This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P & Mrs C from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Cottis Holiday Feedback

Namibia between 23 May 2008 and 13 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We all loved this trip, particularly my mother for whom it was her first time in Namibia, (it was our fifth visit)."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2008
"The lodge was an ideal place for our first two nights of this trip to Namibia and being halfway to Etosha is in easy reach of Windhoek. We particuarly enjoyed the walk onto the plateau"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2008
"If you want a luxury room go to Namutoni, however the room is a waste of money as you won't want to spend anytime in it. We have stayed there 4 times in the past and whilst we fully agree that it needed renovation, this is a total waste of money and for true wildlife enthusiasts will do nothing to enhance your experience. In particular, the rooms being enclosed with no view and even worse, the long walk and golf cart ride to your chalet means you will not want to go back to your room, it's too much hassle with camera equipment etc.

The food was surprisingly okay, but given the lack of guests here it looks like NWR have made a massive mistake in this camp, aiming for well off clients who want luxury rooms rather than those who love wildlife.

The wildlife remains excellent around here although with a new 'exclusive' restcamp to be built at Stinkwater, it is debatable how long this will remain. On this experience we would recommend staying outside and saving your money."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"Of all the restcamps, this is the one that has been refurbished the most appropriately, with good rooms of a reasonable size, not overdone like Namutoni, and with easy access.

Food and service still leave a lot to be desired, and with no shop to speak of to even buy something for a picnic lunch, we recommend taking an early breakfast before the gates open, and taking a carryout from there of cold meats, cheese, eggs etc."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2008
"Whilst a lot of money has been spent on the camp, the waterhole chalets were too small, lots of nice touches inside but no room to move around in. Great location though as ever. Like Halali the shop is non existent so if you want lunch, take it from the breakfast buffet.

Overall the money spent by NWR on the Etosha camps has been badly wasted, has not provided wildlife lovers what they want, and has resulted in over expensive, over elaborate and unnecessary accommodation. Bring back the good old days of self catering with dodgy kitchens and showers."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2008
"I just can't fault Huab, the enthusiasm, knowledge and hospitality of Jan and Suzie coupled with the lodges location continue to make this one of the best lodges in Namibia"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2008
"Simply the best camp around - forget the luxury camps, this is the one to stay in and spend time at, nowhere gets you closer to nature and you can't beat a few drinks at the end of the day with Dennis and then looking at the night skies."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2008
"The food was excellent"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2008
"We didn't spend much time here, but as a place to spend a night it couldn't be faulted and the food and choice of wine was second to none. Good value for money"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2008
"As a camp I have to say this is wonderful, the location within the dunes is brilliant, the rooms are first class. We did however arrive with no staff in sight, no suggestion where to go and it took nearly 20 minutes before anyone appeared. Whilst very apologetic about this, the fact that the dreaded golf cart is supposed to meet you and didn't meant we were wondering around like lost souls.

Also activity information was poor and trying to get from staff instructions on how to self drive into the dunes before sunrise proved near on impossible, we had 4 different versions of what was required and all turned out to be wrong.

You don't need a permit and just turn right before you get to canyon, along track on front of camp. Simple, but no one can explain it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2008
"I have stayed in both this and the Dune Lodge. The lodge marginally wins on location, but other than that save your money and stay here. The service is better, the activities the same, the rooms have everything you need and it just has a more authentic feel about it.

Brilliant place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team