This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge


17°49’58.6"S 25°38’10.7"E

Reviews of Waterberry Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberry Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberry Lodge.
Hippo

96% success

Elephant

76% success

Giraffe

57% success

Zebra

42% success

White Rhino

30% success

Buffalo

24% success

Showing 21-30 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Ms K.
DC, USA

"Incredible lodge, staff, service & location"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2019
"We only had 2 nights here but the experiences were amazing. Kelly and Webby were fabulous and surprisingly accommodating. We were pleasantly surprised when Kelly offered to see if we could do an activity at an unscheduled time. It worked out great and we were able to walk up to and amongst 7 of Zambia's 10 wide lipped rhinoceros!

Also very thoughtful that she booked us on the boat sundowner the evening of our afternoon arrival. Sunsets all over Africa are stunning but on the Zambezi River they are even more beautiful. Crocodile and hippopotamus sightings with hippo serenades in the evenings. The other included activity that we did was Victoria Falls. We went at the perfect time of year for a dramatic [and soaking] experience.

Our next location was Botswana via the Kazungula ferry border crossing. This lodge was perfectly situated between our Zimbabwe to Zambia bridge border crossing and Kazungula.

I highly recommend this property!" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Middlesex

"Relaxing stay at end of safari"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"We stayed here at the end of our holiday in order to chill out before returning home.

There are plenty of activities although as we had been to Victoria Falls before we only visited the local village and school which is supported by the lodge. It is well worth going to see the children and their bright classrooms and the excellent work that the staff at Waterbury do to further the education of the local boys and girls.

The grounds are lovely, great views and a good swimming pool to cool down in." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

6 sightings

Mrs M
Carluke

"Great visit to Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"Little piece of paradise. Everything first class. Staff exceptionally nice. Loved peaceful location on Zambezi and sunrise and sunset cruises.

Visit to Waterberry project in nearby village a highlight-great to see benefit of tourism reaching local people.

Food excellent and lodges beautiful.

Driver for the day visiting Livingstone to do helicopter tour, swing jump from bridge and visit to falls was great and made everything seamless and easy." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

6 sightings

W Family
Wiltshire

"A great stay at Waterberry"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2018
"The setting is spectacular and beautiful on the banks of the Zambezi. We stayed in a family lodge which was luxurious and incredibly spacious . The food was wonderful and the activities laid on by the lodge were excellent.

We visited the Victoria Falls followed by a very interesting walk round the markets in Livingstone. This was after we had had a short game drive in the Mosi-oa- Tunya game park. We walked to the white rhinos which was very special.

We also fitted in a moving and eye opening visit to the local village where Waterberry Lodge has funded a new school . It is a really inspirational project and rounded off our holiday perfectly.

The lodge has a very refreshing swimming pool to relax in between activities." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

10 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

NJK
Manchester

"Green and tranquil"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2018
"Lovely start to my holiday - my first visit to anywhere in Africa. Waterberry Lodge has beautiful grounds and is well-situated on the Zambezi. Great to find a quiet spot (at 'tree time' or on the jetty) to - pretend to - read a book and just enjoy the tranquillity.

My room, Jacana, was huge and comfortable with its own private verandah overlooking the lagoon (sadly I didn't see any crocs or hlppos in it - even though I walked all round the lagoon and looked!). Great pressure in the shower, plentiful hot water. Comfy superkingsize bed with an electric blanket was a treat (I hadn't appreciated fully how chilly the nights can feel).

The staff were very attentive (without being intrusive) and looked after the guests very well. On site, I enjoyed the sunset cruise - my first sight of elephants and hippos in the wild, so exciting - and an informative dawn chorus walk. Kelly arranged two trips into Livingstone for me, firstly for a helicopter ride and then visit the Victoria Falls from the Zambian side (where Webby was excellent company), and a second trip into Livingstone for the railway and Jewish museums.

The food was also excellent and I was very kindly presented with a birthday cake (as well as wine in my room) to mark my 'big' birthday.

I'll never forget my introduction to 'African massage' - which was good preparation for the many others in the days after!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs A
Aboyne

"Perfect end to our safari"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2018
"What a stunning Lodge on the banks of the Zambezi. Our stay was far too short.. We cannot recommend this beautiful place highly enough. It is definitely a Lodge to return to.

We enjoyed sunset and sunrise cruises on the Zambezi as well as a bird walk in the grounds with outstanding, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, friendly guides.

Our visit to The Victoria Falls both in Zambia and Zimbabwe was perfectly organised to include a helicopter trip and perfect timing for rainbow photographs." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D&M Blue Hill
USA

"The Farmhouse at Waterberry "

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2018
"The Farmhouse was beyond all our expectations, more like paradise. Sitting in the infinity pool looking across the Zambezi River to Zimbabwe seeing elephants and hearing lions was unbelievable. Hippos at night made you realize you really were on the river.

The staff are a ten, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. Enjoyed every minute. Getting out on the river with our guide for a sunset cruise with gin and tonics in hand was a highlight, as was the tiger fishing trip.

Spent a day exploring Victoria Falls from here and again our guide was excellent. Don't bother eating at Olga's in Livingstone.

Animals sited: Hippos, elephants, giraffes, zebra, water buffalo, velvet monkeys, kudu, wart hog, impala, bush buck.
Birds sited: hornbill, bee eaters, tropical bou bou, cormorants, egrets, glossy ibis, hamer kop, kingfisher, meyer's parrot to name a few." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Grand Rapids

"Very relaxing spot on the mighty Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2018
"First-rate service. Comfortable lodging. Great location.

We are very happy we chose to stay here, away from Livingstone, as it was an easy staging area for our visit to Victoria Falls, but far enough away to be truly relaxing.

Being out on the waters of the river was a wonderful experience and good way to see wildlife." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Kigali

"A wonderful family lodge - excellent service"

4 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2018
"Waterberry is a lovely, small lodge on the river. The family room was spacious and tastefully furnished, with seprate beds for the two children. The gardens are expansive and beautifully kept, with a nature walk aroud the river inlets (we spotted a croc!). The food is fabulous and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

The swimming pool has a baby splash pool and the larger pool has a shallow end, separated from the main pool to keep little ones safe. The staff are excellent and the manamgement go oput of their way to help you in any way possible. They gave expert advice on a safari to Botswana for us and arranged a wonderful day torip to Chobe National park at the last minute (like 7pm the night before!) when we had a small hiccup with another company.

We couldn't receommend waterberry enough and would love to return." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
York

"Waterberry"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"On arrival we were shown chalets that meant that the children were planned to be on the other side of the grounds, from their parents and grandparents. Fortunately we arrived before other visitors that day, which meant that we were able to completely rearrange the accommodation plan. The staff were more than willing to sort this out but were frustrated that you hadn't advised them that the children and parents were not happy being separated. I had ask you on several occasions to ensure that the families were kept together, however on checking your emails they had no record of this request. Please ensure that in future you pass on these requests.
We loved Vic Falls, but surprised at how expensive the activities were. Viewing the Rhinos was $125 per person, for a very mediocre game drive. Owain and myself went and saw them, but it was too much for the rest of the family." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 54
98%
54 reviews of Waterberry Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes' walk from the Victoria Falls, with access for guests included, the Avani features good facilities in peaceful grounds at a modest price.


85% (230 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (86 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (64 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


89% (23 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (6 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa