This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms R & Mr S from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2011 trip

Namibia between 11 Oct 2011 and 24 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was one of the best trips we have ever taken, and we have traveled quite a bit around the world. Namibia was simply fantastic. The geology and animals were breathtaking, the people friendly and helpful, and the accomodations outstanding. We felt safe and relaxed, with every day an adventure in beauty.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I am a fairly critical person and usually can think of ways for service to improve, but the service we received from Saskia was nothing short of outstanding and I can't think of a way to improve . Saskia was incredibly knowledgeable and very quickly grasped the type of trip my husband and I were looking for. She tailored the trip to meet our needs.

She went above and beyond being very responsive to our questions, by proactively looking out for us -- alerting us when she thought a plane connection was too brief and identifying and resolving overcharges by budget rental car. She was always pleasant. The map she provided us was terrific -- clearly outlining our journey and highlighting the places we would stay, so we had no trouble finding them. We had not a single glitch in the trip. All the vouchers were provided and accepted. The information sheets for each place we were to stay were helpful.

If Saskia represents the spirit and effort of Expert Africa, we can say without reservation that it is a top notch organization. We would recommend it to others and would use Expert Africa services again."

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"We stayed there two nights -- our first night and last night of the trip.

The place was lovely. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The owner and family were very nice and helpful. The owner even loaned us an adapter for the trip, which we returned on our way out. The two dogs that reside there were marvelous.

We definitely recommend this place to stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"We really loved this place.

The room had style and was quite comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The food was quite good and we enjoyed meeting other guests through the family-style meals. Hiking trails are nicely laid out and well marked. Can't say enough about how beautiful the hike in Quiver Tree Gorge was.

Highly recommend both the place and the hike."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Scenery and room both outstanding.

Staff were very attentive, greating us at the car with fresh juice and smiles. As we were checking out, one of the staff members noticed we had a low tire and filled it with air. Nice extra step. The setting and style of the place could not be better. Highly recommend.

These travellers took a Guided Sossusvlei excursion with Kulala Desert Lodge. They commented about this:

It was definitely worth doing if nothing more than to have a good car with someone else driving on the road to Sussuvlei, as our rental car would not have made it. The guide seemed to be in a bit of a bad mood -- maybe he didn't feel well and people can't always be "on", so I wouldn't make too much of that. However, he also wasn't terribly knowledgeable. It also was a bit ruished. We would have preferred to go on our own, so we could have more time at each spot where we stopped."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"Owner and all staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was quite nice, with plenty of room to spread out and several nice little touches, including cookies with the tea and coffee. The garden was lovely. Location in downtown was perfect.

Highly recommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"The location was fantastic and worth the stay.

The room had a great view of the ocean and location was perfect for walking on the beach and visiting the seal colony, which was marvelous. The room itself was somewhat small and not as nice as other rooms we had on the trip.

The wine was not very good and the food was OK, but not great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"Spectacular!

The rooms were beautiful, with great views of Etosha from private decks. The bar tent, lounge tent and swimming pool very nicely done, with great views.

There is a bit of a walk from the dining area to the rooms, if you have a tent at the end, as we did. But well worth it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"The place is a bit crowded and the rooms wthout much style, but fully functional. The lunch and dinner buffets were not great -- recommend bringing your own food and making a picnic. There are not many options for purchsing food at the store there, so good to buy food elsewhere and bring it.

However, it was all well worth it for the proximity to the watering hole, where we saw all kinds of animals -- including 33 elephants at once having a pool party. The point of staying there is to hang out at the watering hole, which almost always had something interesting going on."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"We were there during a midge infestation, so the experience was somewhat impacted by having insects swarm the table as we ate.

The room was just OK, but the grounds were quite lovely, with a great bar where you can sit and have a drink and watch the watering hole and sunset."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"See comments previously provided for our first night. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team