This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S & Mr K from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Finaliy-Wild Dogs!

Zambia and 2 other countries between 19 May 2017 and 4 Jun 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"On this trip I traveled with one other person to Botswana, Livingstone, South Luangwa and Malawi from May 17-June 4,2017.
Everything went smoothly-no delays or cancellations.

Highlights: New sightings that included: meerkats, brown hyena, porcupines, genet cat and wild dogs.

This was our third trip to Africa and first to South Luangwa and Malawi. Loved Malawi. It is a beautiful country with beautiful, happy people altho quite poor. The highlights here were the village walk and beautiful relaxing stay at Pumalani. Also loved the staff and surroundings at Mkulumadzi.

Was somewhat disappointed in the lack of wildlife at South Luangwa since we had read about the abundance of wildlife. Also -didn't realize there were no cheetahs(my favorite). However seeing the pack of wild dogs made up for everything.
Botswana-seems to be getting more and more expensive so will probably be my last trip there."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

"Amazing staff at Jack's Camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"We had a wonderful stay at Jack's primarily because the staff is so much fun and down to earth. The camp manager Shelia was wonderful in every way and spent a lot of time with us.

The only disappointment was not being able to spend more time with the meerkats which was our main priority. We were able to spend one afternoon with them and our guide had arranged for us to see them on our last morning. However we had a early flight out and were unable to go. Wished there had been more flexibility regarding activities but know that is difficult when other guests are involved.

Ogel and Godwin(guide) were also great and we laughed the whole time we were there. Would love to return someday just to be with the staff and meerkats. Also missed quad bikes because it was too wet."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Beautiful setting at Selinda"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2017
"Selinda is a beautiful camp in a beautiful setting. The surprise outdoor dinner was amazing!

Although we didn't see a lot of wildlife, we were able to spend time with a pride of lions which was wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"Great food and staff"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2017
"Because of a late flight in and early flight out we were only here a total of 12 hours. However we were able to see the Falls and have a wonderful dinner.

Hazel and all staff were very accommodating and hope to return for a longer visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Lovely Setting"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2017
"We were so lucky to have Jason(our guide) during our stay. He has been a guide for over 30 years and is so enthusiastic and informative that you want to be with him all the time.

Ruth the camp manager is also lovely and very accommodating.

Fun to be able to eat all meals outside by the river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Finally Wild Dogs at Nkwali"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2017
"Highlight-seeing a pack of wild dogs-thank you Kiki for your patience and making our trip so memorable!

Beautiful camp and setting. Highly recommend -it will not disappoint."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Great staff and service"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2017
"What makes a place special to us is the staff and camaraderie with other guests. We had both at Mkulumadzi.

The rooms were huge and setting overlooking the river was gorgeous. Loved the sundowner boat ride.

Dave you're the best!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Fantastic rooms and food"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2017
"Had a very relaxing stay which is what we were looking for at the end of our trip. Activities are very flexible and it was nice to sleep in. The food was the best of our trip and great variety-you had two choices for every meal. Only disappointed that we did not have fish during the 3 days.

Highlight was visiting Loyce's orphanage and meeting her 22 children. She also works at Pumulani.

The rooms were huge and the views spectacular. Highly recommend for an end of a trip stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My May 2015 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 25 May 2015 and 10 Jun 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip of a lifetime

Loved all the camps in different ways but preferred the Kawando Group because it is locally owned and the staff seemed more genuine and accommodating. Just a different and more relaxed atmosphere than the corporate owned.

Flying from camp to camp was so relaxing unlike our previous trip to Tanzania where we were on bumpy roads most of the day

Everything went so smoothly with no delays and the camps were even more impressive than we ever imagined

It was simply the best in every way

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not one thing and I will recommend you to all my friends."

City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2015
"Very comfortable room and nice surroundings. Free wifi. Very helpful and competent staff.

Somewhat of a long hike after a very long flight..

Great price and would definitely stay here again"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2015
"Would have rated Tau Pan excellent in every aspect except for room location. We were in the farthest location from the main lodge and the sand was very deep. Because we are a mature couple, that should have been taken into consideration. Upon arrival a fellow traveler (late 30's) was placed in Room 1
The food, staff, guide and tracker and rooms were excellent.

Highlights: Stargazing, bushwalks, expansive deck, bat eared foxes and lion cubs"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

"Baines' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2015
"Pretty setting and although the ride from the airstrip is quite long, it's a great experience with deep water and animal sightings.

Enjoyed the elephant encounter but could be shorter (some of the history was repeated) and a little over the top in the "performance " area. We were in a very large group which added to the time.

Highlights: Guides (Professor Ice and Fred), Singers/Entertainment, Genet sighting, free wifi, Dion(manager)

Lows: very small beds, isolated from rest of group on our first night and ate alone. Seems to cater more to honeymooners."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2015
"The setting and rooms were the prettiest of all our camps but only two days are needed because of limited activities.

Highlights: TH(guide) was fantastic in every way! Mokoro and sundowners was magical. Great birding. Close encounter with elephant at our deck. Paul was new (only two weeks) but very accommodating and had great stories regarding his previous life experiences.

Only low was that the food was less fresh than at other camps"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2015
"Our favorite camp!

Highlights: Close encounter animal sightings everywhere, Managers Jessica and Hilda were fantastic, Food was excellent.
OP(guide)and Mike(tracker)were very knowledgeable and entertaining,
Every imaginable animal sound during the night
Antelopes, elephant,,wart hogs and baboons grazing at our deck.
Female cheetah with four cubs and feeding off of impala
Leopard on ground and sleeping in tree
Two lion brothers
Owls on night drives
Great boat cruise and Mike made hats and necklaces out of lily pads
Wonderful food"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2015
"Huge and beautiful rooms
Excellent Food
Favorite guide: Sugar
Phone service
Lions mating twice in five minutes, wild cat and cerval night sighting, herd of elephants at water hole during sundowners, great evening boat cruise with hippos, crocodiles, and birds.

Spent hours tracking wild dogs to no avail
Game drives were a little long due to the expansive area but overall a fantastic camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team