This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr A from Australia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

1

Namibia & Botswana - Ian & Lynda Ancell

Namibia and 1 other country between 2 Nov 2016 and 22 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was from start to finish one of the best trips we have had. Our Expert Africa team member Maruska was fantastic throughout our planning, with great advice and feedback to our questions.

Everything worked as clockwork and showed the level of planning and professionalism that went into this trip by Maruska."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"Olive Exclusive review"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2016
"We stayed one night here and loved the hotel.

Our suite was large and private it would have been nice to stay longer. It is stylish and comfortable with great service and friendly and helpful staff.

We would recommend it for a one night stay or longer if you have a chance to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

"Desert Homestead Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2016
"We stayed two nights here and had a wonderful stay.

This very remote and private. The scenery is stunning the rooms are beautiful (we stayed in the new room # 12 very spoilt).
We did the sundowner drive the first evening we were here and really enjoyed it and fortunate to see not only Oryx but some mountain Zebra as well.

The service, meals and facilities are outstanding. The staff are fantastic and well led by Henri and Lisa Sansom.
A special thanks to Henri and Lisa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2016
"We stayed here for two nights. The hotel has been beautifully renovated, there are photos and maps of days gone by throughout the hotel. The rooms are fresh, clean and comfortable.

The breakfasts at the Farmhouse Deli are great and have a wonderful selection of delicious food.

The service throughout the hotel is very good.

The great location makes this hotel a ideal place to stay.

Whilst in Swakopmund, these travellers took a day trip to Sandwich Harbour, here's what they said about it:
What a great tour to Sandwich Harbour. Our guide Burger collected us at our hotel and we drove through Walvis Bay stopping to see the bird life on the way. We had an adventurous drive down along the coast to Sandwich Harbour stopping at points of interest pointed out by Burger. We stopped for a lovely lunch and climbed the sand dunes. We came back through the dunes, spotting Springbok and seals.

Burger was fun, knowledgeable and really made our day out more of an experience. Well worth the day out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone Tours Swakopmund"

6 Nov 2016 • All-day excursion

What a great tour to Sandwich Harbour. Our guide Burger collected us at our hotel and we drove through Walvis Bay stopping to see the bird life on the way. We had an adventurous drive down along the coast to Sandwich Harbour stopping at points of interest pointed out by Burger. We stopped for a lovely lunch and climbed the sand dunes. We came back through the dunes, spotting Springbok and seals.

Burger was fun, knowledgeable and really made our day out more of an experience. Well worth the day out.
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"The rooms are clean and spacious but fairly basic.

Nice views onto the ocean and far enough away from the seal colony that you do not get the associated smells.

The restaurant was very good for the evening meal and breakfast was basic but good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"This place is special. We had "The Suite" for one night while travelling through Damaraland. The suite looks over the valley below and is absolutely private. There is an outside bath and shower as well as an inside bathroom. The view from the huge bed is stunning as is the view from the lounge and deck area.

The meals were excellent as were all the staff here.

We went on the afternoon drive the Burnt Mountain and the stone etching which was very good. We did not have time to do the morning excursion to see the Desert Elephants which was disappointing.

There was not a thing that I could say was bad or needed improving here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2016
"We had one night here and it is a very nice camp but probably a little bit dated compared to some of the tented camps.
The afternoon game drive was excellent which is inside the private game reserve.
The tented rooms are clean and comfortable with views up to the waterhole.
The main camp area looks across onto the waterhole and is great for viewing game coming in for a drink.
The evening meal was excellent as was the wine selection. Breakfast was basic.
The staff were all very nice and were very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma The Fort review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2016
"Wow, this is a beautiful lodge. Its location just outside the Etosha Namutoni gate is ideal. The rooms are beautiful with great views, ours looked out to the water hole.
The main lodge meals area is fantastic for a sundowner drink followed by the beautiful meals prepared by the chefs.

The staff were excellent all throughout the lodge.

The game drive into Etosha was great and our guide Armstrong was very knowledgeable and fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

"Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2016
"Maybe the lack of sign posts to find this place could have been a clue. We found this Lodge to be old and sad with some of the staff trying hard and others just confused.
The lounge and dining area played the same old music over and over, I think they only had one recording.

Our dining experience lived up to the rest of the stay with the food being very ordinary.

The rooms had a nice view over the river and the location of this Lodge is superb it is a pity it does not live up to it.

The one highlight was the afternoon boat cruise with our guide John who was knowledgeable and did a great job.

Being close to the Mahango National Park was a plus as this is very worthwhile doing a self drive around here."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2016
"An older camp but a great location right on the river.

The rooms are nice and clean but not luxurious. We had a great game drive and wonderful sunset drinks and were joined by a large herd of Elephants.

The food and service at the lodge were great. Our hosts could not be faulted and made you feel you were staying your favorite Aunties house.

You cannot charge cameras or phones etc in your rooms but at the main hall is a room where you can do this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

"Chobe Chilwero review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"A beautiful lodge. Beautiful location with stunning views down to the flood plains.

The staff could not be faulted, friendly and very attentive. The food was excellent. It was nice to be visited by the head chef to check that each meal was up to expectations (they always were and above expectations).

The rooms were spacious and luxurious and well maintained.

The game drives into the Chobe National Park were fantastic as were the water excurions by the boat. The amount and variety of game and birdlife makes this a great place to visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Chitabe Lediba review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2016
"Chitabe Lediba is a great camp and is set in a beautiful location. We stayed two nights but could easily stay more.

We were treated like long lost friends throughout the stay. The staff were excellent.

The game drives with our guide Luke were fantastic, a great variety of game and birdlife. We were very fortunate with all our drives and Luke did his utmost to make sure we saw as much as possible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Leroo La Tau

Leroo La Tau

"Leroo La Tau review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2016
"We were really looking forward to visiting Leroo La Tau as we had heard so much about it on a previous visit to Botswana. The lodge is in a great location overlooking the Boteti river and the rooms overlook the river as well.

We were lucky to have all the zebras still visiting the river. The rooms have a great outlook and a clean but not luxurious. We had a double bed and a single bed in our room which made it a little tight for space.

The staff were all very friendly and caring. Our guide Ollie was excellent and as with all the guides would see things that no one else would see and point them to us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"One of the many highlights of our trip.

Camp Kalahari is basic but very nice. The tented rooms are large and comfortable. The camp staff were great and made sure you were very well looked after.

The food was excellent and beautifully presented.

Our guide Jonah was excellent, I think he enjoyed taking on the game drives nearly more than we did.

We were lucky to see the very private Brown Hyena and the absolute highlight was spending time with the Meerkats on two occasions.

We had a great excursion with the Bushmen which was a lot of fun and very informative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team