This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Queensland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2013 trip

Botswana between 25 Nov 2013 and 7 Dec 2013

Trip rating: Good
"Generally satisfactory. Some game drives were interrupted by rain, but that was to be expected. As previously noted I feel that Kwando is losing its competitive edge, despite having such top concessions. Perhaps the present rotation of camp managers will wake some up. Charles to Little Kwara should get that camp up to where it belongs"

Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2013
"Game viewing was generally good , and the level of guiding and tracking was satisfactory but I was disappointed that my request for room 1 was ignored, as was the case last year. In both years that room was allocated to 1st time visitors. My wife and I have now spent a total of 60 nights in Kwando camps, but our loyalty is not reciprocated. In this case I believe that the problem lies at camp manager level"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2013
"Outstanding guiding and tracking by Spencer and Aaron who were far in front of others I had for sheer professionalism Excellent wild dog sighting. A happy camp well managed by Duff. A staff concert one evening was a highlight"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2013
"Once again my modest requests for a particular tent and guide were not met, but Charles did come up with an explanation regarding the tent mix up which was acceptable. Moeti was present and available, but apparently my request for his services did not reach the camp.If we revisit Botswana it will probably not be with Kwando as I have found W/S to be much more responsive to the requests of return guests

Some excellent lion and wild dog sightings"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"Nxai Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2013
"Game viewing was very patchy as the rains had only arrived at the time I did. I took a gamble and it misfired. Nevertheless an interesting and enjoyable change of environment. A well appointed and well run camp with very attentive staff under the management of Bonnie and Clyde !!!!!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Nov.2012 trip feedback

Botswana between 19 Nov 2012 and 5 Dec 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thoroughly enjoyable, if tiring.

This trip was planned some 18 months ago and was programmed for May 2012, but medical problems arose and it had to be deferred to Nov. Throughout this process we were encouraged by the patience and consideration of Nick who is a great ambassador for your organization

The bulk of the time was spent in Kwando camps, with whom we have stayed before. They have a quality product, but it is not a good look when their guides have to borrow guests binoculars/reference books to identify a particular bird.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

As long as your staff show the same consideration as Nick when problems arise your customer service satisfaction levels should be high."

Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"overnight stay at Royal Tree Lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"Friendly and hospitable staff provided a very good service.

Two very minor issues

1.We arrived after 4pm (courtesy of Air Botswana) and our tent was sealed up and stiflingly hot. I would have thought there would be no problem in airing the tent on the departure of the pick up transport.to the airport.

2. We had to pay our bar bill in U.S.dollars as they were unable to process a credit card, I did'nt ask what happens if you do not carry dollars."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2012
"We generally had a good time here with good game sightings and service. Our guide was due for leave and it showed, but as I have provided Kwando with feedback will not pursue that issue here

. All radio conversations between the 2 Kwara camps guides were in Setswana, which I understand is contrary to company policy, and some guides speed unnecessarily ( e.g to view resting cheetahs and for lunch} to the extent that one of our car companions complained.. Hobbs and probably other guides were not involved in this, but some guide retraining/supervision is needed at the Kwara camps. In hindsight I should have raised this issue with Lizzie but did not.

Lizzie and her staff ( particularly Cassie) provided a welcoming and happy camp environment, and we had an excellent tracker in Kenny

This was the only camp which did nor provide the specific tent which we had requested, but tent 4 was perfectly satisfactory so we did not raise the issue. You should be interested, however, in the fact that our vehicle companions, a couple from the U.S who had been married for 30 odd years, and had only booked in August, were allocated the honeymoon tent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2012
"We arrived a few hours before the first summer storm, and lost a few hours game viewing but we had expected that. Game viewiing slightly disappointing, but that's the luck of the draw.

This must now be the Kwando flagship with outstanding accommodation and an extremely high level of hospitality under the highly effecient and personable Thuso'

Sugar was a cheerful and competent guide, and P.D an excellent tracker"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2012
"We were the only guests for the first 2 nights, so could arrange the timetable to suit ourselves in consultation with a/manager Mapilo. Had some amazing sightings. including four female lions , after unsuccessfully hunting warthog, ambushing and starting to suffocate a baby hippo, but thwarted by the arrival of 2 adult hippos who chased off the lions and nudged the very sick baby into the lagoon.

We also tracked a large male leopard to where he was resting with a freshly killed warthog and saw the amazing strength of him in carrying his kill up a tree. We returned the next day to find six lions on the scent of the kill, but it was well out of reach.

Our good game viewing was almost entirely due to the excellent tracking skills of Moeti (Mr Mo) who was truly outstanding"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Review of Ichobezi Mukwae"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2012
"A nice and relaxing change of pace with comfortable accommodation and excellent hosting. Was so nice to tie up at night at a remote spot and watch elephant, kudu, impala, etc. come down to drink a few yards away. For the last night we had the boat to ourselves. The manager, Given, and our guide Raymond were very good but the star of the show was the chef Eustace who produced beautifully presented and prepared meals.

The only area in need of improvement is the provision of some form of insect screening in the dining area in the evening. There are a number of inexpensive options on the market"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau Pan Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2012
"We arrived as the summer storms set in, and witnessed some spectacular sound and light shows. Saw a solitary collared wild dog contact calling, and also a pack of 8 near the camp. Also saw a previously unsighted group of 1 sub-adult and 2 female lions near Pukwe Pan. Excellent tracking by Voter

Onty (plus OB) and the tireless Ras. worked hard under dIffiicult weather conditions to keep guests happy. Beautiful staff singing before dinner enhanced the experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Best ever. Showed the benefits of research

Botswana between 22 May 2010 and 4 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Almost flawless.

We had selected our camps with care, and were very pleased with the outcome. This was our 4th trip to Botswana, and we are quite particular in our requirements. Our comments are a realistic appraisal of our experience, and are not gushy or over the top.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really, everything went so well. All connections/arrangements went like clockwork.

One minor point would be that the request of Lucy that we be housed in tents away from noisy areas did not reach any of the camp managers.
As it turned out we had no problems in this regard,"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"Ideal place to recover from a long flight"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2010
"Safari camp accommodation without the associated high costs. Is in a fenced game farm with non threatening species such as eland, giraffe, zebra, impala , roaming freely. Can walk with safety and get the kinks out of the system.

For us it was an ideal spot to rest up and prepare for the real safaris"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Great accommodation , service, and guiding"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2010
"Accommodation, hospitality, service and friendliness of all staff was excellent. We had a very good guide in Dutch and enjoyed all the activities.

There had recently been rain, and the area was relatively lush with knee high grass. Sightings included oryx, springbok. honey badger, giraffe, bat eared fox and other more common species. Other guests sighted 4 lions on Tau Pan , but we were some distance away and it was too dark by the time we got back"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

"Great accommodation and best game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2010
"Excellent accommodation, service and hospitality. Initially we and our car mates were unhappy with our guide who appeared uncommunicative and opinionated. After a word with Warren, the manager, the situation improved significantly.

This guide is highly regarded by management and by previous guests judging by comments in the visitors book, so we obviously struck him on an off day.

Game viewing was excellent, and included wild dog, cheetah, leopard and a small herd of sable"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

"Small camp with very hospitable staff"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2010
"Large areas of Hundu island were inundated by the flood and this impacted on our game viewing. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay here. Kambango was an excellent guide, and managers Justin and Jackie and all camp staff were very welcoming and hospitable.

Saw a good selection of plains game and a nice sighting of 2 male bushbuck.

Wake up time here was 6am, which seemed to be more sensible that the 5.30 time at the other 2 WS camps, where game drives commenced well before sunrise. Not a complaint, merely an observation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Great accommodation, service and game viewing"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2010
"All round excellence. Cannot see how things could be realistically improved. Great accommodation, pro active management and staff and great guiding by Anthony

Significant sightings included lions on a warthog kill, a very photogenic leopard, a large pack of wild dogs, and hyena pups playing outside their den"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team