This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge

Reviews of Cape Cross Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

56 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cape Cross Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Cape Cross Lodge.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 51-56 of 56
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Cape Cross Lodge mixed experience"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2008
"We had booked a room without a sea view (to save a bit of money) but that was the wrong decision. These rooms had no views at all and were subjected to noise from the generator while it was on. We were puzzled why such rooms were offered at all, especially at these prices.

In any event, we swapped for a sea view (and paid the extra), and the room and the view were excellent. The communal facilities were like a luxury hotel but they had an odd feel because there were very few guests. Also - and in our view this is a serious crime in a place like this! - they had piped music in the dining and bar areas. I can't imagine any guest would ever want to listen to this and I would really recommend that they don't turn it on.

Our dinner was fine, though rather elaborate and fussy for our tastes. Breakfast was good.

Our only reason for staying there was to be close to the seal colony and that worked fine. However, next time we would probably aim to get to the seal colony earlier and then move on to stay somewhere else." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2007
"First time visit to this lodge and it was a good choice for a one night stay.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr Sand Martin
UK

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"The lodge is situated a long way from anywhere - the only thing nearby is the Seal colony, but for people wanting to visit the seal colony then this lodge is an excellent place to stay. There is a water supply outside which attracts jackals and the occasional brown hyena to drink.

My only concern is that if Namibia continues to cull so many seals then the colony which is already a fraction of the size it was 6 years ago when I last visited, will simply cease to be worth visiting and this lodge will then struggle." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"A really nice lodge - quite a surprise on such a desolate coast.

Good food and service.

" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr B
Suffolk

"Stylish and seasidey"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"We liked it very much before and were pleased to find things exactly the same. Welcoming contemporary atmosphere with stylish surroundings and friendly hospitality.

Beautiful spot and very well run with delicious, wholesome food. Likde the ostrich shaped napkin design and the explanation as to how it could be replicated at home!

Great for endless walks along the beach and of course handy for the seal colony. Plan to return and do their trip to the Messum crater." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
London

"A slightly disappointing experience"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"Arrived to discover no record of our booking. The courtyard rooms with 'a sea view' felt like staff accommodation. The ceiling was stained with earlier leaks and the room was located next to the hotel's main electricity generators - a very noisy experience.

Whilst it was possible to see the sea the view from the rear revealed a brick wall and a pile of old mattresses.

Given its location Cape Cross needs to be a real oasis in a very harsh desert. For us it didn't quite live up to its billing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Showing 51-56 of 56
87%
56 reviews of Cape Cross Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
21
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (33 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (3 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (2 reviews)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa