This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema

Reviews of Serra Cafema

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serra Cafema and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Serra Cafema.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Bath

"Serra Cafema review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"Serra Cafema is in the far north of Namibia, set on the banks of the Kunene River and on the border with Angola. The flight to its airstrip is spectacular, particularly if you fly over the Skeleton Coast. The airstrip is a long way from the camp but the journey is again spectacular and full of photographic opportunities. The welcome at the airstrip was exceptionally good.

The camp is approached along a board walk and hugs the river bank. It is very spacious and comfortable with plenty of different dining areas both inside and outdoors. We ate at a different location for each lunch and evening meal - the camp goes to a lot of trouble to look after you and give you surprises and the menus and hospitality are excellent.

Activities include trips into the desert, walks, visiting a Himba village, boat trips on the river , quad biking etc. Everything is very photogenic and tailored tp your requirements.

Individual lodges are spacious and well equipped.

My only disappointment with the camp is that the diesel generator used first thing in the morning and in the evening is noisy and intrusive to the rooms closest to it. This would be rooms 1 and 2, we were in 1, and if we return (likely) i would insist on a room further away. The camp manager altered the start time for the generator from 0500 to 0600 but for a camp of this quality, the generator should be further away and better sound proofed.

Overall though an exceptional camp and a great experience, particularly the interaction with the Himba people, the quad biking and the breath taking scenery." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The CWs
UK

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2014
"Without doubt, our stay at Serra Cafema was the highlight of our trip. Not only is the location unrivaled, but also the guiding, the service and the ambiance.

Gert, our guide, deserves special mention, since he was a most professional, knowledgeable and kind, especially to our 12-year old son. We enjoyed all activities with him and learned much about the Himba culture, geogolgy and wildlife in the area.

Without exception, all the staff were excellent. We will remember their friendliness and smiling faces for many years to come. Clement, the deputy manager, is an fantastic host who made us feel most welcome.

The attention to detail is outstanding, so that even out in this remote wilderness, Easter was not forgotten. The surprises laid on by the camp ensure that no day is the same. The three days here went all too quickly!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Hereford

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"This place is amazing. It really is in the middle of nowhere and the setting is sensational.

Everything we did here was exciting from the scenic drive where we found a horned adder, to the quad biking which was fantastic. Who would think that quads would go up and down sand dunes as they did. This was the camp where we felt we would spend more time very happily.

The camp is so beatifully positioned and well run that time goes too quickly. It is very expensive and we ended up there courtesy of Wilderness Safari's generosity. We were unable to go to their Skeleton Coast camp as it did not open on time so happily accepted an upgrade to Serra Cafema. We were so glad we did." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2013
"A wonderful place to finish our sightseeing trip. Once more we were given special treatment, champagne on arrival at the airstrip, the honeymoon suite, special private dinner in a pavilion, and more champagne at the end of the stay.

Such delightful people, especially our guide, Gheradus and our waitress, Gina. Gheradus made sure we saw as many birds as possible, all of which he knew at a glance, and took us for two exciting boat trips, one of which resulted in us seeing at very close hand, a crocodile take a cow from a group drinking in the river.

We were so pleased that Wilderness's CEO was staying there and we were able to express our appreciation for everyone's efforts and attentions, including our travel agent in London!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"The River and the Desert"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2012
"The location is awesome. So awesome I hesitate to spoil the experience for anyone who hasn't visited.

This is an excellent camp, and it excels in being very relaxed. We loved the scenery, the activities and the staff.

Top marks for luxury, lightly presented." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Guildford

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2011
"The location, ambience, food and staff were all excellent.
The river trip and the visit to the Himba tribe were highlights.

You will be aware of the incident which occurred to the friends we were travelling with, which sadly curtailed their holiday.
Mr and Mrs G. Miss will have written separately about this." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Guildford

"Serra Cafema review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"We had a very bad arrival experience here. We were not offered any activity for the afternoon and despite being told that our guide would introduce himself and advise us at dinner, neither he nor anyone else did. After an hour of pre dinner drinks we went in search of the manager! .

The first afternoon and evening definitely spoilt our visit, and although this is considered one of the best camps in Namibia, we found it the least friendly of all the places we visited." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
E Sussex

"Beautiful Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"The scenery at Serra Cafema is unbelievable. The camp is very special in a great location.

We couldn't fault it and had a great time there as the food is very good and there are interesting activities. However, it was too luxurious for us as we prefer to be part of the bush a bit more and prefer a simpler African experience.

We also suffered with lack of hot water here too!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Splendid Isolation"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"A wonderful camp in a wonderful location and good to have time to relax and appreciate our surroundings.

Interesting drives, walks and sundowners on the Angolan side whilst treating the crocodiles with respect." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Witney

"Stunning scenery at Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2010
"This was undoubtedly the high point of our holiday as far as accommodation is concerned. The suites are huge and beautifully appointed, really luxurious. Then there is the huge deck looking directly over the river. And they provide hot water bottles - very welcome, the nights (and early mornings) were really cold.

Food and service were great too, after the first evening we were the only guests there (such a pity, it deserves to have more visitors) so we had really individual attention.

The activities here are rather different from other places we visited - again making it a rather special place. The river trips (we had two) showed us the wildlife of the river - stunning birds and of course the crocodiles. Perhaps the most stunning was the goliath heron, seeing it fly majestically over the river, just skimming the surface, was magical.

Then the visit to the Himba village was fascinating, our only regret was not being able to talk to them directly, but our guide, Franco, was great at translating and very knowledgeable on their way of life. He was also very kind and patient when he took us on a quad bike excursion, very gentle for the "mature"." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 35
97%
35 reviews of Serra Cafema by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
31
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (63 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


100% (40 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


79% (37 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


99% (29 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


97% (12 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


96% (9 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa