This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge

Reviews of Cape Cross Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

59 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cape Cross Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Cape Cross Lodge.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 59
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Huntingdon

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2009
"A great place to relax with a cold beer and watch the sunset over the ocean." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2009
"This is an excellent location if you want to see the seal colony at Cape Cross and don't want to be rushed. We were a bit worried when we arrived and building work was going on all around but this didn't cause us any problems during our brief stay.

Bizarrely we were the only guests in this large hotel and it was a bit strange eating dinner and breakfast in the large, empty dining area! However, despite this, the waitress service was very good and our food was available when we wanted it. Dinner was ok without being special but breakfast was very good. Given we were the only guests we were impressed to find a full range of breakfast options. The chocolate muffin was especially good (shame there was only one!).

Tea and coffee was also available at all times.

Our room was a good size with a nice balcony which provided a great view of the crashing waves and a spectacular sunset." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jan 2009
"A welcome oasis after the long drive from Doro Nawas. Clean, comfortable and friendly. Food was good and service excellent. We would highly recommend Cape Cross as a stopover to anyone either
a) going north but not wanting to leave Swakop first thing in the morning or
b) coming from Damaraland and driving the coast road.

We liked it a lot (sorry Chris!)

However, there is a considerable amount of building work going on which may be obtrusive to guests not in the sea-facing rooms." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs I & Family
Keston

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"No complaints, a charming hotel, freindly staff, excellent food.
A welcome hotel after the bleak drive along the Skeleton coast." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs A
UK

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"Nicely designed, light rooms, great open-fire in the lounge and friendly staff. Also liked the wine-cellar. There are also some interesting historic photos and relics from Cape Cross' past. Good lunch menu, which makes it worth stopping en route to the Skeleton Coast, but evening meal more ordinary (still ok though).

Only 90 mins from Swakopmund and is a great place to start a trip through the Skeleton coast, but there is not a lot to do here apart from the seal colony, so don't arrive to early! Best idea may be to arrive mid-afternoon.

A general point is that if you have a big fuel tank (and/or a diesel) you could easily drive from Henties Bay to Damaraland through the Skeleton coast in one go (approx 6 hours) without staying anywhere en route." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr M & Mrs S
Cambs

"Dramatic seascape from dining room"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"Ideal location for those wishing to travel a little way up the Skeleton Coast, we made it through the gate just before 3 pm, howling wind, saw the first wreck and oil rig and headed back to arrive at Cape Cross just in time to see the sunset.

Very atmospheric dining room overlooking Atlantic and room cool but lovely. Safe needs securing to the wall.

Enjoyed walking down the beach being followed by jackals. Food average. Charming staff who washed our car windows and lights." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr V
Netherlands

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"Very friendly and helpful staff ! They even washed the dirt off our car without being asked and helped us with our flat tire.

The lodge is right on the beach - great location - and the room is fantastic, in marine-style and with a view on the wide ocean. Perfect!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Jacana family
Bristol

"Seas, sand, surf and strolls"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2008
"We spent two days at Cape Cross and thoroughly enjoyed it. Arrived mid-afternoon after kayaking trip and were greeted with coffee and cakes (delicious). This was the nearest to a "conventional" hotel that we encountered on the trip. Nice sitting area with fire at night, good bar service and lovely dining room. Patio has breakfast time visits from jackals drinking from water bowl. Sea front rooms fairly basic, but nice views of sunsets. A great place to chill out for a day after earlier long days on the road and early starts.

We walked cross to seal colony, entering by main gate, but were given permission to return to hotel using short cut along beach. Total walk an easy 9km with plenty of wildlife to see on way. Spent prolonged period photographing colony. In afternoon walked along beach in northerly direction.

Scenery fascinating, but curiously unsatisfying to do a walk in the knowledge that the scenery will look pretty much the same however long one walks. Had been attracted to Namibia by adventure stories of the skeleton coast, but was very grateful for advice from Expert Africa not to spend too much time exploring this area." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Pangolin family
UK

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"Excellent location for exploring the Skeleton Coast and a short distance from the seal colony, though mercifully without the smell.

Rooms have a cool nautical feel although the beds are a bit squeaky. The lounge area is comfortable and cosy around the fire. Staff were welcoming and helpful - it felt a very friendly place.

Everything, including the water, has to be brought in and the high standards are remarkable in the circumstances." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Suricate family
Hale

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"An entirely acceptable stop-over, ideally situated for the seal colony and the Skeleton Coast, with dramatic sea views and sunsets from bedroom balconies. Would be LOVELY in warmer weather." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 41-50 of 59
87%
59 reviews of Cape Cross Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
21
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (35 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (30 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


97% (6 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


87% (3 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa