This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel


17°55’9.4"S 25°51’49.7"E

Reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Livingstone Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Royal Livingstone Hotel.
Zebra

100% success

Hippo

75% success

Elephant

50% success

White Rhino

25% success

Showing 21-30 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P
Switzerland

"wonderful falls, hotel a mixed bag"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2015
"Beautiful hotel in a beautiful park right on the Zambesi. Excellent location for visiting the falls. The room was very good. Dinner on 2 nights was good, once the offered menues were quite limited. Breakfast was satisfactory, on one morning it was poor (empty plates, slow order executon). Disturbing were a lot of people sitting in the area waiting for departure. It felt like in a youth camp.

Spa was very expensive with poor quality of nail polish. The water in the pool was full of dead flies.

Two people were outstanding: the lady concierge who was very effective and who helped us overcome a serious problem with an unexpected flight cancellation. The second was a receptionist which came to our bungalow to help us with the internet, which as it turned out, is very unstable.

The sundown boat trip on the river was expensive but very beautiful. Staff and service were really enjoyable and you get a lot of snacks and drinks!" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr H
Switzerland

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2015
"Great Luxury 5star Hotel in Front of the Falls. Very easy accessible to the Fall as the entry is included. But Overall a little bit overpriced.

But the Bar is worth a visit!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs M
Scotland

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A Freeman
UK

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"A wonderful location.

The hotel was excellent but " Africa -lite ". It could have been anywhere in the world but with tame zebras, giraffes and impala .

A good last stop to bridge the move from Africa to Europe." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family L
Pennsylvania

"Incredibly posh"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"Great location a few minutes walk from the falls. Not close to town, but the hotel was so nice that we were never tempted to leave.

Our room had a beautiful enclosed riverfront porch and all the amenities. Each group of rooms had a day and an evening butler to help with anything and everything. Experienced a classic high tea overlooking the falls, but that was overshadowed by a delicious gracious dinner." See all these reviews: 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H & Mr R
USA

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"Amazing hotel! After almost two days of traveling from California to get to Africa we were swept off our feet with the warmth and hospitality when we arrived!

As you enter the lobby and see the beautiful Zambeze river through the open air windows it takes your breath away. Then the tea and hand massage while we checked in was delightful. Every staff member was totally attentive during our two day stay. I highly recommend and would certainly stay here again. We did not participate in activities as we wanted this time to rest, enjoy the location and prepare for our upcoming safari days.

We did walk to Victoria Falls and hike down to Boiling Point (with the baboons and monkeys!) to watch the rafters depart which was a great outing and so easy to get to from the hotel. The giraffes and zebras on the property are quite fun.....but they are wild! We did participate one day with one of the guides when they were being fed.....such fun and so delighted we ran into him on the grounds and he invited us to join him!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr d
Kilburn

"livingstone luxury"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2014
"A five star hotel next to the Victoria falls - for me a 45 year dream come true.

Zambian hospitality all the way with a day trip to Zimbabwe as well." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Royal Livingstone Hotel..THE Falls Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2014
"Anyone going to see the Falls really should stay here since it is truly grand and in sterling terms not expensive. We rounded off our trip to Botswana with a trip to the Falls and 3 nights at the Livingstone and it was a very good decision.

We went home refreshed and recharged and the Falls were worth two visits." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"The Royal Livinstone is a beautiful hotel"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2013
"The Royal Livingstone is a beautiful hotel and provided a fitting end to our safari expereince and an excellent location to experience the majesty of Victoria Falls.

The only glitch was when they billed us for the basic room rate (already paid via Expert Africa) but that was probably because of the confusion over our 'upgrade' from the Zambesi Sun." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The R family
Solihull

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"Great location and excellent facilities.

Slight negative for poor waiter service at dinner. Good attention on initially taking your order, but then descends into chaos as the restaurant gets busier.
Bit pricey for the quality on offer." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 84
93%
84 reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
58
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa