This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The River Club
The River Club
The River Club
The River Club

Reviews of The River Club

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The River Club and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-18 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Dr L
Maryland

"Location and view spectacular"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"The location and rooms were fabulous. Excellent way to end a trip" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Bedford

"Stunning setting and service at River Club"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2010
"We thought the location and setting of this lodge was stunning with beautiful grounds and fantastic views across the Zambezi. The rooms were nicely positioned on the banks of the river and had an interesting interior layout. It was great to experience the sights and sounds in the evening. I guess, just to be picky, the rooms could do with some investment in refurbishment or makeover but it didn't really cause us any worries.

Food was excellent, dinner served on the patio with the Zambezi as the backdrop was outstanding and service was very efficient.

Our chosen activities, sunset cruise, elephant back safari and visit to the Vic falls, including the helicopter flight were all very special." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"paradise on the zambesi"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"wonderful location and very comfortable room. lovely arrival by boat the pool area is delightful.

excellent staff but we thought the food was rather ordinary.

good place to crash out at the end of the safari" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
H family
Cheshire

"Execellent start to our adventure"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2009
"Wonderful location to recover from journey out from UK. Exciting river approach to the Club set the tone of the visit.

Fabulous split level rooms overlooking Zambezi. Colonial style and activities- croquet, swimming and "passing of the port!" kept us amused.

Daily activities efficiently organised. We were always accompanied by a well informed and sociable guide.

The helicopter ride over the Victoria Falls is an unforgettable experience and puts the scale in perspective." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Jersey

"Lunar rainbow"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"The arrival by water was an excellent introduction, crocodiles and hippos included. The setting, accommodation and service were all good and we enjoyed the hippos laughing when they woke us up. The open aspect of the rooms was wonderful but our "crocs" were a must to avoid walking on the bat droppings.

One of the highlights was the helicopter ride over the falls but in hindsight we wish we had taken the 30 minute ride which includes dropping into the gorges. We think you should emphasise the difference between the 2 rides.

The lunar rainbow was an unexpected treat as this only happens a limited number of times per year. The River Club made this extra special by providing champagne and canapes at the Falls. A magical evening.

The staff were efficient and very friendly and our guide Vincent did everything he could to make our stay special. On the last day there was a problem at Kazungula when our names did not appear to be on the Botswana driver's list and Vincent stayed with us across the ferry until he was certain that our onward transport was organised." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"River Club review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"The only place to start or finish your African Experiance. Absolutely wonderful." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Ms P
Angola

"River Club review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2008
"See my comments on Trip Advisor.

[Ed: ... which reads as follows:

This proved an excellent way of ending our 10 day safari in Botswana. We spent two blissfully, relaxing night here.

The arrival from Botswana is very special as you take the lodge's small boat down the Zambezi and around a spot where hippos hang out to get to the lodge. (If you arrive from Livingtsone airport, its a 35 minute drive w. 10 minutes across an unsealed road.) After climbing a steep bank of stairs, you arrive in a lovely huge garden with 9 small stone colonial style houses and a large main building (converted farmhouse) where meals are served. You get a briefing and it's tea time at 4 PM. At 4:30 you can join a complementary sunset cruise to see hippos, crocs. and birds. Cocktails are then served a half hour before dinner. The food is excellent and the leisurely breakfasts (7:30 to 10:00 which is bliss after the early morning safari breakfasts!) and light lunches on the lawn wonderful.

You can chose from a menu of activities--some like visiting the falls and a local village are included in the price some others like scenic helicopter flights, bungee jumping or riverboarding are extra.

The rooms are in double decker style small stone houses over looking the Zambezi. You walk into a bedroom with an attached toilet and sink--handy for late night trips to the loo. Down a flight of steps is another toilet, colonial style bathtub and shower. 85% of guests staying here are Americans and management has taken note of their complaints about the lack of a screen on the river facing side of the rooms and fixed this so that bats and bugs don't get in. There is a hairdryer in the room and wireless internet access for $15 per stay in the main house.

The staff work very hard to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Highly recommended. I can also recommend the 30 minute helicopter ride over the falls for super photos and a good feel about what the falls are all about as well as a visit to the Crocodile Farm which is close to the helipad.]" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Tide family
Dorset

"River Club review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"Great to be picked up by boat for the arrival, also fun sun set cruise. The staff were good but the lodge was a little tired. The bathrooms need to be upgraded. Our impression was that it was a little old fashioned and needed up dating.

We had a great day at Victoria Falls and also very much enjoyed our visit to the village." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 11-18 of 18
93%
18 reviews of The River Club by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
6
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa