This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by V group from Italy

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Great Holiday

Namibia between 6 Aug 2011 and 21 Aug 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip has been fantastic. Our expectations have been fully met, and we are especially thankful to Tracy who has been amazing at understanding what we wanted to do and see in Namibia.
The only two negative opinions on accommodation has been on the most expensive places, that were actually picked up as second-third choices: we understood that brochures/websites only tell so little of a place in Africa - quality of service does matter a lot, our only change to our trip would be focus more on that when choosing lodges."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Monte Bello Guesthouse

"Nice Guesthouse, good service"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2011
"Montebello GH is a brand new place in the safe area of Eros in Windhoek.
The manager of the guesthouse has been really helpful with us, the place is spotless clean and has a nice relaxing garden with a small pool.
Rooms are comfortable though not very large, there's A/C and WiFi internet.
Breakfast was very good and freshly prepared, home baked cakes are also available!
Overall a very pleasant stay in Windhoek."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Good stop in Naukluft area"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2011
"Bullsport Guest Farm is located in a very nice setting. Several trails depart from the farm, allowing you to visit the surrounding area choosing the trail by time and difficulty.
Rooms are very large and appropriately clean, I wouldn't call them luxurious but they are more than satisfying.
Common spaces are just adequate, breakfast and dinner are home prepared and are served on large tables with other guests. This is a good opportunity to meet new people and discuss about your trip in Namibia.
Overall, the feeling is very good, it feels like a really local place with good facilities, definitely not like a lodge aimed at tourists."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"THE experience in Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2011
"Tok tokkie trails is the best way to enjoy Namib Desert. You get to see it with expert guides and with an excellent service. Of course you must understand you will sleep under the stars and you won't stay in luxurious camps, but while essential, the camps are surprisingly comfortable.
Food is home prepared and really excellent, a great attention is put in details.
The sky in the desert nights is filled with star, and it's a sight you can't forget easily.
After this experience, Sossusvlei was not-so-special for us (it's amazing, but it feels over crowded). I wouldn't miss this experience for any reason!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mountain Homestead, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great location, poor service"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2011
"The setting for Mountain Homestead is great: the view is amazing and the lodge looks fantastic.
It must be noted, however, that the final part of the road is in bad condition, so it will take a while to get to Sesriem gate even though kilometric distance is not large.
The service, on the other hand, has been largely disappointing. The food was really poorly prepared, not to mention the horrible breakfast and lunch packs! Room cleaning was absolutely insufficient (hair all over the ground, the private pool was very dirty). Besides, we even saw a mouse in the common lounge area running all over the couch, with the staff just looking and laughing "He's enjoying the couch!", while the guests (with faces between puzzled and horrified) left the room as soon as they finished their dinner.

To summarize: it's a nice lodge and beautifully set, but the service can't keep up with expectations, even if the cost of the lodge was half of what it is. We wouldn't recommend this lodge, unless you can't find anything else."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Feels like home"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2011
"The attention to customers put by the owner of the guesthouse is amazing. I was feeling sick, so she took care to oder and pick up some special take away food for me, and she managed to retrieve our second spare tyre.
The guesthouse is really pretty, it's basically a house that feels like home: relaxing sitting rooms, very clean rooms, great breakfast.
It's conveniently located in the center of Swakop, you can just walk to the cities best restaurants.
Definitely a very good place to stay!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"On the side of the ocean"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2011
"Located a mere 20 meters from the Atlantic, Cape cross lodge is quite a special place to stay.
You fall asleep with the sound of waves and can look out of your balcony for Jackals coming to drink at their small waterhole/pool at night time.
The feeling of isolation is quite strong and, especially if you enjoy the ocean, can be very relaxing place to stay. We were quite sad we didn't book for a second night in the lodge.
Rooms are decorated in a unique french style, they are quite large and with balconies facing the ocean, only disadvantage was the lack of any kind of room heating.
The dinner was good and the breakfast rich. They are served in a large common area with comfortable couches and a fireplace.
If you fancy a taste of lonesomeness of the skeleton coast, or you enjoy the sound of the Atlantic or just wish to have a moment of relax, this is a place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Decadent tents, poor service"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2011
"The setting of Mowani Mountain Camp is superb and the brochure looks fantastic. This is all the good we can say about it.
The tented accomodation we received after a long argument, since we had a booking for a luxury room, was decadent at best.
Don't trust the website or the brochure, the cool tent with outside view bathroom is nothing like what you'll actually get.
The tent doesn't close fully: a 10cm hole is always there, allowing animals to get inside the tent (we got a mice and his droppings on our bed, but you could also find a snake or something dangerous in the tent). The toilet and the shower are open on the room, just separated by a screening, no proper wall separation. They claim there's a difference between a "standard" and a "view" tent...but they are identical as far as we've seen, since we had one of each.

The service is really obtrusive: it feels like the staff is trying too hard to be fun at all cost - they would start chatting with you even if that means interrupting a conversation you were having with fellow travellers, and they keep pushing to sell you extras (beverages, activities). On the other hand when we actually needed some attention (the room we had booked wasn't available) we have been treated in a very rude and unprofessional way.

From an up-market lodge we would expect better facilities, a proper tented accommodation and a professional service. If we had to go back to Damaraland, we would blindly take a chance on any other place, but we would never stay here again."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Nice large lodge near Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2011
"Etosha Safari Lodge has a great view over kilometers of wild bush.
The lodge is quite big, but the individual chalets are well separated and it doesn't feel over crowded.
Rooms aren't luxurious, but they are very spacious and have a nice balcony with view. The dining area is comfortably large and breakfast / dinner are served as buffet, food quality is good.
Our expectations on this lodge were quite low, but we were positively impressed!
We took part in the full day drive inside Etosha: it was on a large open truck which offered an excellent viewpoint, with the chance to move around the truck - only downside is that it's a 24people truck, but it wasn't full when we took the drive. We were happy with the activity for exploring Etosha for the first day."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Really excellent Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2011
"Mushara Bush camp is located in the Bush, the common areas are maintained in an excellent state, and so are the tents.
They are very new, with walls separating the toilet area and a nice large open shower. Tents are well isolated from outside world, you can close all zips to get full darkness and the best isolation from outside cold: there's no heating, but you'll find hot water bottles in your bed after dinner!
Lounge area looks great, and so does the swimming pool and "bush dinner" area, where on special nights they serve food to guest sitting around an open fire.
Staff has been super-professional and really helped us a lot! Definitely the best service we found in a lodge in Namibia.
Finally, half day drive inside Etosha has been great: the open land rover had only us as guests, the expert guide really focused on our requests and she managed to get us seeing a very special sight: a really rare pangolin!
We would recommend this lodge to anyone who feels OK with sleeping in a tented accommodation; for the others: don't be afraid - service and quality of accommodation is top-notch!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team