This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge

Reviews of Cape Cross Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cape Cross Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Cape Cross Lodge.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Worcs

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"Location was superb, an excellent break on our drive from Swakopmund along the Skeleton Coast." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C & Mr R
Bristol

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"We spent one night here. Again staff were welcoming, room great (and very large!) with sea view.

The manager was very informative about the history of the area. We enjoyed the visit to the seal colony very much. On the way back to Swakopmund we also visited a wreck which we'd missed on the way out due to the fog." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H
Bedfordshire

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"An odd place. A Namibian winter possibly not the best time to stay, as there was no heating in the very large, very attractive rooms.

A fire was lit in the lounge/dining area which helped but the feeling was rather bleak.

However, it is the only place to stay if you wish to see the seals. And they were worth it." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Cape Cross Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2013
"Went to photograph the conflict between seals and jackals but no jackals at the colony although saw one at the lodge water point.

Staff friendly and helpful,one excellent evening meal" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Mysterious Cape Cross"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: All areas of this lodge were easily accessible.

After walk along the beach, which was completely deserted, I turned round to look at the lodge through the coming mist, making it look very eerie (but in a good way!)

Lovely to wake to the noise of the crashing waves.

The seal sanctuary is worth a visit but take a peg for your nose." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Chester

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2013
"The staff were attentive and the food was good, we were able to walk to the seal colony." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Coventry

"Dramatic location"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2013
"Our hosts in Swakopmund advised us to delay our departure for Cape Cross until the afternoon since the wind had shifted to the east and there was a risk of sandstorms early in the day. But we made good time driving north on the salt road and arrived in time to visit the fur seal colony, have a pleasant walk along the deserted endless beach, and return to the lodge to watch the sun setting over the ocean.

Our ground floor room was big, with doors opening on to a small patio and the beach.The bathroom with shower was small but functional. With no heating in the room we expected it to be cold during the night, so left all the lights on while we went for dinner, which certainly took the chill off. With only four other guests staying overnight the large dining room was not exactly cosy, but the meal and smiling service made up for that. A set menu starter of beef carpaccio was followed by tasty butternut squash soup, a choice of sole on the bone or oryx steak, and pumpkin pie to finish. The oryx steak was tender enough to be cut with the fish knife used for the sole and the whole meal was probably the best of the holiday.

Staff were friendly and helpful, even allowing use of the PC at reception to access the internet." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Mrs L
Belgium

"Great view&location"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2012
"Beautiful located and super view of the ocean from your room
Visit to the cape cross seal reserve is amazing
Very friendly staff!!" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Mrs C
Hants.

"Disappointed at Cape Cross Lodge."

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2012
"I think we probably did not get the best out of this hotel because only two couples were booked overnight. The weather was cold and windy so we didn't even bother to visit the nearby seal colony, which was the whole point of coming here!

Our room was comfortable and spacious but being painted pale blue it made you feel as cold as the weather outside. There was no heating in the room but warm quilts were provided on the comfortable beds. There were good en suite facilities. We had a great view looking out over the beach and in better weather we could have enjoyed a pleasant walk along the sand.

We were staying on HB basis so the evening meal was included, although not in its entirety as it turned out. Apparently, we could choose anything from the four-course menu as long as the cost did not exceed N$220! Our server didn't explain beforehand but normally guests are presented with a set menu, the cost of which is incorporated into the room rate. However, as there were only four guests for dinner, we were being given a choice from the normal restaurant menu. Our original choice broke the budget so we had to do without the second starter!

The meal itself was pretty good, rump steak and pork chops being well cooked but we found the chips and baked potato very salty and there was very little vegetable to accompany the meat. The dessert was a very good banana cake with custard but it is not often that I finish a meal feeling hungry so overall, I would say value for money was poor.

In the morning one of the staff was washing our car, which was filthy from the drive up the coast from Swakopmund and this was very much appreciated. Breakfast was a reasonably good help-yourself buffet and hot food was cooked to order. However, the coffee served to us was awful and could have been left over from the night before.

This review should not put anyone off from coming here. This is a modern, spacious and comfortable hotel in an extremely remote location and it must have been awkward catering for so few people. I'm sure that at busier times things would have been different. It is ideally located to break the long journey up the Skeleton Coast (and it really is long)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Wisconsin

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2012
"Our stay in Cape Cross was not everything we wanted it to be. we found the staff to be quite indifferent. It was terribly cold while we were there. The room had no heat or space heaters and no hot water bottles were made available. Our room was not as nice as rooms in their photos.

The dinner we were served was just excellent, one of the best meals we were served in Namibia." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 57
87%
57 reviews of Cape Cross Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
21
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (34 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (5 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (5 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa