This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs A from Aboyne

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My May 2018 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 3 May 2018 and 15 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Megan arranged a wonderful safari for us in Botswana. She listened carefully to our needs and hopes. With her first hand experience of the country she put to a most enjoyable programme with a variety of camps. She was very friendly and extremely efficient replying speedily to our emails.

From our arrival in Maul tour departure from Livingstone the package, including all Border crossings, flowed seamlessly and without difficulty. The various guides who met us organised tickets and visas speedily.

With hindsight two camps were close together but we appreciate that availability and distance may have been a limiting factor. A camp further up into the the delta would have allowed us to compare the wet areas with the dry areas.

In short a great experience. Thank you."

Arranged By Megan Green


Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Wonderful start to our safari"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2018
"A very knowledgeable, experienced and enthusiastic manager led an equally knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly team. Cleanliness, comfort and catering were of a very high standard. We loved the surprise bush dinners and sundowners.

Wilson was our very friendly, helpful guide who rapidly picked up our interest in birds as well as animals and local history. The mokoro polers were equally forthcoming. All had excellent spotting skills.

There many great game sightings but we all particularly enjoyed watching the fish eagle and saddle-back storks catching and devouring fish.

Our time in Shinde was too short. Safaris included early morning and evening drives of very good length. No opportunity was wasted.

Checklist booklet of birds and animals is a great idea. Thanks

Only minor criticism: no wi -fi connection for BT users"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

"Canvaz luxury"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"A warm, friendly welcome greeted us on arrival and after every game drive. The all male choir added an extra dimension with their local songs.

Daniel, the camp manager, leads a cheery, friendly team for whom nothing was too much trouble. The guides joined us for meals and shared stories.

Morunga was a superb guide with great knowledge of both birds and animals. We tracked a pride of lions, invading the resident pride's territory. Leopard was spotted. A rock python coming to drink and then swimming a across a pan excited our guide as much us. 8 mongoose chasing a jackal, and the log with 3 different species of mongoose at one time is equally unforgettable: likewise the cheetah. Zebra were in abundance as they were gathering for the imminent migration. The pack of wild dogs alas eluded us by minutes.

Regrettably no night drives are allowed in the National Park but the animals did wander through the camp in the dark!

Nights under clear starry skies are cool but daytime temperatures are very pleasantly warm.

We loved the checklist booklet of birds and animals.

An excellent camp and location. We loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Fine dining under 'canvas'"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"This year-old camp is truly luxurious with well thought-out placement of the accommodation and facilites. Food is of an exceptionally high standard.

All the roads were designed and constructed by the guides. Animals come through the camp regularly and freely even close to the swimming pool and tents providing entertainment during the siesta.

The concession covers a wide territory where rhino have been introduced but are difficult to locate. Animals, at the moment, are not as numerous as we had hoped but Motte, our enthusiastic guide, did his best and found some interesting sightings. Highlights were a pride of lion observed devouring a buffalo and a further two lionesses with cubs, The late night game drive was particularly interesting with spring hare, genet and porcupine.

The mokoro trip is highly recommended.

We loved magical bush dinner. To describe it in detail would spoil the magic for others.

Charging facilities for batteries is very good. A green camp using mostly solar power. Reuseabale water bottles are provided for guests.

We loved the checklist booklets of birds and animals.

Despite our very positive comments we found this camp a bit OTT for our taste The introduction to meals/ wines somewhat pretentious. Generally the camp atmosphere lacking a a little in warmth. Perhaps this reflects the newness of the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Peace in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2018
"This is a beautiful camp with animals in and around the camp. Highlights included a leopard up a tree, frustrated by a hyena below stealing her catch wild dog, cheetah and crocodile. There was also some very interesting hippo behaviour which all the guests would have enjoyed observing but was cut short in favour of trying to find a lion in vain.

No night drives were possible.

Our guide was disappointing who did an adequate job with little obvious enthusiasm. Our interest in birds was largely ignored. Much time was wasted tracking a lion. Even with a spotter the high grass made this an impossible task. Despite the significant animal activity not too long before daybreak in the camp we were taken to the other end of the concession to look for animals and tracks. We are not sure why.

It would be interesting to revisit this camp when the waters flood the plain and bring in more animals.

There are excellent facilities for charging camera batteries. No wi-fi.

We loved the checklist booklets."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"Perfect end to our safari"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2018
"What a stunning Lodge on the banks of the Zambezi. Our stay was far too short.. We cannot recommend this beautiful place highly enough. It is definitely a Lodge to return to.

We enjoyed sunset and sunrise cruises on the Zambezi as well as a bird walk in the grounds with outstanding, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, friendly guides.

Our visit to The Victoria Falls both in Zambia and Zimbabwe was perfectly organised to include a helicopter trip and perfect timing for rainbow photographs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team