This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs DR from N London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

Journey of a Lifetime

Namibia and 2 other countries between 17 Jul 2010 and 11 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Incredibly well put together, good advice, everything worked like clockwork and we would definitely use you again and recommend you to friends."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Paradise under a sienna sun!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2010
"What a place to start our African Adventure. The colours and the landscape will be forever etched on our minds. The vastness, variety and colours of the landscape are beyond desccription and every sense and emotion is bombarded. Our Mountain View Suite was amazing with views that defied belief and it was almost impossible to absorb the level of luxury and comfort that surrounded us. All travel weariness had disappeared!

With our own private chef and guide we definitely felt like VIP's. Our guide, Progress, was wonderful and was both passionate and knowledgable and was a pleasure to spend time with.

The food was ok although we would have preferred a few more options and most definitely did not need a 5 course meal on our first night and we did request only 3 courses on our second night. Breakfast and lunch on our private terrace was superb.

We would definitely recommend staying both at Dune Lodge and Boulders Camp as the terrain is quite different and 2 nights was definitely not enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Memories of The Flintstones"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2010
"A 2 hour transfer by Land Rover from Wolwedans across the NamibRand Reserve and the contrast in scenery was unbelievable. From the rust red we then travelled past huge granite boulders and wide open plains. When we arrived at Little Kulala it was like arriving on the surface of the moon. Quite eclectic accommodation but really charming and comfortable with amazing views. Great tour to the sand dunes at Sossusvlei and the Dead Vlei Forest.

Apart from the amazing experience of climbing our first dune and descending almost vertically, a great highlight was the hot air ballooning over the dunescape at sunrise. Another unforgettable experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

"The greatest thing we ever did!"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2010
"This was the absolute highlight of what was an amazing journey. Our guide, Berthus Schoeman, was passionate and intensely knowledgable about his country as well as being an amazing pilot who instilled huge confidence. He also happened to be great at driving the 4x4 down vertical sand dunes and piloting a boat up rapids!

There can be no better way to see Namibia in depth....the landscape, the geology, the shipwrecks and the amazing wildlife all at close quarters and from a perspective it would be impossible to achieve in any other way. We just want to start all over again...we even loved the simplicity of the camps and the bucket showers!

Fantastic staff, food and service in all the camps despite their remoteness.

A huge thankyou to Berthus for this huge experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"WOW"

21 Jul 2010 • Morning excursion

Our first ballooning adventure and what a location! Very professionally run.
Excellent
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Splendid Isolation"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"A wonderful camp in a wonderful location and good to have time to relax and appreciate our surroundings.

Interesting drives, walks and sundowners on the Angolan side whilst treating the crocodiles with respect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Brief overnight Stop."

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2010
"This was a comfortable stop for our brief overnighter."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

"Okavanga Heaven"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"A wonderful camp with fantastic rooms and amazing views in the heart of the bush. Brilliant management team, guides, staff and hippos that definitely went bump in the night!

We can't praise it enough.

Loved the communal dinners with our fellow guests, guides and managers particularly the one out in the bush where the hyenas were waiting to join us!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

"Can life get any better?"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"Absolutely fantastic. All the same comments apply as with Vumbura.

[Ed: their comments were: "A wonderful camp with fantastic rooms and amazing views in the heart of the bush. Brilliant management team, guides, staff and hippos that definitely went bump in the night! We can't praise it enough."]

A special mention about our guide Dux. What a larger than life character and we loved him.

Probably the best guide we ever had and certainly the most fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Johannesburg InterContinental

"Overnighter"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Perfect for a short stopover."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Benguerra Lodge

Benguerra Lodge

"Benguerra Lodge review"

7 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"Another heaven on earth. We now understand the meaning of "barefoot luxury". A perfect and idyllic place to rest after a hectic trip. Deserted white sand beaches and sea in many shades of aquamarine. Sally was a charming and efficient host and our butler Ena was great. Wonderful boat trips to see humpback whales,for snorkelling over the reef and for a picnic under an Arabian Tent on Pansy Island. Island drives and sailing in a traditional Dhow to see the sunset are also a must as are a visit to the local school and a walk to the "village".

One slightly less positive comment. I got really sick on the last evening and I was aware that 3 fellow guests had similar problems. There might be a case for improving food hygiene."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team