This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr W from Altrincham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

A good trip with a few adventures

Kenya between 10 Oct 2018 and 21 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Good animal sightings. Good guides working hard to keep us happy.

Rwanda was a nice surprise. Kenya was wonderful.

Saw little of Uganda but we liked what we saw.

Made new friends and enjoyed the contacts with the local people. Most of them were welcoming, happy and very friendly. Then again we found this in most African countries we visited."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"Quiet place. Very friendly and welcoming.

The guides made an effort to show us all the attractions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"One of the best camps we have ever stayed in.

Saw more then we expected - including a pride of lions killing warthogs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Short stay.Ok - but no more then that."

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2018
"Short stay.

Had to ask for a good room - as the one initially allocated was on the ground floor."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Uganda Gorilla Trek

"An great experience but an exhausting one."

19 Oct 2018 • Morning excursion

The experience itself is difficult to describe. Certainly worth the effort and one that we will not forget.

We felt the connection with the animals and returned with ca 350 photos. Most of them are excellent.

The trek itself is exhausting as you have to go down a very steep and slippery slope - covered with dense vegetation. Most of the time we needed the help of porters to get to the gorillas. It would have been much better if the porters - rather then holding onto us as we went down - secured a few strong ropes onto the trees.

This way the descent would have been quicker and much easier for all concerned.
Excellent
Image alt

Uganda Gorilla Trek

"An great experience but an exhausting one."

20 Oct 2018 • Morning excursion

See previous page. In the end we only did one trip to see the gorillas
Excellent

Holiday of a lifetime

Botswana and 1 other country between 24 Jun 2017 and 13 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent trip.Probably one of the best holidays you can imagine. Beautiful, safe country with well educated pleasant people.
You want to go return."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"Maintaining standards over the years.Something very comforting in this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Home away from home"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"Great hosts and a very nice location. Do go for the boat trip - it's really worth it.
Good place to relax. Not as busy as the other end of Chobe. Great hosts - you feel they really want you to enjoy your stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Feels a bit remote - but nice"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"Only problem was coordination of our pick up at the arrival. Other then that it was very nice. Game viewing - excellent. Guides - very good. Service and attitude of management -excellent. The place feels a bit remote - but that may just be my feeling. All in all a nice place and a vey pleasant stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Great place - one of my favorites "

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"Beautiful place. One of the nices lodges in Africa that I know.
Location, service , attitude , game viewing, rooms, food - all was first class."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okuti

Okuti

"Nice camp - average service"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2017
"Nice camp, good location - service not as good as in other lodges.
Game viewing and location - very good. Organization, attention to detail, attitude of staff - average at best.
I had a feeling the management of this lodge is more preoccupied with the comfort of the staff then with the guests.
Wasted one day on a trip to a location high the guide did not know. Saw one dead giraffe and got one juvenile elephant pi....d off one the way back.
Next day's was very good - even excellent.
Guide then followed us evening/morning to ensure we tipped him( would have done so anyway)
Got half a breakfast on the second day- then staff took away the plates and disappeared"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"A wonderful surprise "

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Great place. Wonderful people. Nice camp. Every drive/ outing - a unique experience.
One only glitch - my wife and another guest who was with us got food poisoning on the last day"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team