This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains
Vumbura Plains

Reviews of Vumbura Plains

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vumbura Plains and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vumbura Plains.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
The Y family
Surrey

"Vumbura Main Camp."

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2012
"Again a very good visit. In comparison with Chitabi we missed some of the informailty. The staff were very pleasant and helpful but we missed the informailty of all guests and staff eating together.

Guides were excellent, knowledgeable and went out of their to make the visit a great success. We were particularly impressed with all the guides knowledge.

We took a half day trip on a boat in the Delta. This was a little disappointing" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss RK
USA

"Excellent Safari at Vumbura Plains"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"Vumbura Plains North is an excellent camp.

There are two Vumbura's North and South and the North side has a more modern main area and is a bit larger and certainly my preference. Vumbura's landscape is very enjoyable. If this is your first safari, the terrain can be quite different from area to area. Vumbura had a great open plains feel while also having other areas that look completely different which gives a great diversity of plant & bird life. We saw all the Big 5 except the Rhino which is no longer in this area, hippos, a few small crocs, zebras, giraffes, wildebeest's, mongoose, impala, kudus, red leche, etc and an outstanding assortment of Bird life.

One of the highlights of the trip was tracking a mother and 2 of its lion cubs. After an exciting, search, there they were and we followed them for over an hour as they were on the move right in the open in search of food. Animals were abundant and all different varieties. Another highlight of the trip were the elephants. There were many babies some of which were just born and in the two days we were in the camp, the elephants kept us company including during our candlelight dinners. Sometimes the mother wasn't happy that we were so close to her baby, but she soon realized we were not a threat and went along her business. This area is much greener than the Linyanti area in the time of year that I traveled (first week in Oct) and the safari drives are not as bumpy as some of the other camps.

We also had an opportunity to do a Mokoro. Although there is really no animal presence during this canoe ride, it is a great way to relax from the bumpy drives. My brother also went on a fishing boat do some small recreational fishing but more like relaxing. Because Vumbura is a premier camp, the drives were only the 3 of us on the trip and we were able to have private dinners as well. All of the staff were outstanding , the rooms were very large with a plunge pool and had everything from a hairdryer, all the incidentals such as shampoo, conditioner, bug spray and a fully stocked fridge which was not found in my Classic camp. October was hot but dry and the advantage was the evenings were not cold and there were hardly any bugs. Our guide was excellent and one thing to make note of is to tell your guide everything you are interested in seeing and he will do his best to find the animals for you.

One thing I wish I was a little more prepared on was the ammenities. I brought a few too many extra things and was quite surprised how the rooms all had shampoo, conditioner, bug spray and even outlets to charge your camera equipment. If you are traveling in the hot months, I highly recommend bringing rehydration salts and or a powdered gatorade. I have never had problems with heat before but because I was taking Malaria pills, I was dehydrated for one of the days (malaria pills tend to dehydrate you faster). Luckily I had a rehydration salt and made a quick recovery. Gatorade or Powerades were not available. One other small thing to make note of is that it is customary for all the staff to shake your hand. Certainly not a bad thing but If you are a germaphobe, just carry a small bottle of purell with you at all times. Also, what is great is that all the staff will know your name. Rooms were very large and the decor was beautiful.

This camp exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Okavanga Heaven"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"A wonderful camp with fantastic rooms and amazing views in the heart of the bush. Brilliant management team, guides, staff and hippos that definitely went bump in the night!

We can't praise it enough.

Loved the communal dinners with our fellow guests, guides and managers particularly the one out in the bush where the hyenas were waiting to join us!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Bedford

"Vumbura - outstanding rooms, cuisine & location"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2010
"We arrived at Vumbura after a 10 minute scenic flight which once again showed that the high water levels were still rising higher. The camp was absolutely fantastic with a very unusual but eye catching main deck, bar and dining area. Our room was awesome! Very spacious and extremely comfortable. We were at the end of the walkway and so our views were superb – I've never taken a shower for so long before!! The food and service were excellent with a choice on the dinner menu which was a nice touch.

We did mostly game drives and one Mokoro trip which was brilliant as it was so peaceful and gave us a different perspective of the wildlife we saw on the water's edge. The drives were wet and dry and on some occasions the water level rose above the bonnet of the vehicle. I guess the game viewing was the only slightly disappointing part of the trip ( at both camps) as on many drives we or rather the Guides worked very hard to spot what we did. The water levels obviously had an impact on the game in that area, especially pushing out the big cats and so sometimes it was very quiet indeed but it did not in any way spoil things at all.

We were again looked after very well by Noku (Nick, I think), Kate and the staff. (I appreciated the typical English sense of humour of Noku). On the final morning the flight mode and times changed by the minute as water levels threatened to flood the airstrip. Only when we arrived at the airstrip was there an announcement that it would close and after some time we were then whisked away to Maun by helicopter – as you can imagine, a 35 minute flight at low level over the delta by helicopter was one hell of a way to finish off our holiday." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
H family
London

"Vumbura Plains review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2009
"Beautiful rooms in a lovely location. Excellent service although they did seem to put out too much food!

A bird guide in the library would be a useful addition although our guide was particularly knowledgeable on birds.

A bush dinner was an unexpected and very memorable surprise." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Lund

"Vumbura Plains review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2009
"We hade a excellant bush dinner at night.

But we felt more distant to the personnels, not so warm and engaged.

we had a lovely mokoro ride" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Absolutely amazing"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2009
"This camp was by far the best.

The 'tent' must have been 800 sq.ft each with a huge private outdoor lounge area and plunge pool. Very private with an amazing view of the delta. The camp offers both 4x4 safaris as well as mokoro rides which are lovely.

The staff and guides were all amazing and treated us very well. The camp was also very flexible, allowing for shorter or longer drives, day and night. We were very sad to leave." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Dr A
Delamere

"Vumbura Plains review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2009
"Loved staying here.

The staff - particulalry Gordon, Tanya, Mia and our guide Sevara were amazing. Flawless!!

Rooms are fabulous, food was great, people were lovely" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
V family
Avon

"African luxury at its best"

3 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2009
"We were at vumbura Plains - not little Vumbura - an unbeatable destination in all repects" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
TV & Family
Portugal

"Vumbura Plains review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2008
"Vumbura Plains is a premier camp, and the rooms were certainly very special - we loved having our own private plunge pool, deck and outdoor lounge. Parts of the rooms were beginning to look a little tired, but we understand that the rooms were about to be refitted and decorated, so I'm sure they'll be fabulous once they're done.

This is my 7th trip to Africa to try and see leopard, and on this occasion, my dream finally came true. We had a great sighting of a female leopard and the icing oin the cake was seeing her 6 week old cub too. I would commment that I think they should limit your viewings of the cub to just one visit (we had 2), as we were concerned about compromsing the saftey of the den. We also felt that we almost spent too much time tracking the mother and they should also limit your time with her (this is why I've rated the activities as good rather than excellent).

We also got to see a large pack of wild dogs, and I've never been that close to them before. Seeing them take on a group of banded mongoose and be chased off by them was an experience I'll never forget.

We spent New Year at this camp, and the staff were very good about providing sparkling wine to celebrate the occasion in our rooms and arranged champagne breakfasts for us on New Years Day, which was much appreciated.

My mother also got sick at this camp on her last day, and the staff were marvellous. Both Roger (the camp manager) and Ban (our really lovely guide, who went to endless trouble to ensure I had a good photograph of kingfishers) were so supportive and kind. They arranged for a nursing sister to meet our plane in Maun to ensure that my mother could be checked over and ensure she was fit enough for the long journey back to the UK. I'd very much appreciate it if you could feedback our grateful thanks for their support and help." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 34
96%
34 reviews of Vumbura Plains by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (185 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (88 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (79 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (68 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


94% (39 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (31 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (13 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


93% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (1 review)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa