This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs CP from Henley

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Great visit to Botswana

Botswana and 1 other country between 2 May 2015 and 17 May 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a great trip, with many good points and highlights.

We loved the Kalahari - the size, space, remoteness and sense of peace, and were very impressed at the amount game there - big herds of springbok and oryx. The Delta was special - the sense of peace, and the colours. The game was great - big herds of elephant, plus giraffe, Kudu, Oryx, Impala. We got very lucky and saw 4 adult leopard and 3 cubs over the course of the trip, plus lion hunting buffalo (unsuccessfully!).

The people are delightful - warm, relaxed and friendly, and of course the quality of guiding is very good."

Arranged By Megan Green


Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

"Very nice camp in a great location."

4 nights Arrived 3 May 2015
"Nice camp in a great location - so peaceful! For the first two nights, we were the only guests in the lodge and we were looked after extremely well.

The staff were very welcoming, helpful, and not intrusive. The location is beautiful - overlooking a large pan. It had rained 3 weeks before we arrived so the area was very green.

We had sightings of large (over 200 animals) herds of springbok and oryx; plus giraffe and Kalahari lion. Sleeping under the stars was good fun, and I'd recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

"Great sighting of leopard"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2015
"Very upmarket camp in a nice location on the edge of the Delta.

Good combination of wet and dry activities. The delta is serene and tranquil. The quality of guiding is very good, and we got superb sightings of a leopard and her cub."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"Leopards and Elephants at Savuti"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2015
"Nice lodge in a good location on the edge of the Savuti channel. The staff are welcoming and friendly.

The camp is in Chobe National Park, so there are more vehicles than on a private concession, so the guide worked hard and skilfully to get us into good positions to see lion, leopard and cubs, elephants and many antelope.

Good sightings of elephant at the water hole in front of the camp. Great sightings of large herds of elephants drinking and bathing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

"Great location"

3 nights Arrived 13 May 2015
"Nice lodge in a great position right on the banks of the Zambezi. The rooms are big and spacious, and nice to have our own space for sunbathing.

Very interesting walk to see the 2,000 year old Baobab tree, through several local villages."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Activities
Good

My Sep 2012 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 30 Sep 2012 and 13 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall - a great trip. Highlights for us were the country and the animials. It was great to be back in Africa and the bush!

We loved the size, space and sheer amount of unspoilt and pristine wilderness in Botswana. The sightings of animals were very good and we got physically closer to the animals (about 10 feet away) in Botswana than on previous trips to Namibia and Tanzania. It was a pleasant surprise to see so much water (we were around the Delta area) in the dry season.

Sightings included 4 packs of wild dog - 2 at Little Kwara, where we saw 1 pack hunt and kill 2 impala. 2 other packs at Lebala including a sighting on foot - amazing. Also 2 unsuccessful attempts to hunt impala - the dogs chased the impala into the lake! Other hightlights were seeing large herd of elephant (30 - 40) at Lagoon and Lebala), cheetah (2 sets of 3 brothers at Little Kwara and Lagoon) and leopard (1 female at Lagoon and 1 female at Lebala). Lions at Little Kwara and Lagoon. Plus a lot of antelope, including sable, impala, birds, bufalo and wildebeest.

The animals were well fed (end of the dry season) and relaxed. The guides all gave the animals space and respect, which gave us great sightings without disturbing the animals. Having been on safari in other countries where the guides give the animals less space and respect, we appreciated the African style of guiding more on this trip."

Arranged By Megan Green


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2012
"A luxurious camp in a beautiful setting. Tents are very luxurious. Good sighting of 2 herds of 30 -40 elephants.

Service a little less personal than little Kwara."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team