This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp
Toka Leya Camp

Reviews of Toka Leya Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Toka Leya Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs J
Effingham

"Returning to civilisation at Toka Leya"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2012
"At our final camp, we felt this had more of a 'hotel' feel. After 10 days without WiFi, telecoms, shops it was nice to arrive back into civilisation and get ready for the return home. Toka Leya had slick organisation of their activities and we added on a Bridge Tour to the Victoria Falls trip - which was well worth the extra so would recommend that.,

The dining room was very cold at night when we were there. The shop missed a trick by not stocking the butter dishes and salt and pepper bowls which were on the restaurant tables. Everyone admired them but the shop didn't sell them. They could do a roaring trade if they did as the items in the shop weren't really things we wanted to buy.

Spa was nice and we had a hippo outside our balcony for quite a while - great photo opportunity.

I took a slice of lemon and ginger from restaurant tea service area to my room one evening and was very pleasantly surprised the next day to see that the room boy had noticed my preference and replaced this with a whole lemon and piece of ginger for me. Nice touch - also presents on bed each evening." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Leics

"Toka Leya Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"Food was excellent and the bedrooms and facilities first rate.

Staff were very friendly and very attentive and really made us feel welcome and that they could not do enough to make our stay as special and pleasureable as possible." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs W
Leics

"tracked a white rhino on foot"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"Good start to our holiday. Evening boat trip. Following day Victoria falls and the white rhino. The lodge even organised a fishing trip as well.

Not much game but that was not our aim at this lodge. Sound of the river and the hippo's at night sent us to sleep.

Two nights was about right." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Ms S
Surrey

"Very flexible, great meals and our only rhino"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2010
"We didn't stay at Siankaba. They were flooded - and Expert Africa changed the booking about a week before our departure (and the change was well-handled). We stayed at Toka Leya instead.

Toka Leya was a very pleasant camp, with an up-market feel (that can be both a good and a bad thing). The food was excellent, with a choice of menus and timings to suit. The rhinoceros sighting was a game highlight - but our Land Rover herding baboons and warthogs was also amusing. Victoria Falls is the headline attraction - and well worth it. But the highlight was the local village and children - your heart will melt." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Beds

"Different - not quite our style"

3 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2010
"Our least favourite camp and quite different to the other camps in Botswana.

The camp was geared to a different style of visitor - mainly coming to see the Victoria Falls with many from North America. The game viewing was rather tame after the other camps but the birding was good and the river trips were interesting.

The dining arrangements were more those of a good hotel rather than a safari camp although service at lunch was pretty slow.
Airconditioned rooms came as a bit of a surprise." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Ms N
London

"The perfect start to a safari"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2009
"Toka Leya s location inside the mosi o tunya np is the ideal first camp for a southern african safari.The stunning Zamezi riverside location gives you the feeling of being immersed in the bush yet you are close to livingstone and the falls. There is plenty of local wildlife ( both elephant and rhino were around and in camp during our stay) Plenty of worthwhile activities with good equipment and equally good guides ( we had Amon ) for those that want activity - yet comfortable tents and camp facilities for those that just want to rest.
The river and game drives are ideal introductions to what the bush has to offer and the three wild dog that seem to have made mosi o tunya their home for the moment add a bit of spice to game drives.

The camp is well run and friendly. The food was excellent.The staff went out of their way to make what ever you wanted happen." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Highgate

"Toka Leya Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Different "feel" to the RPS camps.

Much newer, so doesn't have the "well worn" feeling of the RPS style we liked so much. On the other hand, it's more luxurious; while being just a little less characterful.

But warm and genuine service, a super location by the river, and excellent facilities." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs O
Vancouver

"Toka Leya"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2009
"Toka Leya - nice location but lacked that special touch that good management brings.

Manager was new and perhaps will get more in stride with time." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms B & Mr S
Aberdeen

"G and Ts on the Zambezi"

1 night Arrived 9 Mar 2009
"A fantastic setting and welcoming, caring staff. Friendly Brian, our guide for the boatride and next day's visit to the Falls, made us at home. Big airy rooms with river views. Note that I said rooms. Here I felt that it was run as a hotel despite the tents.

Brian was very interested in birds and was happy to 'put in' at any spot on the river where we caught up some species. We loved the small boatride and looked down our noses a bit at the booze cruisers; we could sip gin and sit alongside the Carmine Bee-eaters.

We enjoyed the food and again ate en-famille. It might have been nice to introduce everyone first though. But with us all having had such wonderful experiences, conversation soon flowed as quickly as the wine.

The visit to the Falls was breath-taking and Brian knew all the good sites for the photos." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
As & Bs
Essex

"Toka Leya Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"Beautiful new camp in lovely setting by the Zambesi. Very helpful guides and staff although they still seem to be experiencing minor teething problems.

The chalets are beautiful but are a triumph of form over function. The back of the chalets need much more light, the bedside tables are outside the mosquito nets and it has an overly complicated air-conditioning unit with no instructions.

However, a great place to stay when compared with the normal Livingstone hotels with beautiful big beds, geat views and privacy.
The trips down the Zambesi were a highlight" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 22
88%
22 reviews of Toka Leya Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
7
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa