This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz

Reviews of Rostock Ritz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rostock Ritz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Rostock Ritz.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

83% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
J, A, D & M
UK

"Desert Refuge"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2012
"Very unusual location. We were in very hot exceptional weather - 40c plus, therefore could have used air-con! Staff very friendly and helpful. Good vista from the rooms." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Our 3rd stay and as good as ever with great well marked walks of varying lengths and terrarrin , oroiginal and comfy accomodation and great food.

Incomparable to be honest and a true one off." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
4 travellers
UK & Zam

"Fun overnight stop at Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2010
"In the middle of nowhere, very interesting room design, a bit small but warm and cosy, Kuecki is a chef and the food is excellent.

Tame zebra - came for breakfast, and porcupine - came for dinner.

We were only there overnight but it was fun." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Warwick

"Stunning views from our honeymoon suite"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2009
"Putting us in the bridal suite at no extra cost could be an example of Expert Africa clients getting special treatment.

Our room was magnificent. Outstanding views from our private terrace. The igloos are successful in creating cool accommodation in a hot climate.

The only a la carte restaurant in the Namib gives it something different in the way of food and the self guided walks are fun and welcome after a day in the car. We both loved this place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"Really liked Rostock Ritz.

The rooms were small but adequate and the view was outstanding. The food here was superb and also the pool and general areas such as bar, lounge, were lovely if you wanted to relax so everthing else about this lodge made up for the room. The lodge has 10 walking trails too, one of which we did." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Ms P & Mr D
UK

"Rostock Ritz review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"This was a brilliant place to end our honeymoon and Kuchi is a brilliant host with a team of very friendly and accomodating staff behind him. I especially liked the fact that he has trained the staff in every aspect of the business, from housekeeping, to invoicing to waitering, in order that they can now run the lodge. We were given the honeymoon suite which was large and beautiful, it is not luxurious but doesn't need to be as the point is for it to blend into the landscape which it does brilliantly. The rooms have everything you need, from chest of drawers to hanging rail, table and mirror, hairdriers etc.

The food was excellent and if you have breakfast a little later than usual you should see the meerkats that come and play on the rocks next to the restaurant - they are incredible. It was also nice to see Maia, the rescued Zebra who enjoys pottering aroung the lodge eating the hay roof of the swimming pool bar. The service was excellent. We went to sesriem for a morning which is about 1.5 hours away and unless you want to do the ballooning down there (and have to rise very early) then I would advise to stay here and travel to Sesriem for the day. The scenary around the Rostock Ritz is very peacfeul and relaxing and there are a number of walks that can be done from the lodge.

Chilling by the pool is fabulous as the view is wonderful." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Warwick

"Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2009
"Greeted by "house zebra" who led us to the front door.
Fantastic location on hillside, loved the rooms with views over the savannah.

Great pool area.

Would have liked more time to do some hikes." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Rostock Ritz Review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2009
"Our igloo semi-detached room was one of the smallest we stayed in during our Namibia trip but it was absolutely fine, especially for just one night. There was just room for two chairs on the balcony, but the view was fabulous and the sunset stunning. We woke up to mountain zebra crossing the plain.

Breakfast was good with all the usual cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurts plus hot stuff. Our dinner experience was mixed - one of us had a delicious pasta dish whilst the other was served uncooked chicken which had to be returned. But the staff dealt with this without making a fuss and apologised.

We enjoyed a short walk in the morning before we left and there were many more walks to do if only we'd been there longer. We'd happily stay here again." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2009
"Wished we had stayed here longer - we had a long day in the sand dunes and didn't arrive here until after sunset. This was a big disappointment as we could see from the colour of the sky it was someting to be witnessed.

The igloo was the best room we stayed in and the restaurant and waiters were excellent. Fantastic walking but unfortunately I only had time for one the next morning before breakfast.

In hindsight we would have swopped Swakopmund for three days here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs G
UK

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2009
"RR was a nice stopping off point between the dunes and further north. I'm not sure there's enough there in itself to attract people, but as I say, a good spot if it's on your way.

The rooms were a little bit smaller than we'd had elsewhere, but still well equiped.

There's great views from all rooms, restaurant, pool area etc. over the area, and the resident zebra is cute. Don't get too close to the meerkats though, we stopped to take a photo and they all came out and chased up away!

The food was all very nice." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 44
90%
44 reviews of Rostock Ritz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
13
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (353 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (201 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (191 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (105 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (71 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (39 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (20 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (17 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (15 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


98% (10 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (2 reviews)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa