This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr H from Portsmouth

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic trip

Namibia between 16 Apr 2017 and 27 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a fantastic holiday that surpassed our expectations. It was an amazing country and every area was different. We had a lot to fit in within a relatively short time but it was do-able and we didn't feel rushed.
Such a different country to the UK and everyone we came into contact with was friendly. We were lucky enough to stay in some excellent hotels.

Driving around Namibia was very easy. Being able to stop the car anywhere to take photos was great and the landscape changed every 50km or so!
We did experience the police road blocks 4 times, but only at one did we have any issues - we would recommend bringing an international drivers licence for peace of mind as although this was not needed, the police seemed to think it was!

Thank you Expert Africa for organising our trip at short notice and for all the advice before departure. We loved Namibia and want to go back and explore more on another self-drive trip!"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Galton House

Galton House

"Quiet, clean and peaceful hotel"

1 night Arrived 16 Apr 2017
"It was a great place to get our bearings at the start of the holiday. Although it is a city hotel and doesn't have the stunning views of some of the lodges in Namibia, the location was quiet and felt safe. Rooms were spacious and clean with good showers. There were nice touches such as a tradiitional story and homemade sweets left in the room in the evening.

The small pool was a nice place to cool down.

Breakfast good and staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat here in the evening as we wanted to go to Joe's Beerhourse but the staff were happy to book a table for us there. Helen (I think this was her name) was very welcoming.

The hotel was easy to find and just a short drive from the city centre."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2017
"This was a brilliant start to our holiday! During the drive up to the camp we saw lots of animals including baboon, zebra and warthogs and there was a family of warthogs living near the hotel!
We had a lovely spacious, clean room which overlooked the plain and the small balcony was great for observing the antelope and birds.

We did a leopard drive here, which was a great introduction to safari drives in Namibia. Our guide was excellent and we were successful in finding a leopard. We also saw lots of other animals and beautiful scenery.

Lovely dining area which looked out onto firepits and a watering hole.

There were also self guided walks which you could do from this hotel and we did the Giraffe Trail on the morning after we checked out which was amazing. Walking in the bush was a completely different experience to game drives and we saw several varieties of antelope and a tortoise at close range. The view over the plains was amazing and the walk was well marked along the way.

Our only wish was that we had time to stay here another night and do one of the other game drives (e.g tracking wild dogs) and another walk!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Good location for Etosha & great safari drive"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2017
"Location of this camp was great for Etosha. Having seen the standard of accomodation within Etosha National Park I would definitely recommend staying here or similar as Anderssons Camp was much better!

Out of all the places we stayed, the room here was the smallest and the bathroom felt quite cramped. There was no view from our room. However, this is a tented camp and it was all clean and well presented so no complaints! I also think that this is being re-furbished in the near future. Mosquito nets were provided around the bed.

We booked onto a game drive to look for rhino and had an amazing trip where we saw lots of animals including a mother and baby white rhino! Sundowner drinks were great and we stopped for these in a beautiful plain.

The dining area was well set up with a watering hole nearby. We were able to observe some antelope coming down to drink in the early evening.

Afternoon tea and cakes were good. Staff were all polite and friendly and made us feel welcome. They also allowed us to call our car hire company using their satellite phone after we had a flat tire in Etosha.

There is a nice-looking pool, which was bigger than most pools at other lodges, but we didn't have time to use it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Amazing!!!! Atmospheric location"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2017
"We loved our stay here. Our room was very spacious and clean. The indoor and outdoor showers were a great feature, as well as the ability to sleep out on the balcony under the stars which we did one night. The stars were amazing and the view across the desert was spectacular!

The lodge was brilliant, - great to go on the roof and see the views across the desert and watch the sun go down, nicely located pool and we enjoyed sitting by the fire pit after dinner.

Just after we arrived there was a huge desert dust storm! This was very exciting and like being in a film. Our room was covered in sand but the staff cleaned it immediately and we would never have known all the sand had been there!

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. It was amazing hearing their tribal language and songs.

We did the Desert Elephant nature drive which was outstanding. Beautiful scenery and we were lucky enough to find the elephants and see them mating. We also did a guided walk in the desert in the morning. This was very different from other types of safaris and we were able to focus on animal tracks (e.g. aardvark tracks leading to aardvark hole), plants and birds. We were glad we did this and it was reasonably priced.

Food was great - we ate far too much. We also had a bush bbq one night which was a nice experience, although we would have preferred not to have to sit at a communal dining table.

Probably the best lodge of our trip; highly recommend staying here!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2017
"This was a relaxing break from all the driving and a good place to stay to do kayaking with seals at Walvis Bay.

The hotel wasn't that easy to find as it was in a quiet outskirt of the city and the signposts were quite confusing.

On arrival we were shown into our room. Although it was a luxury room, it was small and the bathroom bizarrely overlooked the restaurant carpark and street with no frosted glass or curtains! We asked if we could move to another room and was shown something much nicer and bigger, with a view of the beach and a balcony. I was pleased that the hotel were able to re-allocate us easily but given that it was not fully booked (only about 4 rooms occupied each night) we very much felt that they had tried to get rid of the least-nice room on us, which set rather a negative tone to our stay. This was also the only place we stayed at that charged for WiFi which was disappointing, especially as WiFi was free in some of the very remote lodges!

The room we moved to was really nice and we had a relaxing stay here - after rushing from place to place this was a nice place to have a rest. Shower was excellent and the room was modern and well equipped. We only had breakfast here which was nice.

It is worth noting that the restaurant is not open for evening meals on a Sunday but the reception was happy to book us in for a meal at The Jetty where we had some of the best fish we'd ever eaten.

Staff were friendly, particularly the car park attendants."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Great location for Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2017
"Food was excellent, particularly enjoyed the savory tarts served with afternoon tea. Nice room with lovely decor and a big bathroom.

Good base for Sossusvlei dunes -an easy drive. No need to pay for a guide from the hotel We ordered a breakfast package from the lodge and arrived at the dunes for 6am when the gates open.

Small pool with a variety of shaded and un-shaded seating.

Great views from room and main lodge. We did the short walk up to the rocky Hill to watch the sun go down which was worth doing. Also did the horseback sunset ride which was fun but not as good as the other activities we had done as they forgot to let the stables know we had booked on and prepare our horses in time and we had to ride back in the dark."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Quiet, clean and peaceful hotel"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2017
"It was a great place to sort ourselves out for the flight home at the end of the holiday. Although it is a city hotel and doesn't have the stunning views of some of the lodges in Namibia, the location was quiet and felt safe. Rooms were spacious and clean with good showers. There were nice touches such as a tradiitional story and homemade sweets left in the room in the evening.
The small pool was a nice place to cool down.

Breakfast good and staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat here in the evening as we wanted to go to Joe's Beerhourse but the staff were happy to book a table for us there. Helen (I think this was her name) was very welcoming.

Our room here at the end of the holiday was beside the carpark but was convenient for loading the car up.

The hotel was easy to find and just a short drive from the city centre.

[Ed: This review is largely a repeat of a review below as these travellers stayed here twice: once at the start of their trip, and again at the end.]"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team