This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge


3°14’23.9"S 35°29’46.2"E

Reviews of Crater Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Crater Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Crater Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Wales

"Stunning hotel"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2015
"Absolutely fabulous in every way.

The staff were fantastic, incredible attention to detail. And a perfect hotel for a honeymoon - we got back from our safari to find a bath had been run for us surrounded by rose petals and with champagne on ice!

The food was second to none and the service outstanding. Would love to back to celebrate our wedding anniversary" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms G
London

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2015
"Although we were the only guests in the lodge, everyone put themselves out to make our stay memorable, including putting rose petals around our dining table and putting on a show just for us.

Although most guests stay just two nights here, we would have preferred to stay for three nights and perhaps go on a walking safari and have some time to relax.

A splendid location which sadly we were not able to appreciate fully, even though we did manage three trips into the crater itself." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Chelsea

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2014
"Absolutely amazing all round. The location, decor, vibe, service, food, wine, guides, view. All fantastic. One of the best places we've ever stayed in the world. The game drive is slightly controlled and limited when compared to Serengeti/Selous but a great intro to safari for us as a first stop! Even had a Masai performance on New Year's Eve which was brilliant!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Australia

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Ngorongoro is a must do but we would not visit again. Too crowded and limited range.

The lodge was amazing - way over the top but a fantastic experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Madison

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"Great location with beautiful vistas of the crater. The rooms and facilitates were eclectic and opulent, not to my own decorating taste but it appeared guests at this lodge were pleased with the style. There was some signs on the interior and exterior of the facilities of ware and tear.

The service was excellent, highly professional and friendly. Our driver/guide was the best we had on the trip.

Animal viewing in the crater was fair to good but the volume of traffic was often a distraction and occasionally annoying. At one lion sighting we counted 20 cars all maneuvering for position." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
WMD

"A unique experience"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"A very unique experience, one could never imagine what lay behind the door to our suite, the decore and comfort was amazing complete with our own log fire, glass of Sherry and all the trappings of a luxury home.

The crater is a truly natural phenomenon that never ceases to take your breath away, however we found the amount of vehicles in the crater resembled a circus, but the animals appeared completely unperturbed." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Abu Dhabi

"Three brothers"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"The first of our wonderful 'singing welcomes'. The staff couldn't have made us feel more welcome and special with a birthday card and champagne in our room. Cheby, who had met us at Lake Manyara airstrip with welcome coffee and cookies, proved to be a knowledgeable guide, ensuring that we enjoyed the Masai Massage of the bumpy drive ! During a game drive he positioned the truck perfectly for us to see the meeting up of two male lions with a third - the tension was apparent as one of the pair looked over the plain at the distantly approaching third, who he finally recognised and welcomed right next to our truck. Cheby thought all three were litter mates.

Cheby ensured we saw the sunrise over the crater and later provided a wonderful breakfast picnic at the hippo pond. After 8 hours of the rattling Masai Massage and a visit to a Masai village, we lunched and we returned to our room to find a steaming hot bath, surrounded by rose petals, fluffy towels and a chilled bottle of champagne - another opportunity to celebrate our birthdays and soak away the aches and pains of a long dusty day.

The evening drinks in the lounge were definitely the most sociable and friendly of all the three lodges we stayed in. Staff and guests sat together in a family style living room, chatting about the day, almost as if we had gone round to a friend's home for a dinner party. The roaring log fire was very welcome when we returned to our room. Excellent food." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
TV & Family
Portugal

"We were totally spoilt"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2013
"This was a great way to start our trip as we were tired after our long journey from London. From the outside, I wasn't impressed initially but once we were ushered inside any lingering doubts I had were swept away. Our breath was taken away by the sheer indulgence of the place which was quirkily decorated but still exuded luxury. Our rooms were also fantastic - from the huge bedroom with it's own sitting area complete with log stove to the incredible bathroom with the his and hers wash basins, the enormous shower and the standalone bath surrounded by roses.

The food was excellent too and the staff couldn't have done more for us. Our driver was also fantastic as he managed to avoid the main crowds that I had been expecting, so we did manage to feel as if were more or less alone in the crater - apart from the obvious picnic areas. Particularly enjoyed seeing the rhinos here albeit from quite a distance.

Yes, it is expensive, but worth it for the experience, which I would love to repeat again one day" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mss L & Mss W
NY

"Masai Meets Versailles!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2013
"The rooms are utterly amazing.

My friend and I were totally blown away by how beautiful they were. Also, the staff here was just so wonderful -- Nemis in particular made our stay just perfect. The lunch we had when we first arrived was unbelievable, as were the amenities and attention to detail by everyone there throughout our stay.

It was our favorite hotel of the trip, hands down." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Mrs M
Peru

"The best lodge of our trip....superb!!!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2012
"We loved staying here.....excellent decoration, room, service, ranger!!! Very recommendable!!!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 27
93%
27 reviews of Crater Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
6
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (40 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (40 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (32 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


91% (21 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


95% (17 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


96% (9 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa