This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge


17°49’58.6"S 25°38’10.7"E

Reviews of Waterberry Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

41 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberry Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberry Lodge.
Hippo

100% success

Elephant

80% success

Giraffe

67% success

White Rhino

40% success

Zebra

33% success

Buffalo

13% success

Showing 21-30 of 41
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Great food and staff"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2017
"Because of a late flight in and early flight out we were only here a total of 12 hours. However we were able to see the Falls and have a wonderful dinner.

Hazel and all staff were very accommodating and hope to return for a longer visit." See all these reviews: 6n in Malawi; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Cowes

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"Stunning location, excellent service.
Rooms fairly basic but had everything that you need and were spotless clean" See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms S
East Sussex

"Nice Lodge, but not for one night stay."

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2016
"We arrived in darkness and only stayed one night so didn't really get a chance to properly see all the lodge had to offer. The rooms were comfortable and the location gorgeous, although a 30 min + drive from Livingstone. They very kindly arranged a trip to Vic Falls for us on the morning we were leaving which was great, although they did mess up the timing which meant we didn't have much time at the Falls and ended up having to wait 3 hours for our plane at Kasane airport.

The food was fussy and hugely disappointing, considering we'd just come from bush camping with wonderful food this was a real letdown. They didn't manage to deal with my vegan dietary requirements properly (again, I wouldn't be complaining about this had it not been for the fact the other more remote camps were great) and even the omnivores didn't enjoy their meals.

I think on balance this would be a better place to stay for a few nights to take advantage of everything they have to offer and enjoy the beautiful location." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Somerset

"4th camp at Waterberry"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2016
"Beautiful camp - luscious green gardens on banks of Zambezi. Very peaceful. Delicious food and excellent service. Kelly was most helpful.

Visit to Victoria Falls was amazing - helicopter ride is a must. Visit to the 4 villages was fascinating - Webby was our guide and very informative. Great that Waterberry Zambezi Lodge supports the community schools in the area.

Would be good to direct visitors to the Waterberry Zambezi Lodge website before their visit to view the list of needs for the projects - we would have taken some items out if we had known." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Wantage

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2016
"Lodge was beautiful and staff very welcoming. Food was a good standard - breakfast and dinner although lunch a little limited.

Room was nice although terrace doors ill fitting. Beds very comfortable.

Location on the Zambezi fantastic and sun set cruises a highlight." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs McMillan
UK

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Water berry lodge was very relaxing,a beautiful spot right on the Zambezi river.the food and service was excellent.

Our room was beautiful and we couldn't have been looked after any better." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Great way to start our trip!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2015
"After about 32 hours of travel from the US, we were met by a Waterberry Zambezi Lodge rep at the airport. We loved that the lodge is away from Livingstone.

Our room was very comfortable & the staff was wonderful. They surprised my husband with a belated birthday cake since this was his 40th birthday trip!

We also loved the sunset river boat cruise & of course, the tour of Victoria Falls!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"A pleasant stay at Waterberry Zambezi Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2015
"The location on the river is great. It is however quite far out from Livingston and the journey in takes a while on partly bumpy road.

The room was located on the river with a great view, cold so appreciated the electric blanket. Bedroom was quite small with just enough room for bed and mosquito net. Bathroom great with a big bath.

Service was friendly welcoming and efficient. Food was plentiful and too good.

The activities were well organised with great guides. Good advice on using new Zim/Zam visa to also visit the Zimbabwe side of falls and have afternoon tea at Victoria Falls Hotel. Great river cruises and other excursions.

The gardens and pool were pleasant and well maintained" See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DW
N London

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2015
"We loved the friendly, personal nature of this lodge. The staff were cheerful, courteous and obliging.

The owner made it her business to introduce herself to us and clearly helped to iron out any potential problems behind the scenes. When our Rhino Walk is Mosi-oa-Tunya exceeded its anticipated length, she efficiently made arrangements for our helicopter trip over Victoria Falls to be re-scheduled." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Hampton

"Great place to start our African trip"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and couldn't fault any aspect." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 41
98%
41 reviews of Waterberry Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa