This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Chelsea

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Dec 2014 trip

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 28 Dec 2014 and 15 Jan 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was put together perfectly and at each juncture, the part awaiting us was exactly what we needed/ wanted to compliment the last and maintain variety. We were so impressed with the quality of the &Beyond destinations in particular- they really are a cut above- so slick. But saying that, Beho Beho was such an incredible experience, the whole Selous felt manicured it was all so perfect. Ellie has just been amazing throughout and the guidance in putting together such a trip of a lifetime was invaluable. We're not sure that we will ever top this trip. But then again, that's the sign of the most perfect honeymoon..."

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 29 Dec 2014
"Was fine as a basic overnight stop off. The staff were very nice and helpful. The actual hotel wasn't that nice though nor was the room. The location is just on Kenya's equivalent of a motorway too. I'm not sure if there are any hotel airports in Nairobi but if there are that would have been an easier stopover."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

"Ngorongoro Crater Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2014
"Absolutely amazing all round. The location, decor, vibe, service, food, wine, guides, view. All fantastic. One of the best places we've ever stayed in the world. The game drive is slightly controlled and limited when compared to Serengeti/Selous but a great intro to safari for us as a first stop! Even had a Masai performance on New Year's Eve which was brilliant!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

"Serengeti under Canvas review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2015
"Wow! What an experience. We thoroughly loved it here. So unique in terms of experience. The camp was so well devised (ridiculously luxurious camping), the staff so friendly and helpful, the food and wine incredible especially given the location. We were treated to private dinners under the stars, drinks round the campfire and a fantastic birthday singing/dancing performance. The game drives were really good; so many animals and such diversity. Totally brilliant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2015
"The real Jurassic Park; a phenomenal place. From touchdown on the most beautiful runway we fell in love with the place- it certainly felt like real wilderness without another jeep in sight. The lodge was splendid with amazing views over the stunning remote countryside. The room was incredible with one side open across the valley. Dining is en famille which made for very interesting evenings listening to tales from Mamma B. The standout for us was the walking safari which was an exhilarating if not terrifying experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat

"Matemwe Retreat review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2015
"Loved the location of Matemwe and the amazing villa and personal butler service too. The beaches themselves were disappointing (plenty of sea debris on tide line) and it wasn't really easy to swim. The food was good (not exceptional as in other places) and wines/beers were decent but spirits and cocktails were very limited (many of which weren't included despite being
Quite bog standard). Main bar and swimming pool disappointing. Could have done with windows in the room and air conditioning that worked as it was very hot and there were mosquitoes despite the season.There wasn't much to do there but it was a retreat so we were happy to relax for a few days in our lovely rooftop infinity pool."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

"Mnemba Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2015
"Simply stunning all round. We basically inhabited our own slice of the island- it really was a true dessert island experience without another hut or person in sight. The huts are beautifully designed, very spacious and open to the elements; again adding to the Robinson Crusoe feel. The staff were fantastic and did everything possible to make our stay memorable including performing a guitar jamming session, arranging romantic candlelit dinners on the beach and in a hidden clearing in the trees, putting on a wine tasting evening, releasing baby turtles into the sea. The food was absolutely exceptional and the chef will cook pretty much anything on request. The lobster and prawn dishes were beautiful. The whole place and all the touches had such a high end quality- truly a top destination in the world."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team