This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Matemwe Retreat
Matemwe Retreat
Matemwe Retreat
Matemwe Retreat

Reviews of Matemwe Retreat

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Matemwe Retreat and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Chelsea

"Matemwe Retreat review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2015
"Loved the location of Matemwe and the amazing villa and personal butler service too. The beaches themselves were disappointing (plenty of sea debris on tide line) and it wasn't really easy to swim. The food was good (not exceptional as in other places) and wines/beers were decent but spirits and cocktails were very limited (many of which weren't included despite being
Quite bog standard). Main bar and swimming pool disappointing. Could have done with windows in the room and air conditioning that worked as it was very hot and there were mosquitoes despite the season.There wasn't much to do there but it was a retreat so we were happy to relax for a few days in our lovely rooftop infinity pool." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs CD
London

"Luxury private retreat"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Incredible accommodation and a luxury experience having our own butler - who was really nice and attentive. As we were on honeymoon we spent most of the time at the retreat as we wanted some seclusion on the last part of our honeymoon.

Sometimes the food was excellent and sometimes quite average. It is a bit more resorty when you do go down to the main area and it is a bit of a walk. We were encouraged to join other guests for one night down at the restaurant, where the food unfortunately wasnt that great. The views from our place were fantastic.

We did a nice snorkelling trip (although the coral wasnt a vibrant as Chumbe) and were luck enough to come across dolphin (a wonderful experience). Overall a great stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
AB
Essex

"Matemwe Retreat review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2014
"We had a wonderful stay here - the villa was delightful - great view, spacious, comfortable and very private.

George, who looked after us was very attentive and good fun; the spa was WONDERFUL - well the massages were to die for.

Matemwe is very well run and the management team are superb - all the staff were brilliant.

Will definitely return." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss J & Mr S
Sutton

"WOW, WOW, WOW!!!"

7 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"What an amazing place this was! My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights on the final stop of our honeymoon. It was really difficult choosing a place to stay in Zanzibar as there seem to be so many options, but boy oh boy am I glad we chose Matemwe Retreat.

After a bumpy ride down a dodgy looking dirt road through Matemwe Village we arrived at Matemwe Retreat and we were welcomed by Abdi, our butler with a cold towel and drink. From that moment on our stay was amazing! Abdi was great and did everything (booking activities, drinks, food, advice etc etc etc etc) he could to make our stay enjoyable.

We stayed in Zam Zam and the villas are fantastic, very spacious and the views of the ocean are to die for. The pool on the rooftop was the best bit and we loved that we didn't have to leave our villa at all if we didn't want to.

The food is amazing and I think we had seafood for every meal. This is caught by the local villagers and bought by the hotel and it is always superb. We dined on a few occasions at the main hotel when they had Swahili night and a BBQ. Both were excellent! The cocktail of the day also went down very well:-)

In terms of activities, there is a fairly wide choice. We choose to do snorkelling, the guided reef walk (both provided by the hotel) and diving. All are fantastic and there is loads to sea out there in the ocean! We also had an amazing 3 hour massage pamper session, which was excellent. I don't think I've ever felt so relaxed.

All in all, there are not enough superlatives to describe this place. I was very sad to leave this little piece of paradise and I would recommend it in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Birghton

"Wonderful Matemwe Retreat"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2011
"Matemwe Retreat could not be more appropriately named – it is a relaxing haven with all you could wish for in an idyllic setting. The rooms are beautiful with rustic-chic styling, and the top deck with the plunge pool is simply stunning. We were very well looked after by Thadeo who was attentive, friendly, and a mine of information on island life and culture.

We did the snorkelling trip one morning and it was well worth the early start – a sailing trip on a dhow, amazing marine life, and a delicious, simple picnic on a deserted sandbank. The main lodge at Matemwe is beautiful, too, and Thadeo was our waiter there on the couple of occasions we chose to venture out to the main restaurant.

We had 3 days here, but we could happily have stayed for a couple more. It is the perfect mix of elegance and sophistication with a relaxed, laid back vibe." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Yorks

"Matemwe retreat review"

5 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"We really enjoyed the space and privacy of our villa, Safina. Our butler Daniel was superb, could not do enough for us, and his calm quiet manner was delightful.

Sally took the trouble to check that everything was ok which was very thoughtful. We had a couple of meals at the Bungalows, the food was good throughout the stay and the bar was well stocked.

The view from the villa was beautiful with stunning sunrises, the rooftop plunge pool was a great way to cool off as we watched the dhows sail by. The bath was enormous with ocean view.

We were disappointed with the snorkelling off Mnemba, the trip was well organised but there were many boats all chasing dolphin and both guests and guide were touching both coral and fish." See all these reviews: 11n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Cap Ferrat

"Overall disappointing"

4 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2009
"Fantastic location and snorkelling but everything else was a complete diappointment. The concept of the lodge was fantastic but the fixtures and fittings were a disgrace.

Air Conditioning was broken and took 3 days and 6 men in our room to fix. The toilet never functioned and was replaced during our stay causing great inconvenience and intrusion by maintenance staff. The welcoming gave us no confidence as management were not present and this feeling continued throughout our stay.

Should have been the idealic end of a fantastic holiday but by the end we were just happy to leave." See all these reviews: 17n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Terrible
Miss P-A
China

"Matemwe Retreat review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"If you are able to stay at the Matemwe Retreat why try to go somewhere else? The villa is fantastic; the view is amazing, our butler Mwuyni made us feel so special with all his pampering!

It was an unique experience and considering that we live near the mythical beaches of Thailand, forget it..this is the most beautiful beach we have seen! The water has as the most amazing blue color, the sand is so soft almost like flour (if you could compare).

The only thing that we regret is that the Mnemba atoll was overcrowded.

The Safina Villa was so good that it was very hard to leave it..the private pool..the sunrise..the beach and the people fishing and singing just a few meters in front of us created a magical atmosphere! Brilliant!
" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Kestrels
New York

"Matemwe Retreat review"

6 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"The retreat was great. Our personal porter, Paul, couldn't have been any more helpful, attentive and interesting. He was great. Beautiful room.

The food was only ok here. Not the same level of cooking as at Gibbs or Sayari." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 1-9 of 9
89%
9 reviews of Matemwe Retreat by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
2
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in East Coast Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel is comfortable, good-value, family-friendly beach lodge, with a lovely pool, secluded beach and good food.


95% (87 reviews)
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge is one of our favourite beach lodges. With only 12 cottages right on the edge of the old coral cliff, it is personal and relaxing.


89% (44 reviews)
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge has a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful infinity pool, sitting above a stunning stretch of beach on Zanzibar's east coast.


88% (30 reviews)
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba is a private island resort with 11 chalets, fringed by some of the best coral reefs in the Zanzibar area.


96% (10 reviews)
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine (sister of Sunshine Hotel) is located in a secluded part of the east coast, with a first-rate, in-house dive centre.


90% (6 reviews)
Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel

Located right on the beach, with bright rooms and a colourful garden, the Sunshine has a lively, relaxed atmosphere.


85% (4 reviews)
Green and Blue

Green & Blue

The pretty Green and Blue hotel has a picture-postcard setting on a sweep white sand in the Matemwe area of Zanzibar’s north-east coast.


80% (2 reviews)
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel

Zanzibar Pearl

Formally known as Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel is one of the newest properties on the island


No reviews yet
Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar is a very large resort hotel on Zanzibar’s east coast and is well equipped for business and leisure trips.


No reviews yet
Matemwe Beach House

Matemwe Beach House

Located on Zanzibar's stunning east coast, Matemwe Beach House offers private accommodation for friends or families travelling together.


No reviews yet
Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibibar Beach Resort is a 16-room boutique beach hotel that opened in 2016 on Zanzibar's east coast.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa