This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Pangolin family from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Do we really have to go home?

Namibia between 9 Jul 2008 and 25 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our best holiday for a very long time, exceeding our expectations in almost every area.

The advice provided was extremely helpful and the descriptions provided on the website and in the Brandt guide were almost universally accurate.

The marked-up route maps were particularly appreciated.

Suggestions for improvement:

Put the bit about plastic bags to protect the luggage from dust in block capitals! We did but some others were less well informed.

Where can you get adaptors which fit the 3 round pin plugs - not everywhere has a European standard alternative?"

Feedback response

For adaptors to fit South African-style plugs, which have three round pins (rather like pre-1970s UK plugs), the electrical shop in Jo'burg airport is usually a good source - if you are passing through there on your way to Africa.

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove - first night stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"Some of the best food on our trip - excellent dinner and superb choice of breakfast options.

Downstairs rooms are rather dark, but ideal if you want to sleep after a flight."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"First class introduction to Namibia. Great welcome and all the staff were tremendously helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Our guide Pedro was particularly engaging and knowledgable about the animals and plants. Lots of animals to see on the evening drive and we especially enjoyed the morning walk with the meercats.

One point to be aware of is the freezing cold nights - there is a hot water bottle and blankets are provided in the Dune Chalets, but you still need to wrap up warm! The Straw Bale Chalets are a much warmer option."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolvedans Dune Camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"Highly recommended with faultless service from arrival to departure. The team were thoroughly professional and could not have been more helpful.

We really enjoyed the evening chat around the camp fire and the menu recital and singing before dinner. The quality of the food is amazing. The drives were excellent with a sundowner on top of the dunes, and the next day picnic lunch at the aptly named Hard Rock cafe.

Our guide David was extremely knowledgable and the management team were fantastic.

A really relaxing experience in a superb setting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"Unique experience with a fantastic location overlooking Sessriem Canyon and its own direct access to the road to the dunes. An early start means you can be the first to reach Dead Vlei at dawn, and enjoy sundown from Dune 45.

The rooms are amazing and really well laid out and private. Herbert was incredibly helpful and personable, going out of his way to provide advice and teaching us to make ostrich napkins.

It would be helpful if European style plug adaptors were available as is the norm at most other locations."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Pelican Bay Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Pelican Bay Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"The good point is the location, close to the Raft restaurant and the harbour. Otherwise somewhere to avoid.

The rooms are poorly maintained - door handles come off, hinges loose, inter-connecting doors between rooms do not close properly. The bathrooms were dirty - lots of hair in the bath and on the floor. The housekeeping service was distinctly off-hand and the person on breakfast reception brusque and rude.

Overall impression is of a potentially good hotel badly let down by its management and staff. The sole exception was the doorman who was very helpful with our luggage and in clearing the car of sand!"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Facilities
Average
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"Excellent location for exploring the Skeleton Coast and a short distance from the seal colony, though mercifully without the smell.

Rooms have a cool nautical feel although the beds are a bit squeaky. The lounge area is comfortable and cosy around the fire. Staff were welcoming and helpful - it felt a very friendly place.

Everything, including the water, has to be brought in and the high standards are remarkable in the circumstances."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"Spacious clean rooms, well laid out lapa, excellent food and good facilities. The management team were welcoming and good hosts with a great sense of humour.

The overall experience was let down by the quality of the guiding and the drives which compared poorly with our experience at other lodges."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"Unmissable. The whole experience was fantastic, with a huge variety of wildlife - not just the cats - and a really enthusiastic and knowledgable guide - Dean.

The activities were well planned and really filled up the day. We just wished we had stayed for longer than one night.

Really great rooms with imaginative design, but barely time to appreciate it with everything else on offer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove - last night"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2008
"No hesitation about returning."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team