This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr and Mrs G from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2022 trip

Namibia between 28 Jan 2022 and 9 Feb 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We are so happy we took the punt and booked a trip during Covid and at the last minute. It was superb, and Sabina was very patient with the last-minute planning. The trip was also very good value for money.

We couldn't recommend Expert Africa enough and will be booking again.

If you are reading this thinking either: should I go to Namibia, or should I travel during the final throes of Covid then without a doubt do it! We had hotels and experiences to ourselves, which money literally can't buy during normal times. This felt like an old, untraveled Africa, with 21st century luxury and conveniences."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"More than just a stopover"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2022
"Bagatelle makes an obvious stopover destination when travelling south of WIndhoek and one night is probably enough, but it really beat expectations.

The staff were superb, the game drive exceeded expectations, as did the dinner. There is decent game viewing here, including two white rhino, although these are habituated to people to the point of being tame rather than wild."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sonop

Sonop

"Sonop"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2022
"A superb new hotel, with a stunning backdrop, jaw-dropping rooms and excellent staff.

Worth noting there are very few animals on its private reserve, although there was talk of restocking it. Also fairly out the way, but 100% worth it!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala - our favourite"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2022
"This was our favourite lodge on our trip.

Recently refurbed, good food and wonderful staff. A sensitively restored private concession with private access to the national park which contains the dunes, Deadvlei, Sossusvlei etc.

If this is an option for you - go for it!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2022
"A lovely, simple guesthouse which stands out because of the exceptional service from the owners.

They anticipated everything we needed and were extremely on top of organising tours."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2022
"A lovely lodge with close links to the community and a seriously good location which challenged the significantly more expensive Sonop.

An easy drive from Swakopmund which breaks up a journey nicely.

You are borderline guaranteed to see zebra as the reserve the lodge sits on is small and fenced to keep the zebra in."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

"Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2022
"An excellent boutique hotel with 5 star facilities and rooms. Well-located.

There is at least one more expensive option in Windhoek but even the fussiest traveller wouldn't need better than this."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Habitas Namibia

"Habitas, Namibia "

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2022
"One of several private lodges to have sprung up near the airport, this is not just a stopover to work around flight times or wait for a Covid test. It was one of our favourites.

The lodge is part of a 50,000 hectare private reserve, which is a massive slug of land (two-thirds the size of Madikwe in South Africa, which has multiple camps and dozens of vehicles traversing it at any one moment).

The camp is excellent, the food the best we had on our trip by a distance, and the game density very good, although the animals are still being habituated to vehicles so are skittish. Elephants and lions incoming, and the (oligarch) owner of the reserve apparently plans to have the whole big five."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team