This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel


17°55’9.4"S 25°51’49.7"E

Reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Livingstone Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Royal Livingstone Hotel.
Zebra

100% success

Hippo

75% success

Elephant

50% success

White Rhino

25% success

Showing 31-40 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Worcs

"Rest and relaxation"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"After a week of safari it was very nice to relax in the sumptuous surroundings of the hotel. The location is amazing, and sundowners on the deck were a great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was preparing for a major conference, and there was a certain amount of preparation work for that going on - but it was kept out of the way as much as possible.

We did travel over to Zimbabwe to see the falls from that side - and we strongly recommend that. It does require some negotiation of African customs and immigration, but that in itself is an interesting experience!! It did not seem that there was anyone arranging trips over, but that added to the interest - working it all out ourselves was a good challenge. Someone who is less confident might want to find out more about the procedure before going.

We also did the Jet Extreme boating experience at Victoria Falls. The kids loved the extreme of the boating, but what was particularly interesting was the drive through the villages to get there and stopping at the Chiefs house!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Atlanta

"Royal Livingstone and Victoria Falls - WOW!"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"When we were planning our trip, the Royal Livingstone Hotel seemed a little pricey.....but wow, this is such a special place. The setting alone is spectacular and the grounds are beautifully kept. Our rooms on the upper level were lovely with balconies that overlooked the Zambezi River and the Sunset Bar. The ambiance was exceptional; watching the sun set over the Zambezi River was pure magic. We especially liked being so close to Victoria Falls and walked there several times.

This was our first stop so seeing elephants, zebras, impalas, giraffes, baboons and monkeys roam the property provided a fun introduction to Africa. The grounds staff was helpful in making sure we spotted the wildlife and sometimes escorted us to the "prime" observation areas. One evening, a pair of elephants interrupted happy hour as they fed on the trees near the bar and a family of zebras grazed a few feet from our rooms.

We loved the restaurant. The food was excellent...especially the steak, prawns, goat cheese appetizer and crocodile omelete. We enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners al fresco and found the prices quite reasonable.

The Island Breezer Tour (tour of Livingstone Island) was our favorite activity….we never dreamed we would get within a foot of the falls’ edge…and even had the opportunity to "swim"! Our timing was quite good as the rainbows on our 9:00 a.m. excursion were stunning. Seeing hippos and elephants on the boat ride back to the hotel was an unexpected bonus. We enjoyed our afternoon helicopter tour as well....seeing the falls from the air was thrilling, but this was the only activity that felt rushed.

One morning we took a taxi from the hotel to the curio market in Livingstone; this proved to be a fun and somewhat adventurous way to collect some souvenirs. We encountered one issue in room 5082: the fan for the heat/AC was extremely noisy, but intermittently so. The maintenance staff was responsive, but the issue was not resolved during our stay." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Mrs M
Peru

"Grat location"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"Beautiful hotel in a superb location" See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Beaconsfie

"Royal Livingstone Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2013
"The Royal Livingstone Hotel was a perfect bit of luxury after our safari. Although we'd read beforehand about the local residents, it was still a shocker to see a giraffe outside our door first thing in the morning!

The hotel was heavenly, from the hand massages offered to us at check-in, to the comfy beds and generous breakfasts. The Falls are practically on your doorstep, and the view from the hotel's deck is magical! But watch out for the monkeys which appear out of nowhere when nibbles are served with your drinks! Hilarious!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mr R
London

"Zambesi Sun, upgraded to Royal Livingstone"

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2013
"On arrival at the Zambesi Sun hotel we were told that because they had a conference on, we had been upgraded to the sister hotel, the 5 star Royal Livingstone.

For us the hotel was just somewhere to sleep and have breakfast before venturing out to the falls and other excursions, rather than spending a lot of time relaxing by the pool. So, while it was a lovely place, situated as it is on the banks of the river and within easy walking distance of the Victoria Falls, we ate no meals apart from breakfast and spent our days and evenings elsewhere in the main. Breakfasts were a huge buffet and of excellent quality. Such service as we had was good. Both the Zambesi Sun and Royal Livingstone share extensive grounds, or rather a mini safari park given the zebra, antelope and giraffe roaming free therein. There is direct access to the falls from the Zambesi Sun side of the grounds.

A good base for the falls, river trips (we went fishing as well as enjoying a sunset cruise) and the nearby town of Livingstone with its museums, bars and restaurants. We found an excellent indian restaurant (the Golden Leaf) and ate there twice in our 3 days." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Amigos
Spain

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Apr 2013
"I must say I enjoyed this hotel. It is on the river and a few minutes walk from Vic Falls themselves

The whole thing in sort of "an Americans idea of a British colonial hotel in the 1890s" but with modern bedrooms. There is an incredible reconstruction of a colonial bar, and someone (I assume with a sense of humour has kitted the staff out with outlandish uniform - the porters in pith helmets and Bermuda shorts, the man who greets you is in a multicoloured robe with a matching flat hat, the "butler" is in a white uniform with a red sash, and topped with a red fez

We took their steam train excursion for dinner, which is expensive, but we enjoyed, particularly as we got a ride on the footplate when the engine changed ends to return to Livingstone.

And its only a 20 minute ride to the airport" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs B
Norwary

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms M
Houston

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2012
"The accomodations were outstanding.

We really enjoyed the room, grounds, scenery, and activities nearby." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs C
Streatha

"Royal Livingstone"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"The location is stunning and the rooms are very well appointed.

Unfortunately the levels of service have dropped significantly in the past two years in the restaurant and bar. The bar deck by the river is a wonderful place but service was very poor with the staff standing around chatting and taking long times to deliver drinks. The quality of the food in the restaurant was very mixed, some good and some poor. However our experience was coloured by one dinner when I received overcooked food and the very poor reaction to resolving the problem." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Ilkley

"Colonial Royal Livinstone"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2012
"We have very mixed views about the Royal Livingstone Hotel.

It is in a beautiful setting, the falls are amazing, and on the whole our stay there was pleasant. It is however, a large and busy hotel and there is no escaping this, often visited by large tour parties. The aeriel activity (helicopters and microlights) over the falls which run from dawn until dusk makes this quite a noisy place, which came as quite a shock after the peace and quiet of the African bush. Over and above this however, our greatest objection is to the hotel's efforts to retain a colonial feel. Staff are all dressed in pastiche colonial dress which personally we feel is quite deeming. We come to Africa for Africa! Why can there not be pride in African dress?

During our stay we made gentle enquiries with staff regarding their views on the uniforms and in the most part they reported disliking them. Overall service was very good but we found the level of attentiveness on occasions oppressive." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 84
93%
84 reviews of Royal Livingstone Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
58
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa