This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Kensington

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

2

Botswana Birthday Trip

Botswana and 3 other countries between 24 Jun 2014 and 14 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall this was a fabulous safari experience for the 5 of us, three being first time safari goers and two of us being experienced safari travellers. The game viewing is stupendous. The abundance of water from the delta makes for a very different Southern Africa Experience.

Great to see so many Betswanas working in the camps.

Food - we would have like to have had more game on the menu but perhaps this is made more difficult now by the hunting ban in Botswana.

We think that the camps/safari industry in Botswana need to invest in providing WiFi in the camps

Overall we would readily recommend this trip and Expert Africa for organising it - there was not a hitch during the whole trip. Thank you Megan

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the good work"

Arranged By Megan Green


The River Club

The River Club

"Great starting point for The Falls"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2014
"Arriving at the Club by boat is fabulous with the hippos in the water for company. Saw a huge, huge crocodile as we approached the camp. Room was very well appointed and very comfortable.

Tour of the village was not really for us. The River Club's tour to Victoria Falls worked well and was very interesting.

Food - breakfast was nothing special, lunch outside overlooking the Zambesi was great. Evening meal at the communal table was ok. Suggest more interesting menu."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Fabulous Game Viewing at Chitabe"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"Excellent tented camp. Very well appointed and glamorous tents.

Service from Maolosi and his team was excellent. The team joined in at meal times which provided great insights into life at the Camp and Botswana in general. Our guide OD was tremendous, our favourite of the trip.

We experienced fabulous game viewing, the best of the trip for us. We had the opportunity to watch the behaviour of predators up close and there was lots of big game, smaller game and birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

"Wow room on Safari"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2014
"The rooms here are amazing!

The food at this camp was excellent, varied and wonderfully presented. Thebe even cooked us Ostrich for breakfast one day as the rest of our party had not had it before and ostrich/game was not on the menu during our stay. The evening of entertainment in the BOMA was great fun.

Very varied terrain here from being in several feet of water in the jeep one minute to being on dry plains the next. The mokoro experience was very pleasant for an afternoon activity. One game drive was particularly memorable as we saw many baby animals, elephant, giraffe, zebra and leopard cubs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Hippo Heaven at Selinda"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"This camp is fabulously run by Lizzie and her Team. We stayed here 3 nights and the service from everyone was exemplary. It is not service by rote, the service experienced is both personal and flexible. We had a member of our party ill and they took care of her; we wanted a private dinner and they took care of that. Nothing it appeared was too much trouble!

Game viewing here was excellent especially of Leopard and Cheetah. However our favourite moment was that of the Honey Badger scuttling down the track in front of us, snarling as he went. Donald our guide was excellent and worked out the dynamics of our group, likes etc very quickly.

Food here was excellent and it is a lovely touch to be able to go to the cellar and choose your own wine for the evening.

Tents are comfortable and the hippos come up very close and personal at night, so close it feels like they are just about to come into your tent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

"For Meerkats only"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"The only reason to come here is to see and experience the Meerkats. Getting a photo with one of the Meerkats on your head is a fabulous experience even if the clan was only 4 in number when we visited.

We felt that everything else on offer was just fill in around visiting the Meerkat clan.

We did not enjoy the camp greatly, this goes for management, food etc except for Sheila who was delightful. Did not care for the paraffin lamps either as the fumes from them are quite suffocating

Quad biking was fun!"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental O.R. Tambo

"Wonderfully Convenient"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2014
"Does what it says on the tin!

Could not be easier to get there from the airport terminal and it works as you would expect from an InterContinental.

Very convenient that you can take the airport trollies with you to the hotel."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Azura at Quilalea

Azura at Quilalea

"Great retreat after safari"

6 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"This resort was fabulous. From the moment the pilot picks you up in the helicopter the experience is wonderful.

Droenie and Andrew who manage the Resort are wonderful and did everything they could to make our stay special.

The Villa has a wonderful triple aspect and has everything you need. Service which is provided almost entirely by local staff is great and you are made to feel very welcome.

The seafood and fresh fish on offer was tremendous and Imebe, our Butler was great and created lots of different venues for us to enjoy our meals.

It is a beautiful island with the most magnificent Baobab trees"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Oct 2009 trip

Namibia between 3 Oct 2009 and 19 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great holiday overall and we were awe struck by the landscape. There are a few things we would do differently such as:

Skip Windhoek
Stay closer to Etosha
Do Twyfelfontein from a different lodge
Do half day tour at Swakopmund

But these are details; it was a great great holiday and we hope to do Fish River Canyon and The Caprivi Strip on our next visit."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

14 Sep 2009 • All-day excursion

We were lucky to be taking out by the owner Bruno - great overlooking the Atlantic and a great lunch; tremendously interesting time with Bruno but we could have done without so much riding over dunes.... Half a day would have been good for us.
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"We think in hindsight we would have preferred to head straight for Okinjima and not stop at Windhoek. The staff were very helpful when we left the room keys in the rental vehicle when Europcar came to exchange it!

We did try NICE Restaurant and it was a great supper."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"We were upgraded to Okinjima Villa which was just fabulous. Anja and Johann do a great job here and run a splendid operation; it just works fantastically.

Johann is a great guide and the watering hole nearby is a great bonus as were the resident Wart Hog family."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

"Little Ongava review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2009
"The lodge itself is excellent and our room was fabulously appointed with a great view over the valley. However if we were visiting again we would stay nearer/in Etosha - as it's quite a drive to get the The Pan from Little Ongava and in some respects we would have preferred to explore Etosha in our our vehicle at that provides more flexibility on what you want to visit and the time you spend there.

The game drive on Ongava's private reserve was not at all interesting on the day we went."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"This was our favourite camp of the whole trip.

It is in the most fabulous of locations with great open plains fringed with fabulous mountains - lots of game, birds and flora to explore and that's before you get to the Rhino tracking. Our guide Kopai made it a wonderful and memorable experience.

Great service on the Camp too with interesting suppers as its communal eating in hurricane lamp light."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2009
"This Camp is in a great location but we experienced issues on this camp.

Firstly the drains stank at our tent (no 2). The waiting staff are very willing but generally clueless and need more training. Hoever the most disappointing bit was the Game Drive. Activity 1 to Twyfelfontein was very interesting. Activity 2 - the game drive was a disaster - the guide pontificated in the early part of the drive only to find he had lost focus and could not find the elephants - who were tracked by his colleague but he did not listen to the whereabouts accurately and we spent ages flying up and down the river bed like lunatics in search of the elelphants - which we eventually found great but at the expense of being able to enjoy the drive. Then as we were so late we rode back to camp at 60kms and you can imagine how little one can see or appreciate at this speed.

We did give our feedback to the Camp on leaving!"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"Great location - faded glory hotel. Very competent and efficient hotel with onsite parking.

We ate at the hotel and it was a fabulous meal."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"Great location and a good room but badly run: We experienced difficulty with:

1. Check in
2. Not having enough 4x4's for the morning activity and they ended up renting a small vehicle which had to accommodate 6 of us - a party of 4 and us two and when your Clive's size of 6'4" this is not fun for him or anyone else
3. The Guide had been seconded from Fish River Canyon - we joined him on his second day and therefore we were given no guiding to speak of which was a real shame
4. Unable to accommodate us for an evening sundowner in the Dunes due to lack of vehicles
5. Breakfast in the dune was a very poor affair
6. Shaded area round the pool is not finished
7. Difficulty in them arranging a transfer for us on the morning of departure to get us to Sesriem Gate to meet the balloon transportation.
8. Only four wines were available from the list

It is great to be in Sossusvlei first to climb the dunes first but not worth the stay at this place."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals"

15 Oct 2009 • Morning excursion

We were not blessed with the weather on the morning of our kayaking tour and the Dolphins did not come out to play so it was fun but would have been better in other conditions - the weather on the day is very important.

Jeanne is great and highly professional.
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders Camp

"Wolwedans Boulders Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2009
"We had the joy of being the only guests on the Camp and this was a fabulous end to our holiday.

Definitely appreciated best at the end of ones stay as a place to relax and enjoy the silence and the landscape.

Perfectly run Camp!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team