This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The Keens from Connecticut

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

One of our Best Trips Ever

Namibia between 23 Apr 2015 and 12 May 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have had the good fortune of having a lifetime of travel adventures to over 100 countries spread over every continent. Among those many trips our experience in Namibia with Expert Africa stands out as one of the very best.

Of course a lot of that is because the country of Namibia has so much to offer. It is probably the safest and easiest country on the continent for independent travel. It also helps that it has a lot of very dramatic scenery and fascinating people and wildlife. But Expert Africa also played a large role in making this trip memorable. They know Namibia very well and booked us into the best lodges in the best regions of the country.

Because of Expert Africa everything went very smoothly on our trip. I recommend them without any reservation.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the great job!"

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2015
"The Elegant Guesthouse was fine but nothing special. It was our least favorite lodging. They made us a little uncomfortable when they said we should not walk anywhere for dinner because the neighborhood was not safe.

I suppose I should thank them for their concern but maybe Expert Africa can choose a hotel in a different neighborhood."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farrm"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2015
"The Bullsport GH was wonderful. The room and food were great. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly.

We had a wonderful hike on one of their trails the first day. The next day we had a staff member drive us up to the top of the mountains where we hiked down through the canyon ourselves. The drive up was like a guided tour.

We loved the way the owner and staff ate dinner at the tables with the guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2015
"The Kuala Lodge was also wonderful. Everyone was helpful and accommodating.

We loved being able to sleep outside on the roof watching the stars.

The excursions were fun and interesting.

The desert scenery there is spectacular."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2015
"We were beginning to see a pattern. Expert Africa is great at choosing good places for us to spend the night.

The couple who owned and run the guesthouse couldn't have been more anxious to please.

Great food and good local advice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2015
"A fine place to stay close to the huge seal colony. Not one of our favorites but no complaints either.

I'm guessing that since there are no other lodges in the area that feel like they don't have to be super attentive to their guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Sandwich Harbour with Turnstone Tours"

30 Apr 2015 • All-day excursion

We enjoyed the tour along the coast south of Swakopamund. The guide was good natured and informative.

It was nice to visit such a dramatic, empty coast and see the flamingos and pelicans.

We could have never driven their on our own.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2015
"Most of the lodges were great but if I had to choose the top lodge this would be it.

The setting was gorgeous. The huts were wonderful, so large and open. Great views of the mountains in the setting sun, The staff were super.

We enjoyed waking around the area and especially the safari to see the desert elephants. We spent more quality time with the elephants than on any other safari and we've been on many safaris over the years."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2015
"Okaukuejo Camp is too overbuilt - too many people, buildings, etc. However, I'm so glad we stayed there.

Our cabin was a five minute walk from the famous watering hole. We spent a lot of time there at all hours of the day , from sunrise to after sunset. We saw a great variety of animals coming down to the hole for a drink, It's a magical place and I highly recommend it despite the crowds and mediocre food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2015
"A pleasant place outside Etosha Park but close enough to the entry gate.

We enjoyed the birds and warthogs in the yard and the food was quite good. It wasn't the loveliest setting but we spent all of our time in the park so it didn't matter."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2015
"Our stay here at Nhoma Camp was very special. The chance to accompany the Bushmen hunting and gathering was a unique experience. The traditional Bushman way of life cannot continue in the modern world. We felt so fortunate to have the opportunity to see it before it's gone forever. In fact I don't believe the Bushmen in this little village would do much hunting if there were no tourists there to pay for the experience.

We enjoyed our conversations with the owner, Arno. He is an intelligent and charming fellow. He is selling the business to another person but I think it will be a smooth transition. The manager for the new owner was there to learn from Arno and he seemed very enthusiastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Bush Baby Safari and Camping

"Bush Baby Safari"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2015
"The Bush Baby Camp is in a lovely setting. We could see animals coming to a water from our room. The woman who cleaned the room and made the meals was very sweet and helpful.

It was close to the famous Hoba Meteorite which I was glad to see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2015
"The Erongo Wilderness Lodge was another fabulous place to stay. We regret that we only had one night there.

Huge rocks are scattered around the hills and the lodge giving it an "other-worldly" look. The tents are luxurious and the view stunning. They have great, scenic trails and a chance to see baboons and another animals near the lodge.

The staff was very helpful. We had to depart early in the morning to get to the airport and they made sure we have a bag breakfast and a ride to our car even though it was before their normal working hours. We want to go back there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team