This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

Good memories of Namibia

Namibia between 3 Sep 2011 and 21 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Good
"Highs- Has to be Etendeka, Kayaking, game viewing, Vingerklip.

Lows- Let down by River Crossing and Etosha Aoba lodge.

Car hire still needs improving, your advice booklet was useful.

This was an enjoyable and exciting adventure in a beautiful country full of contrasts."

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"under the stars at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Solomon the guide, with whom we enjoyed wonderful sundowners.
Food was ok, but tried too hard, it would have been beter to keep it more basic and wholesome. The afternoon cakes were a treat to look forward to.

Sleeping on roof, under the stars was an experience to remember.
We think the dunes visit would have benefited from a very early start to capture the early morning shadows."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Good base for coastal Namibia"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2011
"Extremely helpful owners.
Very useful drive in secure parking.
Centrally located for exploring Swakopmund.
In our opinion the breakfast was not as special as we read about, fairly average.
Good eating at Eriks and The Tug."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Great experience with seals"

7 Sep 2011 • Morning excursion

Very enthusiastic guide/owner, who is passioante about her work.

Thoroughly enjoyed the kayaking, even though one of us cannot swim. Great Seal interface and picnic lunch.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Interesting desert/coast experience"

8 Sep 2011 • All-day excursion

Although we enjoyed it, we were under the impression that there would have been more walking.

Driving time a bit too long, but scenery beautiful.
Good
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"really desolate location"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"Staff friendly and helpful.
We visited early September and there were very few guests, it was a bit eerie.
It was a useful base to get a short experience of the desolate coast.

It is worth spending some time walking north along the deserted coast and observing the specialised flora, and seeing some of the skeletal remains of seals etc and just listening to the wind and the waves-wrap up well, its verycold, particularly as you will have just come away from the hot hinterland!l"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Scenic landscape, quality chalets"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"A re-visit to Vingerklip after 14 years. Very much as we remember it, but changes include waterhole, new additional restaurant called Eagles nest, additional guided walks.

Staff very helpful and friendly.
A lot of people use this lodge for 1 night, but would benefit from 2 night stay to relax and see more wildlife at waterhole and on walks.
Food was good, particularly the game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Great experience in remote setting"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"Very experienced,enthusiatic and dedicated owner Dennis, asst manager Bonnie, supported by good staff.

Walks and safari drives very enjoyable and informative in amazing environment.

Food was outstanding, homemade and could be on a menu in a quality restaurant. They also catered well for a vegetarian.
We were well looked after and even enjoyed the bucket showers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Waterhole chalet best option"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"Extremely clean and tidy camp, no mean achievement for such a large camp.

Chalet was comfortable, well equipped, very well placed for waterhole viewing.
Food was a bit mass catering, but ok.

The administration is bureaucratic, out of date, prone to error."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"number 1 room too noisy!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Our first night spoiled by noisy guests around the pool and bar, manager put us in a quieter chalet on second day.
First meal was very poor from start to finish, but second night was ok.

We felt they were pushing the alchohol too much, clearly a profitable item. They even charged for coffee, even though it was not made clear that it was an extra after dinner (in many places incuded as free).

Access road needs attention, too many potholes."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Hard to find, spartan accom"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"The sign for River Crossing is very small and hard to see, as it is thin pale blue writing on white background, your eye is drawn to the much bigger sign for the group Desert Star and so we thought it was the Desert Star hotel. We missed it twice, no one knew it at the airport and we only found it by asking a dairy company worker.

Access road steep and very poorly maintained, probably a problem in wet times, leading to an ugly building in a scenic location.
Room was spartan, concrete floor, basic facilities, no hair dryer, warm water took several minutes to come through, which is ridiculous in such an environment where water is precious and we felt guilty running all that water. TV control did not work properly, we were not the only people to find this a hassle. Access path to room was difficult,could be better illuminated. There should be better enclosed handrail.

Food left much to be desired, offering no choice, which is amazing considering how near it is to Windhoek. Breakfast particularly poor.
There was no information in room as to activities and when enquiring about the walks, staff looked blank and only referred to a walk to the stable.

Our opinion is that they are inward facing, content with the short term one night guest. If we had known all the above, we would not have chosen this place for our last night in Namiba. Staff could do with better training.

We did not like sitting in an open breakfast room setting with kitchen and office staff ambling past or standing with their arms folded, chatting and looking like they did not have enough to do."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team