This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge
Cape Cross Lodge

Reviews of Cape Cross Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cape Cross Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Cape Cross Lodge.
Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Cold stay at Cape Cross Lodge"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Arrived here in warm sunshine although a bit blowy! Check in was quick and reception staff were polite and happy and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Our room was bright and clean although the bathroom could really do with a revamp. We sat on our balcony with glass of wine and watched the sun go down over the sea, within 10 minutes of this happening the temperature must have dropped 30 degrees, it was cold so on went our long trousers and fleeces.

Dinner was good although all the guest sat shivering despite the fact there was a log fire which sadly gave out no heat whatsoever. The Manager did her rounds of the tables during dinner which was a nice touch and we joked with her that we needed a hot water bottle, low and behold when we returned to our room there was a hot water bottle on the bed, what a nice touch. They really could have done with heating which would have made it such a better experience.

Breakfast was okay, although it would have been good for there to have been a bit more selection out, but think we were last to breakfast and fruit/cakes etc had not been replaced." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Cape Cross-great location but no atmosphere"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"We had an excellent overnight stay here and saw the amazing seal colony, hundreds of cormorants, plus turnstones and white fronted plover. A jackal visited the water hole right outside out balcony in the early morning.

The location is wonderful but the lodge lacks atmosphere. There are few personal touches. It was chilly in the dining room even though there was a nice fire lit in the seating area so take sweaters to wear!

Staff were pleasant." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
J & R
UK

"Seals"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2016
"Simple but pleasant room overlooking the sea.

Very few guests so quiet at dinner.

Helpful staff

Amazing sunset" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs V
UK

"Cape Cross"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2015
"Significantly under-rated. Great hotel which wouldn't be out of place in a smart resort on the Med.

Better to book B&B as accessing the a la carte menu when on DBB takes some discussion.

The a la carte is great.

Nearby seal colony passes a good half-hour, but when you've seen the first 500 you've seen enough." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
W Midlands

"Comfortable overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2015
"This isolated Lodge is geared up for a good quality overnight stop. All rooms face the raging sea and our balcony was sheltered enough to sit out for a while.

Open-plan public area felt like a barn in daytime, but roaring fires in the evening gave it a cosier feel. Dinner was delicious, breakfast a bit plain. We ordered packed lunches for our long journey the following day and each one could have fed a family!

Very helpful staff and the manager came round to chat to guests during dinner, which was a nice touch." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms L
Leeds

"Isolated but a great stay"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"We both really loved our stay at Cape Cross.

Yes it is rather isolated and remote but we loved being so close to the sea and the heavy fog which that part of the world is famous for.

The seal colony is definitely worth a visit, we loved watching the seals, the young babies trying to find their mothers, the squabbles and the seal soap opera played out on the beach." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Wilts

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Excellent accommodation in isolated location"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2015
"For being the only accommodation in the area this was very good indeed. Huge bedroom including balcony with sea view.

Very friendly, talkative and informative waiters.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The Keens
Connecticut

"Cape Cross Lodge"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2015
"A fine place to stay close to the huge seal colony. Not one of our favorites but no complaints either.

I'm guessing that since there are no other lodges in the area that feel like they don't have to be super attentive to their guests." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A & Mr K
Denmark

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jan 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 57
87%
57 reviews of Cape Cross Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
21
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Skeleton Coast & Kaokoland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay is bleak. However, those that stay here come to experience the remote and inhospitable nature of the Skeleton Coast.


78% (35 reviews)
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp is actually situated 42km inland in Kaokoland, this said they offer a superb guided day trip to the coast.


99% (34 reviews)
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

The luxurious Serra Cafema is in the most remote corner of Namibia - at the north end of Hartmann's Valley, across the Kunene River from Angola.


96% (29 reviews)
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris

Skeleton Coast Safaris is a small, family-run operation that has organized trips here for 20 years.


98% (26 reviews)
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Hotel provides comfortable accommodation is well situated for a night's stop before travelling into remote parts of Kaokoland.


83% (6 reviews)
Hoanib Valley Camp

Hoanib Valley Camp

The intimate and remote Hoanib Valley Camp offers a rare chance to explore this dramatic corner of Namibia and to search for its sparse desert-adapted wildlife.


100% (5 reviews)
Skeleton Coast Shipwreck Lodge

Shipwreck Lodge

The only property on this desolate stretch of coastline, the extraordinary Shipwreck Lodge opens up a new section of the Skeleton Coast National Park


100% (5 reviews)
Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp

Epupa Camp is a welcoming oasis set on the palm-fringed banks of the Kunene River in north-west Namibia and close to Epupa Falls.


100% (2 reviews)
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp is usually the first-night stop on a Schoeman's safari. It is a very simple camp with stunning views of the Huab River Valley.


100% (1 review)
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

Used exclusively on the Schoeman's skeleton cost safaris, Leylandsdrift Camp is a great place to track desert elephant.


100% (1 review)
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

Used exclusively on Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris, Kunene River Camp occupies a pretty location on the banks of the Kunene River.


100% (1 review)
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge

Okahirongo Ele. Lodge

Tucked away in Namibia's far northwest Okahirongo Elephant Lodge offers luxurious chalets, with stunning views and plenty of activities.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa