This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp
Tubu Tree Camp

Reviews of Tubu Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tubu Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
N&A
Cincinnati

"Great Okavango Delta Safari at Tubu Tree Camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2014
"Tubu Tree Camp more than met our expectations, and their daily activity format aligned nicely with our "biorhythms." The Boma evening was one of the highlights, and we found the staff to be genuinely pleasant and interested in our health and well being.

I was pleasantly surprised that the combination of "Ranger" and "Tracker" in one individual (in our case, Cruise) worked so well, although I would have preferred a bit more of an inclination to go "off road" than was exhibited. Tubu Tree Camp's policy of going off road for only "high profile" animals (i.e., "Big Five") was a bit of a surprise. That said, we were very pleased with the animals we did see (to include a broad spectrum of birds), and, most importantly, Cruise's expert knowledge about all flora and fauna." See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"only one night but very pleasant"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"only one night but very enjoyable, although food at boma (local) not cooked properly" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Wales

"Tubu Tree Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"Unfortunately we did not get to experience Tubu Tree this time due to a change in itinerary caused by my husband's injury." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

PG Wales
UK

"Tubo Tree review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2014
"Fantastic welcoming staff and guides always met on return from drives with hot /cold towels etc. Well run camp and excellent game viewing.

herds of elephants in fron of camp and lions sleeping on the air strip! Wonderful location and a good range of water based activities.

The camp choir was really good and the evening meal in the bush was a lovely surprise." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H
USA

"Enchanting Tubu Tree"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2014
"Tubu Tree Camp was enchanting. The setting was absolutely stunning, the accommodations/decor were stellar, the service surpassed every top hotel I have ever visited anywhere, and the overall ambience was magical.

Our tracker, Joe, was knowledgeable beyond anything we could have imagined and, with a quiet dignity, allowed us a glimpse of his world in the bush, teaching us at every opportunity.

Highlights regarding the animals were a most amorous imposing master bull elephant in a musk driven state, 2 regal male lions, a large herd of giraffe, getting to see massive buffalo up close, and spotting a 5 ft. black mambo on the runway.

The staff and managers made a huge effort to make sure we were comfortable and felt at home. We loved the choir, tea at the water's edge, the most majestic baobab tree I have ever seen, and drinks in the evening under the stars!

On a practical level, the Land Rovers were extremely comfortable and Joe had full command of the vehicle. My husband has had back surgery and was concerned about hours spent driving over rough roads. While we had issues at another camp, we did not at Tubu Tree.


" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Tuba Tree Camp a MUST if you can."

3 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2014
"The trouble with our holiday is that we chose the best camps to stay in and while they were all different they were all 5 star.

We loved every day and were treated like Royals.

Mind you Tuba Tree camp is the most fantastic lodge arrangement and truly superior" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family M
California

"Phenyo, our guide, gave us the moon"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"The camp setting among the marula trees is wonderful. Family tent, recently added, is outstanding. Although the wildlife was slightly quieter compared to the two other camps, it was totally compensated by the skills and kindness of our guide, Phenyo. Given that it was our third camp and we had been fortunate to see a lot of animals at the first two camps, we agreed with him to focus on quality rather than quantity of sightings. We were not disappointed. Phenyo was able to find a leopard by "collaborating" with a couple of giraffes who seemed to stare at something...well that was a female leopard on a tree.

The only minor improvement would be to be able to get cold water in the shower during the day given that it was very hot. We could only get cold water early morning and in the evening." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms T
Middlesex

"Good camp but few animals"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"The camp and staff at Tubu Tree are great. They made a real effort for our honeymoon (and were the only camp to have taken this information into account before we arrived - even though we told the other camps). They gave us the gorgeous honeymoon suite complete with 'hidden bedded terrace' and his and hers outside showers and turning our room into a 'candlelit' retreat after dinner on our first night. This was very special. The atmosphere at the camp is intimate and relaxed and the staff very friendly. We would like to give the waitress Juliette a special mention.

The main reason why we are only giving this camp a rating of 'average' is because of the lack of game. There is not a lot the camp can do about this and it may be worse this year due to the lack of water. However, our guide was not very good at handling this with us. Actually because we had seen so much at the other camps we were not too bothered and told him this when he picked us up from the airport. We indicated strongly that we had heard that there were hyena pups and that we really wanted to see them with their parents. For the first 2 drives we were with 4 other people and so we were happy to go along with what they wanted and indeed on the first night we got to see 1 hyena pup briefly.

However, on the second day, when we were lucky enough to be on our own with the guide and he was generous to give us extra time (as our morning drive had been cut short because of flights) he did not really give us options of what we could do e.g. we could have gone boating or done birding but he seemed hell bent on tracking down leopard (even though we weren't really that bothered). We ended up going on a fruitless search for an elusive leopard and coming back so late that we missed seeing the pups. The following morning the pups were not out of their den.

The highlights of Tubu Tree were the hyena pup, the resident fruit bats and the honeymoon suite.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr Z & Ms D
Vancouver

"great"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Illlinois

"The Leopard sightings were Awesome"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"Tuba Tree is famed as amongst safari goers as the best place in the Okavango Delta for leopard sighting, and I can't say that I was at all disappointed. I've never spent so long with a leopard as on my drive after I arrived at Tuba tree. it was on another game drive that I saw two leopards. There was plenty of wildlife around the camp including elephants, greater kudu, red lechwe. bushbuck, and hyenas that tried to join us at dinner table!!! The birding was also superb both on game drives and seen from the camp.

The new tents are spacious and comfortable. There are both outdoor and indoor showers. One can see a lot of wildlife from the deck of his tent. They are equipped with ceiling fans with prevent the tents from getting overly hot during the daytime.

The camp's location is superb as you truly feel surrounded by the Delta. One hears plenty of wildlife at night. You truly feel like you're in the bush.

I have to say that the food was superb at every meal. I would call it nothing less than gourmet in quality. The chef prepared a quiche with chili peppers that was the best quiche I've ever eaten. One is feed no less than seven times a day including the snacks on game drives.

Tuba Tree offers an excellent mixture of land and water activities. I enjoyed the mokoro trip, as well as the speedboat ride in the Delta. I saw plenty of aquatic birds on both trips.

I have to mention that my guide Seretse was superb. He had tremendous enthusiasm for his job, knowledge and was able to explain the ecosystem of the Delta brilliantly.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 37
98%
37 reviews of Tubu Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa