This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Sitatungas from Sterling

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2008 trip

Namibia between 19 Jun 2008 and 8 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"'Very satisfactory' seems a weak description for an outstanding holiday experience. Not only is Namibia quite unique scenically, it boasts great variety: from the Namib sand desert to the mountains of Damaraland and Erongo; from the skeleton coast to Etosha pan. You have to work for these rewards if you drive, but every km is worth the effort (those who fly in must miss a great deal), and driving the great desert spaces is part of the experience.

The wildlife is also so impressive, partly because you see a lot by passing through the country, but Etosha was 'on show' for us, with magnificent congregations of elephants, zebra and antelope, plus abundant rhino, jackall, and hyena and vists from giraffe - more often seen away from the waterholes. Four female lions and an encounter with a black rhino at close quarters capped our experiences.

The Namibian people we met were friendly and always competent. Most of the guides we met were very knowledgeable and gave good value.

We ate well and no one suffered from upset stomachs or other travel bugs. I travel a lot and have been in something over 20 African countries over the years. Ivisited Ngorongoro in Tanzania many years ago and was so impressed by the wildlife. But in Namibia the wildlife was comparable and the entire country a marvellous scenic experience."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"We could not fault this establishment. We were welcomed immediately we came from the airport mid-morning; offered refreshment and our rooms were made available within an hour. We ate one dinner there which was fully enjoyed.

Their recommendation for a different dinner vnue was helpful and led us to NICE - an interesting experience. Our car was kept secure. The location was easy to find and convenient for the city centre. The best possible introduction to a holiday in Namibia."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2008
"We were the only guest there which was strange. But this is a high quality establishment offering very good service. Built in a great location at the base of a hill, with extensive views, the units are luxurious by my standards. The welcome was warm and genuine and we had immediate help with a punctured tyre.

The manager ate with us one evening and proved a courteous and interesting host. Dining was enjoyable. They had a good swimming pool warm enough to be enjoyed - at least by my grandson. NWR are to be commended on this development."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2008
"A beautiful location, with some good local walking. The 'igloo' design is somewhat eccentric, though full of character. I found the rooms rather dark, shutting out the beauty of the setting - but cool in summer I daresay.

Dinner was excellent but charged extra. They were quite busy. The pet zebra and tame meerkats were a hit with my grandson. The pool and poolside ara were attractive - but too cold in late June."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Hotel Pension Rapmund

"Rapmund Guest House, Swakopmund"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2008
"A good budget option for Swakopmund. Close to the centre and the seafront. The rooms were more spatious than some more luxurious lodges, but with a rather dated decor. This is strictly BandB, so no comment on dining.

All fairly impersonal but it was a good base for the town and its attractions/surroundings. We would use it again, simply for economy and convenience."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Average
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2008
"Great location on the beachfront and close to the seal colony. The building is modern and makes no concessions to 'safari' style, but then it has to withstand the coastal climate. Facilities and food were excellent, and a walk along the beach near sunset a break from the desert inalnd.

One issue may be the construction of holiday apartments close by, which must detract from the setting. They are in compatible style and probably developed by the lodge itself . The environmental impact of more developoment here could be negative."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2008
"First find this tucked-away 'camp'. The Bradt guide was not helpful and after a long haul from Cape Cross we arrived quite late, having turned back to ask directions at a local village, because the turning was far from being 'just after' crossing the river - more like 7km to the north. They were getting worried by the time we arrived!

The community camp was not what I expected but the concept was explained. The welcome was warm and professional and the manager was knowledgeable. I was curious as to why so many non-African staff were employed, at all levels, but maybe the local pool of employable labour is too small - it is pretty isolated. The morning nature drive with a local guide, to see the desert elephants, was outstanding and a demonstration of off-road driving technique! The local area is very scenic and this is a great plus for a stay here."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2008
"This has to be judged as a large enterprise. It is busy and the personal touch is lacking. BUT the location with the great waterhole and its wild animals is a must for visitors to Etosha. Our Premium, waterhole chalet was luxuious and well maintained, as is the whole camp. NWR do a good job here, and even the restaurant - in constant flux and demand - offers a good service, if without frills. People are friendly.

Because the waterhole is so impressive, often after dark, the advice to stay here - within the park - is sound and a stay here is likely to be very rewarding."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2008
"Despite the commendation in Bradt, I thought this was a little disappointing. We had to change chalets after the first night and were promised this would all be done by their staff while we were out. But in the event we had to take all our luggage to Reception and pick it up later in the day.

The chalets were well designed but one had no sitting out chairs; the other no kind of table in the living room. Towel rails in both chalets either fell off the wall or threatened to do so. On the other hand the restaurant was pleasant and the food good.

We visited their waterhole on 4 different occasions but saw very few animals - night or day. But it is a good enough base for drives outside the camp, where there is plenty of game. (We were unable to book Namatoni, which was the preferred option)"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"In many ways the highlight of our visit - surprise, surprise run jointly with Olive Grove in Windhoek.

This is a beautiful camp with a stylish and unique dining room serving excellent food and wine. There are 'real' tents here and were a bit cold the first night, but water bottles and blankets were on hand. We went on two excellent guided walks amongst the granite hills, and the nature drive - no wild game - took us to impressive examples of early rock paintings in a striking setting. The guides were interesting to talk to and seemed knowledgeble.

A great place to end our journey."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team