This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Cambridge 4 from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Couldn't have been better

Namibia between 13 Sep 2017 and 29 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a brilliant holiday. Given our brief to Expert Africa & the short time frame we gave them, they interpreted our requirements very well, - it couldn't have been better.

I had bought the Bradt guide to Namibia a few months before the trip & was very impressed with the content hence the main reason I chose Expert Africa. It is the best guide book I have read in recent years & would highly recommend it.
The 'Notes to Travellers' provided with the itinerary was great.

Other travellers reviews were also interesting and helpful.

We will certainly use them again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I can't think of anything"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great start to our trip"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"On arrival the staff were efficient & welcoming. The accommodation was lovely & we had tremendous views.

Food was excellent. A few issues with the gluten free for one of our party, but just that they forgot from time to time. They were geared up.

We very much enjoyed the activities available to us, especially the walking safari to find cheetahs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"What a welcome"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"We were greeted with singing on arrival at Doro Nawas & again in the evenings and on departure. The staff are lovely.

The accommodation was lovely & the views are amazing.

We took one trip here to search for desert elephants & we were lucky enough to find them. What an experience!

There are other activities available, but as we had a vehicle we opted to see other local attractions independently."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"A dream come true"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"When we first started to plan our trip to Namibia, this was one place that we were determined to get to. We were not disappointed. At first glance it may appear & does have a certain simplicity, for us it was a unique experience.

Fabulous walks taken with guide Bonny, on earth liberally strewn with beautiful minerals & crystals hardly trodden by humans & vast open vistas, plus amazing night skies studied with our host Dennis. Three perfect days of tranquillity but always with plenty to do & enjoy.

Food & hosting was excellent, it's a very special place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Worth it for the waterhole"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"We didn't have high expectations for this camp, but it worked very well for us & is a good base for the eastern part of Etosha. It's a huge & busy camp & consequently rather impersonal.

The rooms we had were slightly scruffy decor wise, but are functional, have good beds and are clean. The inventory check was bizarre, but I assume it's to deter groups of guests just moving stuff from one room to another & not returning it.

Food was very good in the restaurant (gluten free easily sorted) & not expensive.

The water hole is charming as it's not too big - we were lucky enough to witness a few 'visits' whilst we were there including a rhino."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Almost on safari from the terrace"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"We travelled through the western part of Etosha & the Galton Gate to get to Hobatere. The waterholes on route are much less busy (human wise) than those further east but we saw some amazing wildlife en route. At the time of our visit the road in Etosha was in a bad state & our journey very slow. When we arrived at Hobatere (6pm) we received a warm welcome & found that day staff had stayed on duty to wait for us. We stayed in the thatched chalets which were lovely.

Staff were very friendly, efficient & food was great.

There are great views from the terrace across to a waterhole, which attracts a lot of wildlife & this can also be visited closely as there is a hide above it. We were driven over there & stayed for 1½ hours during which time we saw huge numbers of zebra vying for a space, as well as lots else. Another water hole is located at the camp, which attracted lots of visitors including lions & we witnessed a kill there.

We took one trip out here & got some good bird sightings & elephants.

We could have happily stayed longer at Hobatere, just soaking up the surroundings and atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"The Lodge is in a beautiful setting on the edge of the Erongo mountain range. The late afternoon colours were stunning.

We took a short walk out & saw lots of birds. There appear to be many more interesting walks available if time permits.

Rooms are nice & we had lovely views toward the mountains.

Check in was fine & we were welcomed by a lovely lady, who also served us the following morning at breakfast.

Our evening & dinner, was completely marred by one particular member of staff who was, at best, surly & very rude & as we were staying only one night this coloured our view overall, sadly."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Good location a little way from town"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"The hotel is well situated, right on the beach & a short journey from the centre where restaurants are. The area around is all being developed.

The hotel has a good restaurant of it's own, best to book though as always seemed busy. The rooms are all different - I think my sister had something like the honeymoon suite! The rooms all have great views and are fitted to a good standard."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"Good for first or last night"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"The rooms were OK, perhaps a little tired but very adequate for a night. The property has a nice garden & pool area. The restaurant area is also attractive & the food very good.

The owner was very relaxed about us hanging around on the day of departure to suit our airport check in - a major bonus given the garden and pool."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team