This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema
Serra Cafema

Reviews of Serra Cafema

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serra Cafema and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Serra Cafema.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-29 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Guildford

"Serra Cafema review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"We had a very bad arrival experience here. We were not offered any activity for the afternoon and despite being told that our guide would introduce himself and advise us at dinner, neither he nor anyone else did. After an hour of pre dinner drinks we went in search of the manager! .

The first afternoon and evening definitely spoilt our visit, and although this is considered one of the best camps in Namibia, we found it the least friendly of all the places we visited." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
E Sussex

"Beautiful Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"The scenery at Serra Cafema is unbelievable. The camp is very special in a great location.

We couldn't fault it and had a great time there as the food is very good and there are interesting activities. However, it was too luxurious for us as we prefer to be part of the bush a bit more and prefer a simpler African experience.

We also suffered with lack of hot water here too!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Splendid Isolation"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2010
"A wonderful camp in a wonderful location and good to have time to relax and appreciate our surroundings.

Interesting drives, walks and sundowners on the Angolan side whilst treating the crocodiles with respect." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Witney

"Stunning scenery at Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2010
"This was undoubtedly the high point of our holiday as far as accommodation is concerned. The suites are huge and beautifully appointed, really luxurious. Then there is the huge deck looking directly over the river. And they provide hot water bottles - very welcome, the nights (and early mornings) were really cold.

Food and service were great too, after the first evening we were the only guests there (such a pity, it deserves to have more visitors) so we had really individual attention.

The activities here are rather different from other places we visited - again making it a rather special place. The river trips (we had two) showed us the wildlife of the river - stunning birds and of course the crocodiles. Perhaps the most stunning was the goliath heron, seeing it fly majestically over the river, just skimming the surface, was magical.

Then the visit to the Himba village was fascinating, our only regret was not being able to talk to them directly, but our guide, Franco, was great at translating and very knowledgeable on their way of life. He was also very kind and patient when he took us on a quad bike excursion, very gentle for the "mature"." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2009
"- Dinner rather late
- Again, it would have been nice to have had some access to the outside world (eg internet)

But a stunning place in wondeful location and scenery" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Serra Cafema review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"The location of the camp is amazing and the rooms were lovely.

The green ribbon of vegetation along the river in the middle of the desert is quite stunning
Francois was an excellent guide. We very much enjoyed our walks and drives with him.

Serra Cafema has separate tables for evening meals which we feel detracts from the camp experience. Also, as the dining room is indoors at this time of year, the parrafin smell from the hurricane lamps on each table can be a bit unpleasant when you are eating." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms W
London

"Amazing place, simply unique"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2009
"Serrra Cafema was perhaps in many ways the highlight of our trip and we wished we would have stayed for 3 nights instead of the 2 we had. We had the honeymoon room which has views of both the Kunene river and the dunes and this was simply a magical place.

The rooms were huge with all the luxuries required and we sometimes wished we would have just been able to relax in the our room if it were not for all the great activities available. The camp is very remote, but the 1-hour drive from the airstrip is beautiful and you really feel that you have come somewhere special.

The activities include visits to the local Himba community, quad-biking trips, boat trips on the Kunene river and nature/game drives/walks in the surrounding area. Our guide Gerhardus was fantastic and very enthusiastic and made our experience fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know him and also had dinner with him on the last night of our stay. The managers Bronkie and Victoria would also do everything to try and make our stay special and we really appreciated their friendly and approachable manner.

The food was great, though at least in April you do have to be careful with a lot of insects and moths that they do not fall in your food/drink, but this is to be expected given the abundant life supported by the river.

Overall, we thought the activities and facilities were top-notch and we hope that one day we may be able to return to Serra Cafema again." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C
Chelmsford

"Serra Cafema review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Absolutely superb in every respect. What a unique experience. The high spot of the trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Goshawks
Merseyside

"Serra Cafema review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2008
"A very special place - it seemed somewhat surrealistic to have such comfort and care in one of the remotest places in Namibia.

We enjoyed our time on the river and were heartened by the sensitive and special relationship the Lodge had with the local Himba families" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-29 of 29
96%
29 reviews of Serra Cafema by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
3
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

Right on the Skeleton Coast, between Swakopmund and Damaraland, Cape Cross Lodge has easy access to Cape Cross Seal Reserve.


87% (56 reviews)
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (33 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (3 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (2 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa