting an hour late. No big deal except that it was now clear that we would be driving at night and return later than originally understood. We arrived at the end of the karting route with about a minute to prepare to watch the sun go down. We then spent 30 minutes contemplating the vastness of the desert - great except that it was cold. On the way back we stopped to visit an "archaeological team" - which was actually the bar from camp reconstructed in the desert. After another round of misleading information we found that we were eating in the open. Also great if its summer but we had gone karting with the expectation that we would be back at camp to prepare for dinner, change, sort out warmer clothing etc, not spend the evening in the cold. Then yet another round of misinformation about 'fossil beds' which as a geologist I was intrigued by, apart from the fact that it was dark, which turned out to be a set of beds constructed in the open with the expectation what we would sleep out overnight. This 'surprise' was welcomed by some but not all. Even though this appears to be a routine, the camp staff did not have a simple process to make clear this offer was a choice and to help confirm who wanted to do what and then get other people back to camp. More time in the cold. Two of us returned arriving at camp about 2 hours after our holiday bed time. Again, not an issue for some but we were travelling the next day and a good nights sleep would have helped.

It is clear that some people enjoy the 'surprise' element of camping at Kalahari. Personally I do not go on holiday to be lied to, to be misled, and ultimately to be left in a situation that might endanger life. One of our family who stayed overnight has a nut allergy. The camp was aware of this, but at breakfast the team in the desert could not confirm whether or not the food contained nuts.

The last morning demonstrated the limitations of the managements capabilities. We had discussed and confirmed a departure time, twice. On our return to the camp we were then told that the vehicle that was taking us to Planet Baobab had no fuel and so had gone to Jack's camp to refuel. This camp had a year's notice of our booking and had driven us around for two days in a vehicle that had 1/4 of a tank before realising that they could not perform the contract. We left over an hour later than intially agreed. We arrived too late to do anything at our next stop. Lucky we were not catching a plane that day.

Overall, great location, interesting place but one of the worst experiences I have had on holiday." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms P & Ms G
Antigua

"The meerkats are always wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2013
"I had been to Jack's Camp before and absolutely loved it. Our budget meant we had to choose this less expensive option. It was truly wonderful, and had pretty much everything you would get at Jack's except the museum. We had a great time, our guide was NDabona and he was lovely. We wanted the meerkats twice, and so did the other people there at the time, so we went twice. :) Zack was the manager, and was great as well, again, all the staff were friendly, very helpful and we couldn't have asked for better.

I love the Makgadikgadi and would go back every year if I could afford it. The Uncharted Africa people always capture some kind of magic with their camps. I wish I could afford to go on one of their mobile camps!" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LS
Hampshire

"Rustic and Peaceful"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2013
"First stop on our journey proved to proved to provide the most unique experience, the photo-op of an Aardvark at 1566, just minutes after arrival. The beginning of an exciting, mixed wildlife adventure guided by a professional Biologist, Bart.

The eco system is quite unique and fascinating providing a platform for many beautiful birds from the Lilac Breasted Hopper to the Martial Eagle.and mostly smaller mammals. Obviously the Mongoose were a big hit .

The management of Camp was in transition, which was a bit disruptive, however the Chef, Sonya was the best on the trip. Tent was adequate, but extremely cold.The staff were doing the best they could under the circumstances of change.

I would possibly visit again to see this eco system in a different season and sleep on the pans.

" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs M
Lincolnshire

"Amazing experience at Camp Kalahari"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2013
"This has been my first visit to Botswana.

I have always dreamt about going since I started reading the books by Alexander McCall Smith - The No.1 Ladies' detective agency. I was interested in knowing more about the country and was looking forward to seeing different areas. The Makgadikgadi Pans in the Kalahari was one of them. Both my husband and I have truly enjoyed our stay at Camp Kalahari. Apart from seeing various wild animals (wildebeests, ostriches, brown hyenas, jackals, etc. - and for a few minutes we missed the famous Aardvack which had been spotted by a couple of guests who were travelling on another car - when we arrived on the spot the Aardvack had gone back into its burrow) and many interesting birds (amongst which the lilac breasted rollers, secretarybirds, condors, etc.) we had an amazing time watching the meerkats and following them while they went looking for food.

We also had lots of fan driving the quad bikes over the salt pans and loved the walk with the bush men. We have seen lots of interesting plants and trees and have been impressed with the size of the Chapman's baobab (the third largest tree in Africa). Our guide, Fanwell, was very nice and extremely knowledgeable. He was able to answer all our questions and give us a lot of interesting details about the flora and the fauna of the area. Every staff member was very kind and helpful. The food was very good and there was plenty of it which applied to the drinks as well.

All the tents at the camp had been replaced a few weeks before. Our was very comfortable and clean. We did not mind at all the fact that the camp doesn't have electric lights (illumination is provided by lamps and there are torches available if needed). This helped to make the all experience more realistic. We could still re-charge our camera batteries thanks to a charging station which is connected to solar panels.

We also liked eating at one big table with the guides, the managers and the other guests as we had the chance to get to know many nice and interesting people and we enjoyed our conversations around the fire before going to bed. Last but not least Fanwell and the rest of the team organised a few amazing surprises for us and the rest of the guests. I believe that none of us will never forget our stay at Camp Kalahari!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 43
93%
43 reviews of Camp Kalahari by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kalahari's Salt Pans

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

Offering good summer game viewing and visits to Baines Baobabs, the comfortable Nxai Pan Camp is currently the only permanent camp in Nxai Pan National Park.


91% (30 reviews)
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp was the original camp in the Makgadikgadi area, and many still consider it the best. Come for a unique and memorable experience, but not for prolific game viewing.


90% (21 reviews)
San Camp

San Camp

The simple but stylish San Camp lies in a stunning location beside the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, where highlights are quadbiking, meerkats, and Bushmen walks.


97% (14 reviews)
Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena

Meno A Kwena Tented Camp is an old-style safari camp, run by an experienced Botswana expert. Overlooking the bed of the Boteti River, it's a great place to relax and watch wildlife at the camp's waterhole.


85% (13 reviews)
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

From the western bank of the Boteti River, Leroo La Tau overlooks the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, where game concentrations are highest from July to October.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa