This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge


17°49’58.6"S 25°38’10.7"E

Reviews of Waterberry Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

41 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Waterberry Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Waterberry Lodge.
Hippo

100% success

Elephant

80% success

Giraffe

67% success

White Rhino

40% success

Zebra

33% success

Buffalo

13% success

Showing 31-40 of 41
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2014
"Well placed to visit the falls as was the intention. Good views over the river and from rthe evening river trip of the national park in Zimbabwe. The trip to the falls was well guided and driven though the falls were, expectedly, not at their best.

The last evening's river trip or "booze cruise" as it was referred to by the owner and her friends who joined us in the boat having just arrived from the UK was most entertaining and enjoyable!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
CA, USA

"Great place on the river"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2014
"Another excellent lodge with a super-friendly, professional staff.

The rooms were outstanding, with incredible attention to detail. Staff was very helpful with arranging everything for activities. Great food, and extra events (such as traditional African meals) added up for a great experience.

Would highly recommend this establishment for anyone looking for a very nice lodge close to Livingstone, but with a feeling of being far away from town." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr H & Mrs P
Canada

"Excellent"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"This definitely the place to stay. Well organized, great food, very nice rooms, and very helpful.

If your there at the right time of year ask about reserving to go to the Devils Pool." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Devon

"A god location to visit the falls"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"A pleasant enough camp in a lovely location but it did not feel like the heart of the wild and it was disappointing that with so much river frontage only two of the chalets (not ours) were on the river. We did not like to be greeted by dogs weaving their way around our legs and sniffing at our knees whilst we tried to absorb information.

Our first evening we went to the bar area for a pre dinner drink and had to keep calling out "hello" for five minutes before we got any attention. The following day on our return from Victoria falls we were told that our lunch would be waiting for us. We sat down and were served a drink and then bread and butter And then we waited. After a further 35 minutes we got fed up and went to reception to complain that we were just not being looked after.. (It didn't help to hear other guests all saying how very well they were looked after) Our lunch (a cold salad) then appeared.

To be fair, after that nothing was too much trouble for them, and we even had a special dinner served on our veranda with a bottle of sparkling wine. We enjoyed two really lovely sunset cruises and saw lots of birds and crocodiles.

The falls were spectacular and well worth the visit." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
GoldenHill

"Perfection on the Zambezi."

5 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"An absolutely wonderful stay at Waterberry Lodge with superb caring staff doing their utmost to ensure your stay is perfect (and succeeding!)

Our lovely room (Weaver) had a river view, was only a few steps from the pool and restaurant area and is the only room with a bath. The electric blankets were a very welcome addition. The many in-house activities we enjoyed were a dawn cruise, wrapped in blankets on a misty morning enjoying coffee & muffins whilst viewing the diversity of game & birdlife on the river, a sunset cruise and a very informative bird walk - all extremely enjoyable.

The external activities we enjoyed were a trip to Victoria Falls including microlighting over the falls (amazing), followed by a surprise breakfast provided by Waterberry and a wonderful guide (thank you Kandeenga), a trip to Livingstone Island to stand on the edge of the falls (great fun) & a game walk in the National Park where we stood very close to rhino. All the trips were organised very efficiently and thoughtfully by Waterberry.

We also enjoyed some free time watching elephants across the river and walking around the lodge spotting bee-eaters & kingfishers. Excellent food too on the beautifully situated terrace with the welcome addition of braziers at dinner & the occasional hippo on the lawn! We could not fault it and could easily have stayed for a week or more. A truly magical place." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Wales

"Friendly welcome at Waterberry Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2014
"Waterberry Lodge is a great place to begin or end a Zambia/Botswana safari. We chose to spend two nights here to recover from the long-haul flight and be able to start our safari refreshed.

The management at Waterberry are truly superb - so friendly and welcoming - with nothing being too much trouble to arrange. Charmaine speedily responded to our emails prior to the trip, changing our room from Swallow (the room closest to the river) to Weaver (still with river views but a bit further back) after we requested a bathtub to ease my sometimes aching back. As it turned out it was my husband who needed the tub after an old disc injury decided to play up on our very first afternoon there - what bad luck. Here's where the service excelled itself; Amy and Kim did everthing possible to make his forced confinement as comfortable as possible (cheers Amy, for the loan of your hot water bottle!) whilst still making sure that I didn't miss out on the Falls.

They had booked an early morning helicopter ride for us, so instead of sharing the experience with my husband I enjoyed the trip with Kandenga, the driver, and what good company he was too! If you are planning a flight over the Falls I'd highly recommend including the Batoka Gorge as well - exhilarating. A tip for walking around the Falls is to wear shorts and water sandals as you get SOAKED - but great fun!!

To top it all we were surprised that evening with a wonderful celebratory Anniversary meal on our deck even though our Anniversary wasn't until the next day - the day we were leaving. The food the first night was good but this meal was excellent, without a doubt the best meal we've had in a very long time - home or abroad.

Thank you one and all. We'd love to return one day." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Sudbury

"Waterberry Zambezi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2014
"We felt like we were in civilization...hairdryers at last!

The lodge was very lovely, service was very good, and staff was there to help in every way." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Alaska

"Beautiful Waterberry"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2014
"We could not imagine a more beautiful lodge near Victoria Falls.

Outstanding cabins, food, service -- with the most relaxing views and atmosphere." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Mrs B
Dorset

"Two nights at Waterberry Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"After setting ourselves a pretty rigorous trip we need to unwind. What better place than Waterberry? Staff we outstanding in every way, the setting was so relaxing, aware of being part of a family in no time. Nothing was too much trouble, events arranged as we wished, including a bird walk for one person, and an hour "activity" with Kevin whose expertise was invaluable as we gained more information about charity work and social scene in general.

By this time we did not need any more game drives, but I expect they could have been arranged.

Here as at Kafunta the all in price was a good thing and it was good to have discovered here as at Kafunta, 55 of our charge was for community development locally. The school and village visits were of great value, as was our contact with Karen and visit from Kafunta to Project Luangwa, which I should have mentioned earlier, and was a highlight experience, particularly in view of our commitment to other charity work." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Sevenoaks

"Great welcome to Zambia at Waterberry"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2013
"A wonderful place to stay! Peaceful location with attentive staff who tailored activities and meal times to suit individual guests. It is not the nearest to the falls but we appreciated being able to relax here after our flight, and were escorted to and from all that we wanted to see, while enjoying peaceful trips on the river away from the crowds of the town.

Claudia welcomed us, and was eager to know what we would like to do so that she could create a timetable for us. We were seen off on each trip and welcomed back by one of the managers. Claudia was particularly helpful.

All staff were charming and attentive, and we enjoyed talking to them about their lives in Zambia on drives to and from Livingstone. Boat trips and a tour of the village from which several staff came were a highlight. We had not expected to see any animals here, so glimpses of elephants, hippo, crocs were an unexpected bonus, while the birdlife was amazing, and we wished we had done the guided birdwalk which was offered.

This lodge is not one you usually recommend - but we were interested that the rep from Audley Travel was there for a site visit as it is one they use. The lodge managed to combine the camaraderie of drinks together around a fire with the privacy of separate dining , and the meals were delicious!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 41
98%
41 reviews of Waterberry Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa