This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala
Little Kulala

Reviews of Little Kulala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kulala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kulala.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Zebra

57% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Little Kulala is hard to beat"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2018
"All mod cons in the room, including wifi, fridge, kettle, air conditioning.

We enjoyed the sky bed, though a thicker cover and hot water bottle up there would have made the open-air experience even better. A room nearer the main building would have been preferable because of the soft sand on the paths.

Our guide Manzee was great." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

The G's
London

"Fabulous Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2017
"Little Kulala was simply wonderful. All the activities were sublime with great guides. Accommodation excellent.

If you wish you can sleep on top of the room under the stars! Magical!

Excellent menu choices and great food." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & K
London

"We could have stayed longer at Little Kulala!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"What a fabulous place. Chic, yet comfortable. Relaxed and quietly efficient with welcoming, friendly staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our guide was really good, too and we had him all to ourselves for the couple of days we were there. The food was delicious. In fact the food throughout our trip exceeded expectations. Nice sundowners, too.

We were particularly delighted with our own 'Kulala', which afforded a great view, but with complete privacy and the opportunity to sleep under the stars (although admittedly we did sneak back inside when it got cold - a double duvet might have helped, but it was not an issue)

We opted for a balloon flight and champagne breakfast and were thrilled with the whole experience. Highly recommended if you can do it." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M
Derbyshire

"Wonderful scenery"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"Everything done very efficiently" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J
Somerset

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"Little Kulala was our last lodge on the trip and I think it was a good place to finish. We felt the lodge had a more hotel vibe than any other place we had stayed, far less game ( although we did see spotted and brown hyena, emus , oryx and springbok) but a truly spectacular landscape.
The lodge was very friendly with a great atmosphere in the evenings. We tried sleeping on the roof on one night, my husband lasted till 5a.m! We also completed an early morning balloon ride which was excellent. Climbing the dunes ( and running down) was an unforgettable experience.
The Lodge is very stylish, nicely designed although the individual accommodation lodges are a bit ugly from the outside.

Whilst staying here these travellers did an early morning ballooning trip, here are their comments:
We loved this! Only 10 min drive from our lodge to the launch site , we were in the last of 3 balloons. A very slick operation, beautiful views of the desert. We even landed exactly on the trailer at the breakfast site. Lovely breakfast too." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
N & R
Essex

"Little Kulala review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2017
"We were disappointed that the guide was really little more than a bus driver. It would have been good if they could have said more about the desert flowers and the smaller things.
The main camp manager a chap in his 50-60's was quite rude to me when we arrived.
I find the way wilderness put pressure on you to do the feedback forms uncomfortable, this applied at all there camps" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Victoria

"Incredible experience at Little Kulala "

2 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2017
"From start to finish the team from Little Kulala and Wilderness Safaris were amazing.

The experience saw us fly from Cape Town to Windhoek, where we were met by the team at Wilderness and ushered to our private lounge. Then taken to our charter flight to Geluk Airstrip. Anton our amazing guide was waiting for us at the airstrip with champagne on arrival.

We were then taken to Little Kulala where the incredible team there welcomed us through song and dance. From here the whole experience kept getting better and better as every member of the team there did everything they could to ensure we were having a great time.

Emcie was wonderful, constantly organising surprises for us whilst this was our honeymoon. From private dinners in the wine cellar and surprise private buffet lunch in a lookout in the desert we could not have asked for anything more.

The daily activities were amazing with Anton showing us around and sharing a wealth of knowledge on all things Namibia.

The location and facilities where fantastic with beautiful rooms and decor amid an incredible surrounding of Namib Desert.

A special mention goes to the whole Little Kulala and Wilderness team who all would introduce themselves to us throughout our time there check in with us frequently to ensure we were looked after.

Thank you Emcie and team for the trip of a lifetime." See all these reviews: 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mark & Kat
UK

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"An absolutely fantastic lodge, and the scenery and setting was one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. And the lodge, was fantastic, with superb service at every level. It was also nice how they made a lot off effort each night to do something different - a bush BBQ; Sundowner picnic in the desert; etc.

And I would mention that our guide whilst there, Ben, was really first class - exceptionally attentive but also an excellent guide - we really thought we got everything we could out of the different areas in the reserve and national park.

The balloon safari was also flawless. We were lucky enough to go right down the valley towards Sossusvlei, and having breakfast under one of the dunes must be one of the best breakfast settings I've ever had!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Tonbridge

"The lodge and the room were superb"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"The lodge and the room were superb. Initially I thought I wouldn’t like the air con, we’re in Africa we need to acclimatise, but the middle of the day is so hot that you can’t walk on the sand in flip flops, so the air con is a welcome relief. We loved the mini bar always stocked up!

The dunes were interesting , but one sand dune is pretty much like the next! The balloon ride was good, apart from the burning head, but I would think more spectacular over the Serengeti or the busanga plains. The staff cant do enough for you. But three night is more than enough. There are lots of oryx and ostrich but little else. The sand storms are specular.

Landscape photography is great" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Little Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2016
"Wonderful place, beautifully designed, rooms very comfortable.

We did try sleeping on the roof one night but it was too cold and windy. There were a lot of strong winds whilst we were there, and several sandstorms including whilst visiting Sossusvlei which was an experience in itself!

The staff very incredibly helpful and kind when one of us fell ill and had to cancel a trip at our next stop after Little Kulala. The staff presented Mike with a large Birthday cake and rousing singing. It really is a wonderful place. The activities with our guide were very good and included the trip into Sossusvlei and a guided walk in the area around the lodge." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 62
98%
62 reviews of Little Kulala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa