This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C & Mr R from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2014 trip

Namibia between 27 Jul 2014 and 10 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We planned the trip specifically to see as much wildlife as possible and expected Etosha to be the highlight but the rest of the trip more than matched this. We particularly enjoyed staying at the smaller camps of Kulala, Erongo and Okanjima.

You mentioned that previous customers had reported back that they would have preferred a 4-wheel drive car. We found our 2-wheel drive car fine. In fact the major irritation of the holiday was 4-wheel drive cars speeding past us, particularly in Etosha, causing dust clouds."

Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2014
"Very easy to find. Very welcoming. Staff helpful. Food good. Room good.

Only downside (compared to the rest of the places we stayed) was that there was no view from the room or the lounge/dining area, though I imagine this may be the same in all the places in Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge great"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"We had a great stay here. We arrived late at dusk and appreciated the welcoming drink and cool flannel. The staff were welcoming and always helpful, the food was good, the room and the view were great. We did the dawn trip to the dunes with guide Immanuel and thoroughly enjoyed this.

The only issue was finding the place! The instructions we were sent indicated that it was signposted from the C27 road but the map on p260 of the Bradt guide showed the route going from Le Mirage and so we thought we had missed the turning. We stopped at the place advertising ballooning to ask and the woman there directed us so we did eventually join the usual route from the C27. It was after sunset and so were starting to worry a bit but all was fine in the end.

And when we left a couple of days later we did see the sign from the C27, we just hadn't gone far enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"We had 2 enjoyable nights here. We had a great view over the lagoon from the balcony and saw dolphins from there as soon as we arrived.

We thoroughly enjoyed the kayaking trip with Jeanne (and for me this was probably the highlight of the whole trip). We also had a great time on the catamaran trip the following day and saw seals, dolphins, flamingos, pelicans and a pygmy right whale. The team on the boat were very informative and the 'Namibian coffee', sparkling wine and snacks were an added bonus.

We also went on the Sandwich Harbour trip. We did enjoy this although in retrospect I might not have chosen to do it as we didn't actually get to Sandwich harbour. The driver said that you can only get there at low tide as you have to drive along the beach when the tide is out. So we had a hair-raising trip up and down the dunes instead. It was quite fun but not what I was expecting. Robin enjoyed it more than I did. I think that as the tide tables are published well in advance it shouldn't be advertised as a Sandwich harbour trip when there is no chance of getting there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"We spent one night here. Again staff were welcoming, room great (and very large!) with sea view.

The manager was very informative about the history of the area. We enjoyed the visit to the seal colony very much. On the way back to Swakopmund we also visited a wreck which we'd missed on the way out due to the fog."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"We spent 2 nights here. We chose to stay here as it was a convenient stop between the coast and Etosha rather than because it was somewhere we specifically wanted to visit. It turned out to be a great choice.

The scenery was very different to other areas we visited and we enjoyed the camp location on the side of a hill with great views. We did the sundown walk and an afternoon nature drive the following day both of which we enjoyed. Petrus and Koolas (?) were interesting and knowledgeable guides.. The rest of the staff were also very good, particularly Santos, with his knowledge of astronomy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

"Mokuti Etosha Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"We spent 2 nights here and made 2 trips into Etosha on our day there. We drove ourselves and didn't go on any guided drives.

The camp was good though much larger than Kulala and Erongo. Again the staff, room and food were all good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"This is the one place we probably wouldn't choose to stay at again. It has a great location in the centre of the park and there was nothing wrong with our room. But the evening meal service was chaotic and the food not very good. We had to queue for ages as they had run out of vegetables, and people were getting very irritable. I'm not sure if we were just unlucky or if it's always like this. We didn't do any organised activities.

We enjoyed the water hole but preferred the one at Okaukuejo as we saw more wildlife and there was more room to watch."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"We liked this camp. It was big but better organised that Halal. The food, the service and the room were all good.

We enjoyed the view from the tower and could have sat by the water hole for ages. We didn't do any organised activities but made use of the pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"This was a great place to finish our holiday. A fantastic room with a fantastic view. Food great. Staff great. Did the night drive, the Africat visit and cheetah tracking and enjoyed them all. The new lounge/eating area behind reception was very impressive.

The information in the rooms referred to a night hide but when we asked about this it wasn't available at the Plains camp. I'm not clear if it was at the other camp, but it is something we would have enjoyed using, particularly as we were a bit unlucky on the night drive and didn't see too much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team