This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr F & Mrs M from Peru

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

0

Beautiful experience

Kenya and 1 other country between 20 Jul 2013 and 3 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We greatly enjoyed our holidays...Mara Camp was superb and our stay at Royal Livingstone was also excellent. Maybe Rovos Rail was not the best choice for a trip with our sons."

Hogmead

Hogmead

"Beautiful house"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"Beautiful place, excellent service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

"Excellent in all aspects"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2013
"Great location, tents have just been refurbished and are beautifully done. Excellent guide and game safaris. I would really recommend it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hogmead

Hogmead

"Hogmead review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"We were given a small room, very different than our experience when we first arrived in Nairobi."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Grat location"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"Beautiful hotel in a superb location"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Rovos Rail

"Nice but not for young people"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"A luxury train, with excellent service and food. However, the train route is very monotonous...the same scenery during the 3 days. The only stop to a cattle ranch is not worth it. There are limited activities in the train...no internet, for example and for young people it is not very exciting!"
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Image alt

The Majalis Lamu

"The Majalis Lamu review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2013
"Was not able to complete this part of the trip."
Excellent

An excellent african experience

South Africa and 3 other countries between 16 Jul 2012 and 10 Aug 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall, I am quite satisfied with my trip. I found that all details were perfectly organized. We had no problems at all with reservations of airlines and hotels. All previous information before the trip was very helpful, as well as the books that we received."

City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"a convenient hotel"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"A convenient hotel for sleeping between the different destinations. Hotel rooms a little small, but comfortable."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"A good start for our trip"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2012
"We enjoyed our stay at Nxabeja specially for the excellent staff and attention.

They catered to my special dietary needs from the first day. The tents were nice but very cold at night! The game tours were excellent, with very good and specialized rangers."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

"A different look at Africa"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2012
"A nice ship, very nicely decorated. The food was good, but not spectacular and I did not get special attention to my dietary needs. Lunches were a buffet type, but without a great variety. The activities were OK. The best were the sundown cruise and the dinner served on land.

Passing through Namibia and Bostwana inmigration posts serveral times was very annoying."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2012
"The same as previous comment"
Average
Image alt

Marlin Lodge, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"A nice rest after a safari"

5 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2012
"A nice lodge in a nice location with comfortable rooms. Maybe sometimes too quiet. Colette was extremely friendly, as well as all the staff. I would suggest, as I have already done in the hotel feedback, that service during dinner is too slow. Sometimes dinner could last 2 hours!!!

The picnic to Shell island was spectacular as well as the tour to Paradise Island that we booked. We really enjoyed them.
If I could go back in time, maybe I would have booked just 3 nights here and 2 in Indigo Bay to have a look at Bazaruto Island."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2012
"Same as previous comments"
Average
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Now called Serena Dar es Salaam"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2012
"We were only passing through. Conveniently located, with a lot of security, comfortable rooms and good food."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

"Beautiful setting"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2012
"The setting of this camp is beautiful, with the river and the hippos. The tents were also quiet nice- My suggestion is regarding the poor lighting, specially in the bathrooms.

The service was very good; the food was nice but I didn't get a special attention to my dietary needs.

The game tours were OK, not as good as compared to Nxabeja maybe because there are not so many animals in the area.

If I could go back to deciding the trip, I would have probably chosen another camp in the Serengeti with a better game area, like Kleins Camp or in central Serengeti. However, at the time I did not have the information I now have."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

"The best lodge of our trip....superb!!!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2012
"We loved staying here.....excellent decoration, room, service, ranger!!! Very recommendable!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sultan Palace

Sultan Palace

"A small hotel with a personalized service"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2012
"This hotel would probable not have been my first choice, mainly because of the decoration of the lobby and the rooms. We also felt it was too quiet. However, we were upgraded to an imperial Suite and the attention of Paola made us change our mind. Paola and her staff were extremely nice and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable all the time. The food was excellent!!!

If I had to plan my trip again, i would probably have chosen to stay here a few days and then go to a hotel in the north area, which we visited and felt were more lively."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"A big disappointment"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2012
"A great disappointment!!! We were supposed to have been given the Livingstone Suite, but were given the Spice Room because they said the other room was not ready??? The room had a terrible odor, musty, humid. We could not sleep that night because of the odor, the terrible noise of the street and the hard pillows. I expressed my concerns and did not receive a good explanation other than they knew about the smell!!"
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Poor
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2012
"Same as previous comments"
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team