This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge

Reviews of Cape Cross Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cape Cross Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Cape Cross Lodge.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B & Mrs C
Hants.

"Disappointed at Cape Cross Lodge."

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2012
"I think we probably did not get the best out of this hotel because only two couples were booked overnight. The weather was cold and windy so we didn't even bother to visit the nearby seal colony, which was the whole point of coming here!

Our room was comfortable and spacious but being painted pale blue it made you feel as cold as the weather outside. There was no heating in the room but warm quilts were provided on the comfortable beds. There were good en suite facilities. We had a great view looking out over the beach and in better weather we could have enjoyed a pleasant walk along the sand.

We were staying on HB basis so the evening meal was included, although not in its entirety as it turned out. Apparently, we could choose anything from the four-course menu as long as the cost did not exceed N$220! Our server didn't explain beforehand but normally guests are presented with a set menu, the cost of which is incorporated into the room rate. However, as there were only four guests for dinner, we were being given a choice from the normal restaurant menu. Our original choice broke the budget so we had to do without the second starter!

The meal itself was pretty good, rump steak and pork chops being well cooked but we found the chips and baked potato very salty and there was very little vegetable to accompany the meat. The dessert was a very good banana cake with custard but it is not often that I finish a meal feeling hungry so overall, I would say value for money was poor.

In the morning one of the staff was washing our car, which was filthy from the drive up the coast from Swakopmund and this was very much appreciated. Breakfast was a reasonably good help-yourself buffet and hot food was cooked to order. However, the coffee served to us was awful and could have been left over from the night before.

This review should not put anyone off from coming here. This is a modern, spacious and comfortable hotel in an extremely remote location and it must have been awkward catering for so few people. I'm sure that at busier times things would have been different. It is ideally located to break the long journey up the Skeleton Coast (and it really is long)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Wisconsin

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2012
"Our stay in Cape Cross was not everything we wanted it to be. we found the staff to be quite indifferent. It was terribly cold while we were there. The room had no heat or space heaters and no hot water bottles were made available. Our room was not as nice as rooms in their photos.

The dinner we were served was just excellent, one of the best meals we were served in Namibia." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr S
USA

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"The location was fantastic and worth the stay.

The room had a great view of the ocean and location was perfect for walking on the beach and visiting the seal colony, which was marvelous. The room itself was somewhat small and not as nice as other rooms we had on the trip.

The wine was not very good and the food was OK, but not great." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"A real surprise! The room was clean and comfortable and looked straight out into the ocean where some seals were playing in the surf.

We went for a walk along the ridge, returned along the beach and watched a lovely sunset before having a nice drink and dinner.

The seal colony was short drive away although the visiting hours are limited there so don't expect to go early in the morning." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Hants

"really desolate location"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"Staff friendly and helpful.
We visited early September and there were very few guests, it was a bit eerie.
It was a useful base to get a short experience of the desolate coast.

It is worth spending some time walking north along the deserted coast and observing the specialised flora, and seeing some of the skeletal remains of seals etc and just listening to the wind and the waves-wrap up well, its verycold, particularly as you will have just come away from the hot hinterland!l" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
V group
Italy

"On the side of the ocean"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2011
"Located a mere 20 meters from the Atlantic, Cape cross lodge is quite a special place to stay.
You fall asleep with the sound of waves and can look out of your balcony for Jackals coming to drink at their small waterhole/pool at night time.
The feeling of isolation is quite strong and, especially if you enjoy the ocean, can be very relaxing place to stay. We were quite sad we didn't book for a second night in the lodge.
Rooms are decorated in a unique french style, they are quite large and with balconies facing the ocean, only disadvantage was the lack of any kind of room heating.
The dinner was good and the breakfast rich. They are served in a large common area with comfortable couches and a fireplace.
If you fancy a taste of lonesomeness of the skeleton coast, or you enjoy the sound of the Atlantic or just wish to have a moment of relax, this is a place to stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Nottingham

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2011
"Amazing location right on the sea edge - must be even more amazing in sunshine but the fog was to be expected for the time of year.

Very cosy dining room with open fires in the casual seating areas. Staff very helpful, food excellent" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AS
Colorado

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2010
"Cape Cross Lodge is probably "the" place to stay if you want to see the Seal Reserve. Everything is first class, but since we only needed a place to spend the night, we could have done with less "fancy" accommodations. On the other hand, you won't be disappointed staying here." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Stunning Sea front location"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2010
"Very warm and friendly welcome. Staff all extremely helpful.

View from seafront room was wonderful.

The highlight of the stay was an impromtu staff entertainment when they all came in to the dining area singing traditional songs, it was quite wonderful and an unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss TT
London

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2009
"The lodge is in a beautiful place and the rooms are lovely and spacious in a seaside style.

There was only one other couple staying at the lodge when we were there which felt a bit strange. Staff were very unfriendly in comparison to the other lodges that we stayed at.

We knew that there was building work going on in advance but it did not disturb us at all, although it looks like the lodge is going to become very large which may make it less attractive in the future." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 59
87%
59 reviews of Cape Cross Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
21
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (35 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (30 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


97% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa