This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge


3°14’23.9"S 35°29’46.2"E

Reviews of Crater Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Crater Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Crater Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P & Mr L
Surrey

"Luxury on the edge of a caldera"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2018
"Wonderful food and beautiful room" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Herts

"Location, location, location."

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"The Ngorongoro Crater lodge are "sitting on their laurels"and taking full advantage of the location, with minimum effort! The staff were jaded and cynical, with regard to customer service.
We didn't realise we had a butler until half way through our stay. No bath and no fire on our first night, until requested. No attempt was made to enhance the communal areas at night.The outside fire pits were ready but not lit.
The views were amazing, but the accommodation is in serious need of refurbishment. The quality of the cooking was varied.
Game viewing was excellent and the trip to Empakai Crater was a highlight of the holiday." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Martina
Austria

"On the Top !"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2017
"Everybody knows by now that this lodge is considered one of the very best in Africa, so there is no need to add our "hym of praise": Situated on the rim of the crater ( due to this fact you reach the bottom of it as one of the first in the morning, when it is still a bit more quiet there), spectacular views, zebras on the lawn, extravagancy of the interior as well as of the service.

Some details were really unbelievable and never experienced before: having the breakfast table laid just for us and without being asked to on the very spot that we personally preferred was as uncomparable a treat as having a hot bath waiting for us when returning from the game drive ! In addition to the extravagancy it was the personal touch of the luxury that made our stay so outstanding.

Our guide showed the by now well known and appreciated "And Beyond" - guidance - quality.

The crater itself is a busy place: one group of lions, at least ten cars ! Anyway, this is a touristic hotspot (what we knew beforehand) and you can hardly visit Tansania without having been there !" See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Torreon

"Amazing views!!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2017
"At Ngorongoro Crater Lodge you have amazing views of the crater not only at the common areas but also at any area of your room this lodge has a unique architecture worth a visit, the crater is a unique place for a Safari." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Kenya; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cumbria

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"It's hard to find words to describe this lodge, The various cottages set amongst the trees was reminiscent of Africa's version of Hobiton in the Shire. However, once inside your cottage/suite and the main lodge, then it's pure luxury, albeit somewhat odd. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

On arrival we had a late afternoon game drive and the following day we decided to make it a full day. Lunch was taken at one of the regular picnic spots close to a lake. Whilst Peter, our guide, was setting out the food we saw some nearby zebra suddenly make a dash for higher ground. It turned out that there was a female lion about 150 mtrs away, amongst some rocky ground, that had been stalking the zebras.. There was a large number of vehicles and people in the area for a picnic and nobody was bothered at all, most trying to get better photographs. Amazing. The biggest problem was a black kite trying to snatch your food.

Highlight of the day was a pack of lions taking a buffalo. Our vehicle was one of the first to witness the whole event from start to finish. By the end there were over sixty 4x4's lined up along the crater track!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Gloucester

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"To be honest we had a bit of a problem with this place. It is billed as being opulent but we had not expected a hotel in Tanzania to be quite so OTT. Quirky for sure, a bit like the Hobbit meets Louis 14th. Somewhat unusual rooms from the outside, with completely OTT heavy French style furnishings inside. The rooms had a fire place and seating corner with free bar around that, a big bed (very comfortable) but we had to tell them not to keep heating the room as it was plenty warm enough already.

We were allocated a butler whose job was to look after us and a few other rooms. Not many rooms were occupied and so there was no problem with service although we were not entirely comfortable with him. The room manageress and lodge manager and butler turned out to meet us when we arrived and to say goodbye when we left - clearly looking for tips (I don't mind tipping but don't like being pressured about it).

The thing that irked the most, was that we returned from an interesting safari to find a huge bath full of hot water. Unrequested. I am sure they think this is good service, but this is a real waste of water in a country that can ill-afford that, and a waste of energy to heat it. Then we found that it was still hot an hour later which meant that the bath itself was heated. If you did or did not use it, the water was wasted and it was not a small amount. Multiply this by all the rooms and it is hardly environmentally friendly. By all means ask first, but don't waste water for no reason.

The hotel did not re-use towels or make much attempt to save energy at all as far as we could tell.

The restaurant was in the main building, also quirky and heavily furnished. Food was good and dinner was served after pre-dinner drinks together with our guide for the next day.

The crater experience itself was very interesting and unlike a 'normal' safari in that the animals are somewhat captive in the crater. Given that this was the low season, there were more than enough vehicles at most wildlife sightings. It must be terrible in the high season. We did have a great day however and credit to our excellent guide for that. He really was very good.

Overall we would say that two nights here were plenty with one day on safari. For the hotel - sorry, not for us. Was it good - yes, very. Was it an eco hotel - a big no. Did we feel comfortable there - not really. Who is it aimed at - not entirely sure. Would we recommend it to others - we don't think so. All a bit of a contradiction so pretty hard to rate below" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
N London

"Unique lodge on the crater rim"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"Unusual design for a game lodge - the interior is a combination of several African and European styles - it sort of works, but I suspect is not for everyone. Delightful service from the team, especially the management who dealt with a possible change in itinerary very efficiently. Superb guide (Kitoi) - charming and knowledgeable, very warm with the children. Charming and helpful butler.

Great game viewing, although a little frustrating (but understandable) that the roads are limited so it's not always possible to get close to all the animals. I would suggest that unless you are a really avid game watcher, 2/3 game drives is enough in the Crater as the area is much smaller than the wide expanse of a game park.

Extremely bumpy 1hr ride down to the lodge and very dusty - not an issue for us but other travellers may need to know this!

Cold at night and we did not think that the rooms were warm enough in the evening. They are large spaces and a fire in one corner is not quite sufficient. This might be an issue for more sensitive travellers going at this time of year." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H
Vancouver

"Over-the top on the Rim"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"This is a quirky over-the-top lodge sitting on the Rim of the crater.

Beautiful views down into the crater from your huge room with amazing soaker tub. Luxurious setting and accommodation. The staff and service were amazing. It is a more traditional feeling lodge (in a "Dr Seuss meets safari" kind of way).

Definately a unique experience!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr B
California

"Location Location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2016
"I would advise friends to not spend 3k a night if atmosphere and view is not the be all!....end all...for their Safari experience. It's a lot of money. At that price it can be a disappointment.

It was absolutely beautiful and had magic in the ambiance...view... The food was almost great. Staff not as personal. I know park fee are more in the crater so that plays a part in the price." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Guernsey

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"An amazing location. We were disappointed with the room which was dark and cold until the log fire was lit each evening while we at dinner. The balcony didn't appear to be appropriately maintained.

The staff were pleasant and attentive but the tipping culture felt too overt.

To balance our review I did receive a very special birthday cake and enjoyed listening to the choir which was a generous and thoughtful touch." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 27
93%
27 reviews of Crater Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
6
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa